We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The INN at DePauw & Event Center

Certificate of Excellence
2 West Seminary Street, Greencastle, IN 46135
The INN at DePauw & Event Center
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    17
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
9
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Hot Springs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautiful Inn.. wonderful staff very helpful. ..room amazing very comfortable bed and pillows.. highly recommend . Janice was wonderful. Bright beautiful lobby with parking very close, room service and pet friendly too

Was this review helpful? Yes
Latrobe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night to visit with family. Outside of hotel very nice, inside needed some updating. Check in was good, took our luggage to the room and left. Went back later to go to bed and found out the television didn't work, someone came up and looked at it, she could not get it to work, so at 9:30... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I booked 3 rooms for 3 nights over graduation weekend. The rooms & bathroom were clean; as were the public areas. The nearest chain hotel is 30 minutes away, so this property is perfect for visitors to DePauw's campus. One of the rooms was located over the courtyard and had a lot of noise carryover well into the night from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Inn. Like most hotels, when there is a large event in the area a deposit and or advanced purchase is required when booking rooms. Graduation Weekend and Family Weekend are the only two weekends that we require full payment at the time of reservation booking. Because there... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Do yourself a favor and book your own room online if you can! Or at least, double check your reservation confirmation so you don't experience what I just went through! The day we were supposed to arrive I received a concerning call from the hotel about us not showing up for our reservation. Whaaaat?!?! Apparently, the front desk reservationist put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review

After speaking with all the parties involved, I am so pleased that my staff was able to resolve your situation. Our breakfast buffet in 2 West Bistro is the best in town and I will be sure to share with our restaurant staff how much you enjoyed your breakfast! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

We stayed here a few months ago and had a bad experience with housekeeping. Our son was eating snacks and left crumbs on the floor. When we returned from a day out, housekeeping had come but the crumbs were still there! They were plentiful and very visible. The front desk attendant that responded to my call was so surprised at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our team. We take feedback both positive and negative very seriously and we appreciate you investing your time. As always, our guests comfort is our number one priority, and we have taken the proper steps to assure that all of our housekeeping staff is on the same page and... More 

Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

This hotel was a convenient and easy place to stay in town with access to the University. Traveling with a large group of parents, it was nice to have the lobby space and the convention area. The bar and restaurant were also a convenience. We organized a large banquet which was a good effort under the circumstances. We would stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our hotel as a whole during your most recent stay. We start our room renovations June 9th, hopefully you will be back to see the great changes.The lobby is such a great space to enjoy our homemade cookies, a cup of coffee, and enjoy great company. Our complimentary... More 

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

it had been many years since last there, and the substantial renovations/expansion detracted from the previous comfortable environment. In terms of value for money, it was OK, but had lost much of its prior charm, turning it into a small anywhere convention center. Nothing actually bad, but will not rush back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review

We do appreciate the charm that our building had pre-renovation. Although our interior is changing our staff still embraces small town charm and hospitality. We invite guests to enjoy our beautiful lobby and cozy up by the fire in the library with floor to ceiling books. We are excited about bringing necessary upgrades to the Inn to ensure guest satisfaction. More 

Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

This was a fun place to stay! Located in the downtown area it had a nice "feel" that was different than your typical chain hotel. Very tastefully decorated. Plenty of space in rooms. Not fancy but clean and friendly. Don't overlook this one just because breakfast isn't free. It was very reasonable and delicious! Hot buffet was only 5.95 and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us! Our staff is eager to serve and make guests feel comfortable. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable visit and left with a great breakfast to start your day! We are looking forward to your next visit. More 

Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

HIdden gem in Greencastle, this Inn on the campus of Depauw offers great rooms, comfortable beds and very clean surroundings. I arrived very, very late and only stayed one night. Breakfast the next day (not free) was a buffet with an excellent omelet chef. Great service, happy people. Cable TV package could be improved. Internet speed a bit slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us! Our staff is eager to serve and make guests feel comfortable. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable visit and left with a great breakfast to start your day! I'm very sorry you experienced problems with our wireless internet service, hopefully when you return it... More 

Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for a week in mid February and had a very pleasant stay. The rooms were adequate for an inn and the restaurant better than expected. The best part was the service, from the housecleaner to reception to custodial staff, all were excellent. A great place to stay if you need to be in Greencastle, Indiana.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Inn. We take great pride in providing our guests with a cozy place to stay while away from home. We do hope that you will stop by again to enjoy another meal in our award winning 2 West Bistro. The Inn will begin an extensive room remodel soon... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greencastle
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Cloverdale
Super 8 Cloverdale
#1 of 6 in Cloverdale
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
8.4 mi away
Days Inn Cloverdale
Days Inn Cloverdale
#4 of 6 in Cloverdale
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
8.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Cloverdale
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Covered Bridge Inn
20.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Rockville
Econo Lodge Rockville
#3 of 4 in Rockville
3.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cloverdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?