We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland

205 South 7th Street, Kentland, IN 47951 (Formerly Hometown Inn & Suites)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
3
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Emmaus
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
195 hotel reviews
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is not an area where I expected to find a Red Roof, or any chain motel at all. It was pretty good overall - a good sized and clean room with comfortable beds. Our only complaints were that the wi-fi was extremely slow, and that there was more road noise from US 41 traffic than we expected in this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mount Vernon, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We have stayed at this hotel before while traveling through. This trip was a quick overnight to see family in the area. The room was clean and staff was friendly. A nice place to stay. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cayuga, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

My statement is coming from the viewpoint of someone who used to work at a similar quality-level hotel in a similarly-sized area. I would not expect to pay $80 for the room I got. I'm not saying it was bad or anything, but it was just meh, especially the breakfast. My bed was very firm, so if you look for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Kentland Red Roof Inn, I will be sure to pass along your comments to the rest of the team. I'm glad that you liked the homemade pictures that we have hanging behind our frontdesk. We do receive alot of complements about them. Our night... More 

Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The hotel is relatively clean and the front desk clerk was nice, but you can tell the hotel has had a hard life and not a lot of investment in its upkeep since it was a Holiday Inn Express. It needs a fairly intensive rehab, even if its bones are still sturdy. (More accessible power outlets by the desk and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to ler us know about your recent stay at the Kentland Red Roof Inn. We are in the process of renovating our hotel and as a part of that renovation we had the entire roof replaced this July and we are not required to have a red roof. We do have a water softner... More 

Orrville, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This motel is in the middle of nowhere. I was driving alone to a funeral in Illinois, coming from Ohio.I assumed it would be resonabley priced and secure with inside doors. Wrong. Price with tax was $81 and no senior discount. When I asked for a room nearer the lobby as I don't walk very well, I was told the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review

The night that you stayed with us was the Labor Day weekend and we have no discounts on that weekend. I checked into the issue you had with the remote and found no problems with it. The dead bolts do work in all the rooms as well as in the room that you stayed in. Our breakfast is just a... More 

Elizabeth, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We recently had a wonderful, relaxing stay at the Red Roof Inn in Kentland. Our stay was an extended one so we had interaction with so much of the staff. We want to thank Patty (the assistant manager), Candace, Gale, and casey for a special time. We were visiting family and since we stay there each summer that is like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review

Thank you for all the nice things you had to say about your stay. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the rest of the team. We are happy you see us as family because thats how we see you. I am glad that the staff here could help you out with your needs. We always look... More 

Rensselaer, Indiana, Usa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I stayed here because I had some business nearby. I didn't expect a first rate stay but I have to say it was much better than I expected. A few scratches in the paper and paint but clean and comfortable overall and it was quiet. Didn't try the pool or breakfast. Didn't have breakfast there as there are a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Kentland Red Roof Inn. We are in the process of repainting and touching up our rooms. I will pass on to the staff members what you said and I am glad they was very helpful while you was here. Please come back and stay... More 

Chatsworth, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Do not stay here! The place is gross! Bugs, dirty and run down. Feel bad for the staff. They are nice but the place is just gross. We have bites on us now. The pool was cloudy and dirty. When we checked in the lady behind the counter told us that what we asked for was not available but they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I have however addressed the issues you had with the pool and it looks great. We also have done some work to the ourside sense you was here in July. I will let the staff know how good a job that they did. It is always good to know that... More 

North Olmsted, Ohio
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel room itself was average at best lots of dings and marks on the walls that can be fixed in 10 seconds with some paint. The water in the shower smells like rotten eggs and lit leaves a film on your body after. I felt dirtier after the shower than before. The pool was also very cloudy you may... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us about your recent stay. We did tke your advise about the pool and it looks great. We do have a water softner and we also have town water. The town did recently put in bigger lines to hopefully help with this problem. Thw whole toen has the problem but more so on this side of... More 

Oradell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Probubly the most inexpensive hotel we have ever stayed in and not by choice. We were visiting family and it was the closet hotel to them. When we first checked in our air did not work so we were up-graded to a better room which meant we went from 2 double beds to 2 queen beds. The water had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I am sorry that the air stopped working in your room but was glad to hear that you was upgraded to a room with bigger beds. We are working on making more improvements and I do hope that if you are ever back in this area that you will give... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question