We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 183 Indianapolis hotels

Rodeway Inn

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3525 North Shadeland Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46226 (Formerly Sunrise Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Rodeway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
5%
Ranked #161 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    1
    6
    29
See reviews for
7
4
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I booked this hotel off of a hotel booking site I wasn't sure of the good review and bad reviews... Got there and drove around the building it was do NASTY broken windows people drinking in the parking lot and the place looked run down. The pictures are very deceiving... I called the site because I didn't feel like my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for commenting even though you chose not to stay with us. I regret that you accuse us of having an insect problem when no such problem exists. I also regret that we could not serve you, but I hope you found pleasant and desirable accommodations elsewhere in town. Maybe we can serve you next time. We’re always... More

Portsmouth, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Blankets had stains, tub had caulking falling off. Had to clean hair dryer. It had dirt and dust all over it. Gross!! Stay away. Pool was closed, it was empty of water. Breakfast was Sunny D. That's it. Front desk was behind glass. Towels were old and very rough. You get what u pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry we could not satisfy you during your recent stay. We take real pride in this hotel and most guests are completely satisfied. In fact, we satisfy hundreds every month. I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations in this isolated case and hope you will try us again. We’re always changing... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have love this place. Hotel staff was so nice. The front desk help me to check in and check me out very quickly. Housekeeper and room service people are nice too. Room are beautiful, bed is comfortable. Pool table, game room. Led tv in the Room. This is awesome Hotel. I love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Place is so dirty and not well kept, but what got me the most is how unprofessional the night auditor was!!! He had such a bad attitude I even said to cancel my reservation cause I didn't care for his attitude. After I said that he immediately worked on my reservation faster and made sure I stayed, so I did.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We’re proud to be a Choice Hotel and strive to live up to the company’s high standards every day. We take pride in the cleanliness and quality of our accommodations, too, but I’m sincerely sorry that you were not satisfied. While we satisfy hundreds of guests each month, I respect your decision to... More

Dayton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This has to be by far the nastiest and unkempt hotel I have ever seen! There were stains on everything...The shower curtain, chairs, wall and bed spread. Some of the staff was very rude.... Not to mention the power outlets have electrical burns and a prong was stuck in a ground plug outlet. Nothing that is claimed in the description... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for the comments. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your needs during this stay. While we satisfy dozens of guests every week, we clearly did not satisfy you and respect your decision not to return. Please take into account, however, that we have made significant improvements and changes in the weeks since your... More

St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Through some offer from Choice Hotels I spent three nights there for $95 including tax and got about that much value, including tax. The place was under other brands before and now is a warehouse-like dump in dire need of renovation, but probably safer than it looks at first blush. The lobby too often has loud, sleazy-looking characters, and police... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments. I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. We take pride in the property and do what we can to maintain clean, comfortable and pleasant accommodations in a safe and friendly environment. Many guests are completely satisfied, and while I’m pleased that you had a decent stay, I’m truly sorry that you... More

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I've recently started booking motels, and will now start paying attention to reviews. In reading reviews dating back 7 years, I found th1at the Rodeway still has the same problems(except for bugs...didn't see any). As of August 2013, the front doors to the lobby are still in disrepair, the lobby still has no air conditioning, and the attached restaurant is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for this review from nearly a year ago. In the time since this feedback, we have used your comments and others to help us improve. We’re now a better, cleaner, safer place than ever before and satisfying hundreds of guests every month. If your travels bring you this way again, I hope you will try us... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is the nastiest place ever! How ridiculous. Such liars when it comes to renting the room online! Nothing is correct there was no pool due to not working! the lights did not work floor disgusting toilet coming up off the floor. This was suppose to be a romantic night for us and it was washed down the drain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks you for these comments from last year. I’m sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. You can be sure that these comments were taken into consideration during our recent refreshing and improvement efforts and we believe our property is now better than ever before. If your travels bring you this way again, we challenge you to... More

Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed with my family on June 28, 2013. Heard gunshots outside. Asked for my money back and ran away fast. This is a dangerous neighborhood. AVOID at all costs. Room was a mess as well. I checked Yelp first and came to Trip Advisor to write my review. I am also a Choice Hotels Rewards member and thats how I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for these comments from nearly a year ago. We’re located in a safe, friendly neighborhood and always have been. It has even improved in the last several months. I’m sorry that you mistook some kind of nearby sound for something worse and chose to leave. That’s your decision. We’ve improved our property in many ways, however, and... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The first room we tried to get was absolutely disgusting...smelled of urine and human feces. I complained and then got switched to another room. While entering the second room a man was exiting the room with a bottle of frebreze in his hand still spraying. The room still smelled..the room had only 1 small pillow and no fitted sheet. A... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, While you left these comments more than a year ago, I wanted to let you know that they were used as part of our continuous improvement efforts that have helped us significantly improve this property. I sincerely apologize that we fell short of your expectations and hope you will try our improved hotel whenever you’re in town again.... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 3525 North Shadeland Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46226 (Formerly Sunrise Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Indianapolis

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay