We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Bloomington hotels

Fourwinds Resort And Marina

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9301 Fairfax Road, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MIDWEEK STAYCATION
Save Saved
You added Fourwinds Resort And Marina to your Saves list
Fourwinds Resort And Marina
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
87%
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Lindsey C
  • Overview
  • Reviews (246)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (66)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (95)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    42
    14
    7
    10
See reviews for
91
70
2
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've stayed here and had a boat here for 15 years off and on. The update to the hotel and pool is very good. The bartender with the glasses (Josh, I think) was great. The rooms are much better than before. Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I have spent many nights at the Four Winds and have never been let down. The staff...especially Tony on our trip last weekend.....was superb! Our room was nice and quite and the bed extremely comfortable. Having a temporary slip for our boat in the marina really helps to heighten our enjoyment and takes the hassle of launching... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crawfordsville, Indiana
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at Four Winds the night of July, 6, 2014. Upon arrival we were not greeted well at the front desk. No one wanted to wait on us, and when they did they kept going back through a door to the back office. We waited a long time. Finally he came back out. Could not understand... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would actually give 3.5 stars if I could - but not four. Overall, the resort was slightly above average. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful/friendly. If you go, pay the extra for the lake view and get a room on the first floor if possible. The lake view rooms have small patios/balconies, and the first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was surprised to read your review that the resort has little to offer, except for boating. Along with our boat rental fleet, we also offer an indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, mini-golf course, tennis, basketball, volleyball, hiking trails and yes, our lakeside beach. In addition, we can arrange a tee time for you at the... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bar was outstanding! Sarina Henderson was a SuperStar behind the bar. Actually more of a mixologist than a bartender! John Taffer of bar rescue will be hiring her away to be one of his experts any day now. Better get down there before she leaves. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review

Hi Gregory, Thank you for the 4 star review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed yourself during your recent visit. Thank you also for recognizing one of our associates, Sarina Henderson. She is an asset to our operation and John Taffer doesn't have a chanced in getting her away from us! We look forward to welcoming you... More

Turtletown TN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've had the opportunity to visit over the last several years and this visit was better than the last, but there is still room for improvement. The bar food was better than ever - good quality, and a great value based on other hotel bar food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Providing a quality product and service is the foundation for continued success and growth. I appreciate you noticing on our-going improvement and I will look forward to welcoming you back again soon. We value and appreciate your business! More

Avon, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall, my experience at the resort was very good. Nice staff, clean rooms, great location. Just a few minor complaints. There were no vending machines on the floors and ice was very limited. The Tradewinds restaurant was the biggest disappointment. Other than being seated right away and our server, Blaine, there really wasn't anything nice about the food or wine.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review

HI Sara, Although you were not pleased with our buffet, I appreciate the overall compliment of enjoyment of our resort and the 4 star review. Please accept my apology for the appearance and quality of our Prime Rib Buffet. The resort has built a fine reputation for serving a quality product, complimented with personal service and I regret that you... More

Mulberry, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel and marina over all look nice and appealing. The problems seems to center around cleanliness and maintenance. Our room was nice and clean the only problem I had with it is that I found the mattress to hard to get a good nights sleep. The more formal restaurant had a buffet for breakfast and dinner but I found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review

Hi Rob, Thank you for your review. It seems like we're getting a lot of feedback about the same weekend, which appears we fell short on maintaining our grounds and public areas. There is no excuse for this, other than we'll have to keep a closer eye on these areas, even when being short staffed. Please accept my sincerest apology... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this resort o er the weekend. The only friendly face was housekeeping. They were super nice. The manager, staff (specifically Clay), staff @ Tradewinds were so undeniably either just plain rude or inattentive. All rooms in the resort were fully booked 2 weeks in advance. 1. Tradewinds. Upon entering there was no host. When she arrived, she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review

Jessica, Thank you for letting us know how disappointed you were with your stay, I regret that we couldn't do anything to make your experience more enjoyable. I'd like to address your review starting with the 5th item on your list first, as General Manage of the resort, I don't believe we spoke, but if we did I can assure... More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

All told, stay was fine. But for the customer paying for a 2-room suite at almost $300/night; cost is twice as high as we'd expect to pay for the room/ amenities we received (comparing to a Residence Inn). Area was beautiful; we'd go back, but there are things we'd do differently. Summary: bring your own pool & beach towels, outdoor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4 star review. I appreciate you taking the time to provide a complete evaluation. I would like to respond to a few of your points. Regarding check-in, on this particular day we were unfortunately behind schedule a bit in having all of our available rooms cleaned and ready on time. The rooms that were assigned to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Fourwinds Resort And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Fourwinds Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourwinds Resort And Marina

Address: 9301 Fairfax Road, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourwinds Resort And Marina 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fourwinds Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourwinds Resort And Marina Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel And Marina

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Green Hotel in Bloomington #1 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington #3 Family Hotel in Bloomington #6 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fourwinds Resort and Marina, located on beautiful Lake Monroe, in the Fairfax State Recreation Area, Bloomington, Indana, offers a year-round, lakeside get-away, for families, business travelers, groups, and visitors to Southern Indiana. Within a short drive to the Bloomington, business district and Indiana University, the Fourwinds Resort & Marina is a wonderful alternative, to a more "traditional" hotel experience. Breathtaking lake views from most rooms, with walk-out patios and balconies, in a relaxed setting. The Fourwinds Resort and Marina will be your favorite "Destination Location". Boat Rentals, transient slips, Fairfax State Recreation Area, Corporate Meeting space, Wedding Venues, and much more await you. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
118

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer