We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 185 Indianapolis hotels

The Marten House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 W. 86th St, Indianapolis, IN 46260
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Marten House Hotel to your Saves list
The Marten House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
51%
Ranked #95 of 185 hotels in Indianapolis
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Art J Brookfield, Wisconsin
  • Reviews (75)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
14
7
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was clean hotel quiet. We were traveling thru Indy and booked the Marten House online. Didn't realize it's about 5 minutes from 465. This made it quite but not straightforward to get to. Room clean but hallway tight with 7 ft ceilings. Place seemed not the full.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roy L, General Manager at The Marten House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Traveler I wanted to thank you for your review on the Marten House Hotel. In addition, we wanted to let you know we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your compliment on the cleanliness of our guestroom. I have shared your compliment with our housekeeping staff. Thank you for staying with us as we appreciate your business More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice staff, nice grounds but the wifi was weak to non existent. The staff was very nice and accommodating and even called my room to see if the wifi issue had been resolved which unfortunately had not. Also for some reason my cell phone could not get a signal which made me miss some important calls.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Roy L, General Manager at The Marten House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Traveler Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. I would like to apologize for the issues you had with the wifi. I have addressed your wifi concerns with our Chief Engineer. I am aware that we had a few issues during of few storms in the area. Said storms did have a negative impact on our... More

Sarasota, Florida, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In my constant travels, I stay at many Hotels. Ranging from a The Ritz-Carlton,to last month in Florida at a Marriot Residence Inn for 16 days. Honestly, I looked forward to returning to The Marten House Hotel and Lilly Conference Center! The Staff at the Marten House Hotel is as friendly as The Staff at Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Fl.The Guest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Roy L, General Manager at The Marten House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Traveler I wanted to thank you for your wonderful and kind review on the Marten House Hotel and staff. In addition, I wanted to thank you for your business and to let you know how much we appreciate you selecting the Marten House Hotel when staying in Indianapolis. It was kind of you to touch on so many areas... More

Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We last stayed at the Marten House about 30 years ago. Amazingly I could swear that the room furnishings hadn't changed since that last visit! The TV was not 30 years old but not flat screen, the air conditioner was noisy, the bathroom fan sounded like an aircraft engine, and the fridge and microwave had all seen better days. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roy L, General Manager at The Marten House Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your review on the Marten House Hotel. I did review your feedback with the Chief Engineer. In addition, I wanted to thank you for your compliments on the cleanliness and large size of the guestroom. Also, thank you for the positive feedback on the public areas and that you were so pleased with... More

Washington State
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed at the Martin House for a week in February 2014 via a Priceline bid. The hotel is not bad, but nothing special. But the wifi is TERRIBLE. Slow beyond belief, your old dial-up connection was faster, and it dropped frequently. If you have any need for internet connectivity, you should avoid this place. The front desk staff is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roy L, General Manager at The Marten House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. In addition, we wanted to let you know we appreciate your feedback. We apologize for your problems with our wifi. I did discuss your concern with our Chief Engineer. We did experience technical difficulties with our wifi wireless provider during the same time period as your dates of stay. Again,... More

West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were very pleased with the Marten House Hotel and Lilly Conference Center during the Indy 500 weekend. This was the first year we have housed the Purdue "All-American" Marching Band at this location, and the staff was wonderfully accommodating throughout our entire stay. Ida Grady was excellent and professional in our group reservation process and planning our banquet, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roy L, General Manager at The Marten House Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire Team, we would like to thank you for your taking the time to write and post your review of our hotel. In addition, we wanted you to know that we appreciate you selecting the Marten House Hotel for the Purdue "All-American" Marching Band. I have shared your wonderful compliments with our team. One of the... More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Nice pool, clean rooms. Not as crowded as other hotels, but that's perfect. Stayed there a couple times for an Indy staycation & it was perfect. Other guests had loved ones in hospital next door, but hotel is not just for friends/family of patients.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roy L, General Manager at The Marten House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your nice compliments on our pool and the cleanliness of our guestrooms. We appreciate you taking the time to write and post your review of the Marten House Hotel. We were happy to hear that your stay with us was "perfect". We hope to have you return for another visit with us soon. Sincerely, More

East Meadow, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here over Indy 500 Weekend. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. Since we were here for race weekend we spent a lot of time at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and not a lot of time exploring the amenities the property has to offer, There is a pool and a weight room. The room was comfortable and quiet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roy L, General Manager at The Marten House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review on the Marten House Hotel. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in Indy to attend the Indy 500 Race. The Indy 500 Race Weekend is a very exciting weekend for Indianapolis. In addition, I wanted to thank you for your compliments on the friendliness of... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed for a wedding and found the rooms to very comfortable and pleasant. We thought the staff did an excellent job. They closed the reception down, but we wanted to keep going so they opened a bar on our request. The breakfast food was great and the pool was awesome. I would recommend this for anyone. I have stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roy L, General Manager at The Marten House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to complete your review on our hotel. Also, thank you for your wonderful compliments. We are so pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us for a wedding reception. I have shared your compliment "excellent job" with our staff. In addition, I passed on your compliment on the breakfast food with... More

New Haven, Indiana, Usa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We ending up staying at the Marten House Hotel for 2 nights because my Mother was brought into the ICCU. We were very thankful for it being so close to the hospital. Since we were there with family in the hospital they also gave us an amazing rate. But the hotel was average or a little less. They have signs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roy L, General Manager at The Marten House Hotel, responded to this review

First, I wanted to say I hope your Mother is doing well. In addition, I wanted to thank you for passing on your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I apologize for your concerns. We are a non-smoking hotel and we do enforce our non-smoking policy. However, some guest attempt to smoke outside. If we find that... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Marten House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Marten House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marten House Hotel

Address: 1801 W. 86th St, Indianapolis, IN 46260
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marten House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Marten House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marten House
Marten Hotel Indianapolis

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
173

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of The Marten House Hotel and other travelers.
1 question

See which rooms travelers prefer