We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
350 W New York Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    122
    72
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
79
39
8
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (225)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Positives: 1. Staff was great. They were very helpful in booking the room for my family using the Zoo/Children's Museum package. Tickets were easy to use and overall saved us money. 2. Location was on the edge downtown putting us less than a mile from restaurants and the zoo. There was always parking available ($20+per day). Eating breakfast overlooking the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

They were FANTASTIC with me, my husband, and our dog. Our dog made friends in the hotel. The room was WONDERFUL, especially since it had a full kitchenette with pots and such already there. It is on the canal, which was wonderful for walking. I would DEFINITELY recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was in Indianapolis for a conference in March 2015 (sorry..this review is a bit late). The staff at the hotel were excellent and very friendly. It appeared that the rooms were recently updated in the last several months with new kitchen countertops, carpet, furniture, and paint (since this was a Residence Inn, I was given a room with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We certainly appreciate it. I apologize about the unpleasant stay. I can absolutely agree that there were missed opportunities with your stay that could have been handled differently. Either way, you are welcome to get in touch with me at the hotel so we can further discuss this matter. Thank you! More 

Texarcana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Employees at this hotel will care for your every need. Place was great, quiet, clean. Great location. Walked to city central, my temp work place, museums, bars. I must repeat how incredible service is

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback! I am glad you had a great stay! More 

Ventura, California
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

1-First of all I was not greeted as Elite Platinum member like any other Marriott hotel I usually go to ,I am not asking for someone to pat on my back and say thank you for being loyal to Marriott, I just want someone to realize I am a person who stay for extended period of time and obviously would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We certainly appreciate it. I apologize about the unpleasant stay. I can absolutely agree that there were missed opportunities with your stay that could have been handled differently. Either way, you are welcome to get in touch with me at the hotel so we can further discuss this matter. Thank you More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First day I arrived, I took a lipstick smudge towel that was folded neatly for me to use to the front desk and asked for all new ones. I cleaned my room with a vacuum I brought because it was leftover goldfish under the table and crumbs mixed with fur on the floor. Now today I couldn’t take it. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry about the issues you had experienced. I am absolutely embarrassed reading about the cleanliness problems you had. Typically we pride ourselves with excellent customer service and cleanliness. As of the pool, the hotel staff checks the chemicals three times a day; once a week an outside vendor does pool testing... More 

2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Be aware of the parking fee and additional fees (occupancy tax)... They failed to mention that part when I called to book reservations! When checking out and negotiating with the front desk we were given zero help, the lady was rude, telling us that their rates were significantly lower than the JW Marriott which was irrelevant! We did enjoy staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize we were not able to meet your expectations. I understand nobody likes paying for parking unfortunately hotels and business located in downtown areas charge for parking in most if not all major cities in the country. In terms of the taxes, we are required by the state of Indiana and city of... More 

Cincinnati
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice location right on the canal in downtown Indianapolis. Safe atmosphere, friendly staff, kid friendly. Comfortable beds and quiet rooms. What shocked me negatively was the charge for parking! Besides the added taxes (which all hotels have, of course), we were charged $21 per car for parking! We had 2 cars because there were five of us staying in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it. I completely understand how you feel about the parking charges. Unfortunately, it comes with being located downtown. Thank you! More 

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First I have to rave about the beauty of the canal! You walk out of the hotel door right into paradise. The canal is beautiful. From the gardens to the water features to the paintings under the bridge I am in awe. I have already been here for a week and have been very impressed with the hotel and especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for the wonderful feedback! I am glad you had a great stay. The canal is definitely amazing. It is good you had the time to enjoy it! Thank you More 

Anderson, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this hotel used to be great and now they are average. The beds are very unpleasant and cause you to see the chiropractor when you return home. The staff are nice. The cookies and beverages at night are now gone. The food for social hour is now a complete joke. Broken waffle machines, staff that plugs three waffle makers into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay like you’ve had in the past. The social hour for Residence Inns across the country has changed significantly in 2015. The program has been completely revamped by Marriott International as of January 1, 2015. Two nights a month we do desserts such... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#9 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#14 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#2 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#24 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay