We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifty Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1650 Clifty Hollow Rd, Madison, IN 47250
Clifty Inn
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    78
    65
    17
    12
    2
See reviews for
51
71
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (174)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Columbia City, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff at the front desk is so accommodating. I called around 5pm on a Friday evening from the parking lot overheated and exhausted, looking for a last minute room. They gave me the absolute last room they had and checking in only took moments. The room was wonderful and the view of the river was spectacular. It was truly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing with us about your stay at the Inn, we are so happy that we could accommodate you. Hope to see you again real soon. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Inn is an older structure in the Clifty Falls State Park. There is great potential here but it needs a good cleaning and maintenance. Our shower has mold growing in it, the furniture needs to be dusted. The sink drains are clogged and the faucets leak onto the counter top. Some of our party had ground floor rooms and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for letting us know about the issues you had during your stay, I will personally check into these issues; these are not typical issues found in this Inn. I hope you will return and give us another try. More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yikes! Where to begin? It's safe to say that if you're under the age of 55, you'll probably want to steer clear of this place. While the staff for the most part are pleasant. This place is utterly berift of modern technology. I was ok with having my room changed three times because of an error the staff's part. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you experienced the issues with the WIFI, we had several storms that had taken a lot of trees down in the park which effected our WIFI, we are updating the WIFI should this happen again we should not experience this type of issue due to weather conditions. Hope you will come back and give us... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think we've been here 3 times now on a semi annual basis. First State Park Hotel it is very nice. The food is good and the people are pleasant. The surroundings are really fantastic. The back of the hotel overlooks the Ohio River from 100 feet elevation. The small town of Madison offers several unique restaurants. You should have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that you have returned several years for your family reunion and enjoy your stay, hope to see you next year. More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very pleased with our stay. We had a bottom floor room with a patio. It was a modern room with refrigerator, microwave and lots and lots of pillows! Our room was very quiet. We could not hear hall noise or our neighbors. the restaurant was nice and food was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay, we try to have items in the rooms that our guest would like to have. Hope to see you again. More 

Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a river view room with a balcony July 8 thru the 10th. Room was clean with very nice bathroom. They have upgraded bedding to a comforter between 2 sheets-appreciated. Our room was quiet and we spent time watching river traffic from the balcony. Yes, the power plant is right there-but then again, we are fans of electricity.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know that you like the new bedding, we loved to hear back from guest on changes to let us know if that is what the guest likes or dislikes. We are so glad you had a enjoyable stay hopefully you have made some great memories from your stay. Look forward to your next stay with... More 

New Richmond, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a wonderful one night stay last year we returned to our year-long pre-booked rooms for the 3rd and 4th of July 2015 holiday weekend. Our first disappointment was that our the room we had THOUGHT we had booked was not in fact saved for us, now mind you we booked 364 days before our next stay! We were told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know the issues you had at the INN. I am so sorry about the parking during the fireworks, we had alot going on at the end that evening. I am sorry you had a issue with the shirt I will address it with the employees. I would like to have you... More 

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been staying at Clifty Inn while attending our annual family reunion for the past 25+ years. We've seen many changes, some good and some bad. The current inn is clean, but in need of some upgrades (again). This year we stayed park side as we could not get our usual river view rooms! The bathrooms in the park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. The parkside does not offer the big bathroom, it is our older part of the Inn but we have so many guest that still prefer that side. I am so sorry about you not being able to purchase a gift card in the dinning room our restaurant is not set up... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband, 20 month old son and I stayed in the Riverview Suite. This was an excellent choice so the baby could go to sleep early while we were able to watch a movie with the DVD player. The room was clean and comfortable and perfect for our family. The staff was very friendly. The only negative is the power... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we are so happy that your room worked out great for you. Thank you for letting us know that the staff were not familiar with the park that gives us a chance to train them more. Hope to see you again. More 

Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We visited Clifty Inn for our wedding anniversary. My husband had surprised me by reserving a large suite complete with a king bedroom, huge bathroom, living room/kitchen combo and entry way with a patio. It was beautiful! But a little much for the just two of us. The next morning we requested a room change to just a normal double... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

This is a great place to visit especially on your honeymoon, hope that you will visit us each year. Thanks for letting us know about your stay. Come back soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
2.6 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#2 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#7 of 7 in Madison
3.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Madison Hanover Area
17.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?