We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton

3.0 of 5 501 Gateway Blvd, Chesterton, IN 46304
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Special Offer
Book now, save up to 25%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    59
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
74
45
10
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (219)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late on a Friday night, at the exact moment that a collegiate athletic team arrived. Although the lobby was full, the hotel staff was friendly and worked VERY hard to distribute keys to the members of the team. One very nice front desk staff member saw my family of three, clearly not with the team, and went out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. It sounds like you had a really enjoyable trip and I hope you will stay with us again next time you are in the area. More 

Fox Cities, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed at this motel several times and for the price it is a good motel. On this stay, we had a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the third floor hallway the first night which came in under our door. We didn't like that, but since we were tired and only staying one night we just put a towel... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

thank you for your comments. I want to apologize for the inconviences you experienced while staying at the hotel. If you were to stay again please let the front desk know about smoking issues that way we can try and locate the person who is smoking and have them stop. The hotel is 100% nonsmoking. I have met with the... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I liked the hotel in general. Seemed fairly new, nice, etc. My only complaints: (1) the bed was very very hard. It was like sleeping on the floor -- and I normally like a firm mattress. (2) It wasn't very clear that the breakfast wasn't free. It was a decent hotel breakfast, but I didn't make any custom orders which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I have informed the maintenance dept about your complaint about the bed. They will check it out so that another guest does not suffer the same experience you did. Please give us another try when you are in the area. More 

Carmel, IN, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I feel very comfortable here. The physical location is convenient to the major roads and things to do. Everything is nice from the facilities to the people. The fitness center is good as is the pool for laps. The wifi is good too. Usually I have a breakfast in the restaurant portion of the lobby. It is well done!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Thank you for all your positive comments about the hotel and staff. I will be sure to pass on all your comments to the staff at our next meeting. Thank you for taking time to write a review. More 

Crown Point, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was so helpful with holding our room block, arranging a trolley to take our guests back and forth from Sand Creek Country Club(our daughter's wedding venue) to the hotel and arranging a breakfast brunch for our guests. What a positive experience

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

It sounds like the wedding weekend was a great success. I will pass on your wonderful comments to the sales department. They continue to strive to make every occassion a postive one. Thank you More 

Cleveland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff consistantly recieves me in a freindly manner. The accomodations are comfortable. The convenience of breakfast is very nice and the food is good. the choices are nice. My overall experience is very good.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that the staff is consistently welcoming. Also glad to see you enjoy our full american breakfast. Thank you for your comments More 

Rockford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is just a fabulous place to stay. As with most Hilton Garden Inns, this one of course serves cooked to order breakfast and is fairly new so the furnishings and appearance are in excellent condition. On top of this, they have exceptional customer service when assisting me to change rooms due to the traffic noise. They made sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I will be sure to pass on all your praise to the staff. Exceptional customer service is a goal for our hotel and it sounds like we hit the mark with you. than you again More 

Mangum, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The beds were horrible. They cleaned one room and not the adjoining room even though the connecting doors were open. When they did finally clean the room they did not replace coffee, etc. The rooms were above the pool and were hot even though it was cold outside and we turned on the air conditioners. The rooms also smelled of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not satified with your stay at the hotel and that your bed was not comfortable. The rooms you were in were assigned to two different housekeepers which is why they were not cleaned at the same time. I was told by the Housekeeping Manager that once your husband called someone went to clean them right... More 

Cleveland, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

The hotel is equiped with the old style heating and cooling units under the window. These are very noisy, tun on and off on a regular bais and the air is generaly directed at the desk where I was sitting. This hotel is situated near a rail road line where rail cars are being moved all night. All I could... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

I am so sorry for the noise you experienced with your HVAC unit during your recent stay. Our maintenance staff works diligently to keep them in excellent condition and we are sorry to hear this was not your experience. We understand the importance of a good night's rest while traveling and hope you will consider staying with us again next... More 

Lake City PA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

My granddaughter and I spent the night here recently, we thought it was wonderful. We felt like we were being pampered with the comfy beds and pillows, helpful staff and overall extremely clean and modern facility.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you ahd your granddaughter had a great stay and felt pampered by the bed and staff. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Eileen Howat Asst GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton

Address: 501 Gateway Blvd, Chesterton, IN 46304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton Hotel Chesterton
Hilton Chesterton
Chesterton Hilton Garden Inn

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay