We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifty Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1650 Clifty Hollow Rd, Madison, IN 47250
Special Offer
Spring $79 rate
Clifty Inn
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    61
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
46
64
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The inn overlooks the Ohio River above the city of Madison. The room was very nice, and the pillows and mattress outstanding. Food in the dining room is home style - nothing too extreme, but consistently flavorful. Would love to go back. Parking spaces are convenient and plentiful. We were there in April and I imagine the fall foliage must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your great visit, we loved to hear from our guest. Hope to see you back again real soon. More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Clifty Park Inn for a romantic weekend. The hotel is ideally situated in a lovely state park and above the very nice hamlet of Madison, Indiana. We found the hotel to have ample parking, convenience to attractions and activities. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant is average, not too pricey and food is decent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay, the view is great on the riverside of the hotel, I am so sorry that you found a sheet with a issue, we hope that you will come back and stay with us again. More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have gone there for several years, usually using their 2 nights for the price of 1 winter special. The facility is clean and well-maintained and both the hotel and restaurant services are generally excellent. We really enjoy reading and relaxing in the public areas and hiking the park's trails. We enjoy the hotel's restaurant's senior menu,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester, IN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was not our first stay, but it was our first with children. The inn was beautiful and appears to have been renovated since the last time we were there. We were in a river view room with a balcony and it was beautiful. Our room was beautifully furnished, clean, and everything was in good working order. It was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your memories with us, that is our main goal is to have our guest enjoy the Inn, hike the trails and see the beautiful wildlife. We hope to see you again. More 

Plymouth, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Everyone is here is so friendly' very front desk people to restaurant workers & cleaning staff. Rooms have always been spotless. The food in the restaurant is excellent. The park is absolutely amazing to wander. Very family oriented. Only problem was Internet was not working.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

It was great of you to take the time to let us know about your experience at Clifty Inn, we are so happy that you were satisfied, that is our goal to make memories and give our guest a relaxing atmosphere. We are in the process of updating our internet and our guest will be very happy when completed. Be... More 

Montgomery, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

My husband and I have stayed here many times- and hopefully many more times. We go during the winter mostly and get the "second night free" rate, so we stay for a very good price. It's such a nice getaway, with beautiful views and overlooks. I love eating their yummy breakfast in the mornings, but I have never eaten their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to let us know about your stay, we love to hear from repeat guest and they have had a great time. When you come back to visit be sure and try our lunch and dinner menu in the restaurant. See you soon. More 

Rochester Hills, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Valentine's Day was our first stay at Clifty Inn (we have stayed at other Indiana State Park Inns). The Valentine's dinner was excellent, the band was not. The room was nicely appointed, but one lamp didn't work, and we had a hard time getting the room warm. Wifi was useless. Most pages timed out before they could load. The wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guest and and their needs and I'm am disapppointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisifed with the band and wifi. We... More 

Franklin, Indiana, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

I stayed four nights in January of 2015. I have also stayed here about 5 or 6 other times. First, the new manager seems to be making some good choices (like attempting to get the hot tub fixed). ALL the staff, from the waitresses to room service, were exceptionally nice. The hotel is clean and cozy. I gave this review... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a reveiw regarding your recent stay. I am glad you enjoy you visit, I am so sorry about the windows, yes their are defective and we are in the works of getting them replaced. The hot tub should be up and going by April this year. Also we will make a... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
45 hotel reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

While in the Madison, IN, area we decided to check out the Clifty Inn for a possible future stay. We have only stayed at a couple of state parks over the years and have mixed feelings about them. So, this visit gave us an opportunity to see the Clifty Inn and we think this is a very attractive inn perched... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a tour of our property we are so proud of the Inn, the hiking trails are awsom, hope that you will take the time to come back and stay at the Inn, try our restaurant and enjoy the scenic view. More 

Shelbyville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Dee was wonderful but there were a few things that good have made this the best rating of a 5 with a few improvements. Winter months guests still want a warm pool esp when the hot tub is out of service, we barely tolerated 10min in the water. Room at first great but then noted a few things...lights throughout rm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am sorry we fell short in a few areas as the kleenex under the bed was overlooked, I guarantee you that the room was clean and sanitary. Thank you hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question