We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
501 Gateway Blvd, Chesterton, IN 46304
Special Offer
Book now, save up to 25%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    172
    77
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
95
57
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (108)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent location just off the toll road. Rooms were comfy and hotel staff was nice. Has a decent sized pool and good workout room. A couple of restaurants nearby and the hotel also has dinner and breakfast ( for a fee). Kuerig coffee in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn, Chesterton, In. We truly appreciate you feedback and look forward to seeing you again! More 

Gurnee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent almost 3 weeks at the Hilton and they made my stay feel like home away from home. The hotel is kept very fresh and clean. The staff is very friendly and I felt very welcomed. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Chesterton or the surrounding area. I did check the reviews for other hotels in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn, Chesterton In. We truly appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again! More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of four stayed here; note that the website says double beds but they are queens. Nice hot breakfast options including made to order pancakes, waffles and omelets. We opted to include it via a AAA options; about $10 per person otherwise. The clientele seemed very family oriented except for one night in the indoor pool and Jacuzzi when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn, Chesterton! We truly appreciate your feedback! We look forward to serving you again. More 

Manhattan Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at the hotel was very responsive to our request to change rooms. They followed up with us to be sure our room met our expectations, which it did. We have stayed at this location several times and they always make us feel welcome.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn, Chesterton. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again! More 

Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I expected this hotel to be in town, however it is not. It is on the highway that leads to Chesterton. This hotel had a beautiful lobby when walking in. However, the 'restaurant' took up half the space. When walking in our room it had a strong smell of coffee. We were pleased to see they had a Keurig in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. More 

South Bend, IN, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hilton Garden Inn looks like every other one I have stayed in before. However, it is built very poorly (with wood, not concrete) and the noise transmission between floors and adjacent rooms is downright awful.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very impressed at the room and that the staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. We will certainly go back there when we are in the area. Though we didn't eat breakfast there the menu looked very good.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn, Chesterton. We truly appreciate your feedback. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer. We look forward to seeing you again!. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were traveling to Michigan from Minnesota when I noticed the Indiana Dunes state beach would be on the way. I picked this hotel because it was within 5 miles of the gate. The location worked out perfectly. Also cannot remember the last time I stayed at a Hilton and I was pleasantly surprised. Lobby and rooms were modern and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, We truly appreciate your business! We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Currently listening to a barrage of fireworks for the past three hours and continuing at midnight right outside the hotel. Apparently the management is powerless to get local law enforcement to help out. This might be a good place to stay, just not +/- one week before or after the 4th of July.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton. I'm so sorry you experienced some noise issues during your stay. I hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. More 

Mexico Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

UNBELIEVABLY AMAZING STAY!! We couldn't have been more Satisfied.. We will definitely be staying at the Beautiful Hilton Garden Inn In the Future and will pass this on to our Friends and Families so they can have the Same Quality of stay and never again to have to worry about the Cleanliness and Quality.. Thank you again.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton. We truly appreciate your business and hope to service you again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
2.9 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#3 of 8 in Portage
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay