We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shadeland Inn

3525 North Shadeland Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46226 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Shadeland Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    0
    1
    6
    33
See reviews for
9
5
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Lancaster, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last Saturday, we arrived on time and had paid through Hotels.com. Their is a wall-high GLASS that separates the customer from the check in clerks (first clue). The clerk was extremely slow and after 15 mins, still could not find our paid reservation on her computer. Meanwhile,a man walked in without a reservation, got a room and key and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pool they advertise has not been open all season. The Continental breakfast was knock off Sunny D, and a powdered coffee machine. That's it! The lobby was not air conditioned, so the units in all 3 of our rooms couldn't keep up, for the end of July. The jacuzzi tub was icky, so we only used it to soak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your opinions. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your needs and did not live up to your expectations. We take pride in our hotel and in providing a great place to stay for so many guests, and I deeply regret that we let you down. Perhaps you will give us another try in the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Rockville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The building is run down and had broken glass in the parking lot that obviously came from a car window. Upon entering the hotel we were welcomed by the smell of mold there wasn't anyone sitting behind the wall of bullet proof glass at the front desk. Our room was gross, we got the hot tub room and it had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments despite not staying with us. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that you did not stay with us, and I hope you will try us again in the future. We’re always working... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

The blanket had blood stains, there was blunt butts from who knows how long, half smoked cigarette at the head of the bed and a large red stain that looked like blood. Lovely place, huh? Did I mention the dust on the ceiling or the crumbs on the mattress that looked like chicken crust or the ashes on the end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. We’re always working to make the... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I booked this hotel off of a hotel booking site I wasn't sure of the good review and bad reviews... Got there and drove around the building it was do NASTY broken windows people drinking in the parking lot and the place looked run down. The pictures are very deceiving... I called the site because I didn't feel like my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for commenting even though you chose not to stay with us. I regret that you accuse us of having an insect problem when no such problem exists. I also regret that we could not serve you, but I hope you found pleasant and desirable accommodations elsewhere in town. Maybe we can serve you next time. We’re always... More 

Portsmouth, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Blankets had stains, tub had caulking falling off. Had to clean hair dryer. It had dirt and dust all over it. Gross!! Stay away. Pool was closed, it was empty of water. Breakfast was Sunny D. That's it. Front desk was behind glass. Towels were old and very rough. You get what u pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry we could not satisfy you during your recent stay. We take real pride in this hotel and most guests are completely satisfied. In fact, we satisfy hundreds every month. I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations in this isolated case and hope you will try us again. We’re always changing... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have love this place. Hotel staff was so nice. The front desk help me to check in and check me out very quickly. Housekeeper and room service people are nice too. Room are beautiful, bed is comfortable. Pool table, game room. Led tv in the Room. This is awesome Hotel. I love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Place is so dirty and not well kept, but what got me the most is how unprofessional the night auditor was!!! He had such a bad attitude I even said to cancel my reservation cause I didn't care for his attitude. After I said that he immediately worked on my reservation faster and made sure I stayed, so I did.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We’re proud to be a Choice Hotel and strive to live up to the company’s high standards every day. We take pride in the cleanliness and quality of our accommodations, too, but I’m sincerely sorry that you were not satisfied. While we satisfy hundreds of guests each month, I respect your decision to... More 

Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This has to be by far the nastiest and unkempt hotel I have ever seen! There were stains on everything...The shower curtain, chairs, wall and bed spread. Some of the staff was very rude.... Not to mention the power outlets have electrical burns and a prong was stuck in a ground plug outlet. Nothing that is claimed in the description... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for the comments. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your needs during this stay. While we satisfy dozens of guests every week, we clearly did not satisfy you and respect your decision not to return. Please take into account, however, that we have made significant improvements and changes in the weeks since your... More 

St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Through some offer from Choice Hotels I spent three nights there for $95 including tax and got about that much value, including tax. The place was under other brands before and now is a warehouse-like dump in dire need of renovation, but probably safer than it looks at first blush. The lobby too often has loud, sleazy-looking characters, and police... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments. I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. We take pride in the property and do what we can to maintain clean, comfortable and pleasant accommodations in a safe and friendly environment. Many guests are completely satisfied, and while I’m pleased that you had a decent stay, I’m truly sorry that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
5.0 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Indianapolis
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Indianapolis East
La Quinta Inn Indianapolis East
#90 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
11.8 mi away
Motel 6 Indianapolis
Motel 6 Indianapolis
#106 of 184 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marriott Indianapolis East
Marriott Indianapolis East
#6 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
10.3 mi away
Indy Lodge
Indy Lodge
#112 of 184 in Indianapolis
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
3.1 mi away
Value Place Indianapolis, Indiana (Lawrence)
Value Place Indianapolis, Indian...
#79 of 184 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay