We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Bloomington hotels

Americas Best Value Inn

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1722 N. Walnut Street, Bloomington, IN 47404 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn Bloomington)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
24%
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Bloomington
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    4
    16
See reviews for
8
3
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place has bigger, nice, cleaner rooms than Motel 6 next door, and good cable television. And are ALWAYS the BEST value in Bloomington. These other comments about cockroaches & such: Don't believe it, cz I KNOW they wash ALL the towels & bedding, EVERY guest-occupied night. They're a nice, Indian, extended FAMILY-RUN place managing it with pride. Kenny will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I visited IU for NW bball game with a friend and was only staying Satuuday night. We both aren't picky people but this place was just plain unacceptable. The whole place reeked of smoke and the walls were clearly stained by smoke. The bed sheets and pillow cases were very dirty and we had to ask for new ones immediately.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is absolutely disgusting. It looks like the kind of hotel people are murdered in in thriller movies. I booked this room for two nights, but on the first night I found cockroaches in my bed. I left in the morning and never came back for the second night. To boot, the couple running this hotel were insanely rude... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
44 hotel reviews
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

America’s Best Value inn is located about a block west of IU’s Memorial Football Stadium on N. Walnut Street. It is also about a mile north of downtown Bloomington, Indiana. I was in town with my wife for the Minnesota vs. IU football game and wanted to stay close to the campus. At $156 a night I thought it would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Definitely a college party place on the weekends. Partying and Noise until 2am both Friday and Saturday night. Police there one night. Very dated furnishings. Bad odors. Hotel staff were nice but don't stay here if you have a family or if you want to get some sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenny P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. You were here during a foot ball game at IU, which means that we were very busy, we try to keep all the noise to a minimum as we know that guests are trying to sleep. Without being notified of the noise, there is nothing that we can do about it... More

Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked the room because it was the only one available during the IU football game weekend and I thought that at a $150 a night it would be okay. I was not prepared for what i saw, smelled and heard. The place smells like no windows have been opened for 40 years, the carpeting everywhere was ripped and stank,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kenny P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with our hotel. We would like you to know that we have shared all of your comments with our staff and are making needed corrections to help improve these issues. We strive to make sure all of our guests enjoy their stay and feel safe while they are here and we... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were only taking my son back to school and not spending any time in the hotel we thought could give this one a try. We arrive about 11pm and left at 7am. The furniture looked like a bunch of college kids had been living there but it was clean enough. For sleeping onyy it was OK but I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kenny P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, it helps us improve our hotel. We are very sorry you were not happy with the furniture and the breakfast. We are aware that the furniture is dated and are in the process of replacing the old items. As for the breakfast, we will take a look at what we... More

Bloomington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The door from the parking area to the motel was unlocked. Safety/Security issue. Breakfast was below par. Place has seen better days. I don't understand why the review has to be a certain length. That's weird

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kenny P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the breakfast, we put out what we had available. As for the doors leading into the hotel hallways, that is something that we are working on replacing with keycard entry as soon as we can afford. As stated in previous posts, we have done a lot of renovations to this hotel in the last... More

East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a men's basketball reporter in East Lansing, I've had the opportunity to stay in many hotels all over the Midwest to cover college hoops and I can safely say the America's Best Value in Bloomington, Indiana is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. I've never seen such a combination of terrible service, poor conditions and a repulsive atmosphere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kenny P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay. But there are no smells of rotting garbage or curry in the hotel, unless there is a guest cooking with curry. If that was the case when you stayed I’m do apologize. I heard nothing about it from any of the other fifty guests that were on the floor that you were... More

Bangor, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying this week at America's Best Value Inn in Bloomington. I was a little wary after reading some of the reviews on here, but seeing as Kenny is pretty much the only property manager that responds to the reviews, I figured I would take a chance. Check in was a breeze, Kenny himself was at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kenny P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We do our best to maintain a pleasant environment. We are actually talking about putting a public laundry for hotel guests in the hotel, but the plans for that are about a year off. Thank you for staying, and we look forward to your next stay. More

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Bloomington
Americas Best Value Hotel
Country Hearth Hotel Bloomington
Address: 1722 N. Walnut Street, Bloomington, IN 47404 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn Bloomington)
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.