We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
You added Clifty Inn to your Saves list
Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1501 Green Road, Madison, IN 47250
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring $79 rate
Clifty Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    59
    11
    10
    2
See reviews for
45
61
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Montgomery, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

My husband and I have stayed here many times- and hopefully many more times. We go during the winter mostly and get the "second night free" rate, so we stay for a very good price. It's such a nice getaway, with beautiful views and overlooks. I love eating their yummy breakfast in the mornings, but I have never eaten their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Valentine's Day was our first stay at Clifty Inn (we have stayed at other Indiana State Park Inns). The Valentine's dinner was excellent, the band was not. The room was nicely appointed, but one lamp didn't work, and we had a hard time getting the room warm. Wifi was useless. Most pages timed out before they could load. The wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guest and and their needs and I'm am disapppointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisifed with the band and wifi. We... More 

Franklin, Indiana, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed four nights in January of 2015. I have also stayed here about 5 or 6 other times. First, the new manager seems to be making some good choices (like attempting to get the hot tub fixed). ALL the staff, from the waitresses to room service, were exceptionally nice. The hotel is clean and cozy. I gave this review... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a reveiw regarding your recent stay. I am glad you enjoy you visit, I am so sorry about the windows, yes their are defective and we are in the works of getting them replaced. The hot tub should be up and going by April this year. Also we will make a... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While in the Madison, IN, area we decided to check out the Clifty Inn for a possible future stay. We have only stayed at a couple of state parks over the years and have mixed feelings about them. So, this visit gave us an opportunity to see the Clifty Inn and we think this is a very attractive inn perched... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a tour of our property we are so proud of the Inn, the hiking trails are awsom, hope that you will take the time to come back and stay at the Inn, try our restaurant and enjoy the scenic view. More 

Shelbyville, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Dee was wonderful but there were a few things that good have made this the best rating of a 5 with a few improvements. Winter months guests still want a warm pool esp when the hot tub is out of service, we barely tolerated 10min in the water. Room at first great but then noted a few things...lights throughout rm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am sorry we fell short in a few areas as the kleenex under the bed was overlooked, I guarantee you that the room was clean and sanitary. Thank you hope to see you again. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

If you don't need WIFI then this may work for you. Speedtest.net measured WIFI at 0.15 MPS. Convenient restaurant. I benefited from the Winter 2for1 Sun-Thurs special that Indiana has at State Park Lodges. Construction and finish is decent. Heating unit is so-so.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I'm disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the internet service and the heating in your... More 

Carmel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 via mobile

We recently had our family Christmas gathering at this beautiful hotel. There were 16 of us and we traveled from indianapolis, Florida and northern Kentucky to hang out for the weekend. We had most of our meals in the dining room and utilized the nice pool, the arcade and the common areas. My family stayed in a suite which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your visit with your family Christmas gathering. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with your family and left with good memories and want to come back. See you again real soon. More 

Tippecanoe, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We stayed at Clifty Inn for 5 days the end of October. While the weather didn't cooperate as much as we would have liked we still enjoyed our time there. Clifty Inn State Park has everything you need right on property. The Inn is kept well and the staff is friendly and helpful. There are two rooms with fireplaces to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

We agree with you 100% we do have a great park and inn so glad you enjoyed it. Hope you will come back to enjoy it again. More 

Rising Sun
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Clifty Inn is a beautifully decorated hotel perched atop a cliff overlooking Madison, IN and the Ohio River. The rooms are decorated in rustic/chic decor with all the modern features necessary for a comfortable stay. The buffet and restaurant is outstanding with healthy Americana style food and excellent - friendly service. Clifty Inn is a must if you are in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great response, we are so happy when our guest share how their experience was during their stay. Thanks you so much hope to see you again real soon. More 

Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in late October. The inn is situated on a bluff overlooking the Ohio River. The setting is beautiful although you also get to view giant smokestacks. There are great (and challenging) hikes throughout the park with several waterfalls. Our basic room (no river view) was quiet and comfortable. There is an odd (chemical) smell,but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you stayed with us, thank you for letting us know about your stay. Hope to see you again real soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clifty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifty Inn

Address: Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1501 Green Road, Madison, IN 47250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Clifty Hotel Madison
Clifty Falls State Park Madison

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay