We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Waukegan hotels

Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Greenbay Road, Grand Ave & Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Save Saved
You added Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee to your Saves list
Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
24%
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Waukegan
  • Reviews (568)
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (27)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    96
    155
    143
    112
See reviews for
459
30
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed one night, and thank goodness for that. Hotel lobby is the nicest thing about this hotel. The entire hotel needs a good cleaning. All hallways smelled horribly. When we checked in I asked if the hot tub was working because many reviews mentioned it was broken. I was told yes it was working, which was a lie,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Travel_Girl7575, I'm sorry you missed the rest of our Base 42 Bar & Grill dining room with several booths and tables. It sounds like you encountered Alfie, our veteran bartender in the bar side of the restaurant. I'm happy to hear he could serve your needs. Thank you for noticing our newly remodeled lobby. We are continuing remodeling into... More

Chicago
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

July 2-3, 2014. stayed one night. I try to always be fair. this is NOT as bad as other reviewers have said, if you want or need 4STAR go to another hotel-Period. Other reviews were correct there is a smell, not horrible, just like an apartment complex hallway with all the different households cooking combined with a pool smell and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear LeesaChicago, Thank you for your kind words and honest review. We try very hard to be the best value for our guests, as we try to correct our shortcomings. I'm happy your family enjoyed our comfy beds and better continental breakfast. I appreciate your patience with us as we repaired our hot tub. The hot tub is now full... More

Evansville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Front lobby looked nice, and staff was also nice! The hallways smelt of a old and musty! It is the perfect place to stay if you want to party all night! It felt like we were in a college dorm, there was partying in the halls and in rooms, guest were very loud with no concerns about other guests! tried... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear BreCat72, Thank you for noticing our newly remodeled lobby and generously kind staff. We are continuing remodeling into the hallways to remedy that old and musty appearance you saw. I'm sorry no one could take your call at 1am. Sometimes the night clerk must also serve guests away from the desk and will return shortly. Ron Shelton general manager More

Springfield, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town for Navy graduation with the family. There was an issue getting the room type that we reserved several weeks in advance at check in and had to stay in another room. Lobby men's restroom smelled like a port-a-potty on a hundred degree day during our entire stay (we used it while at the pool). Hallways looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear John W., Thank you for choosing our Ramada for your Naval Graduation visit. We are privileged to share this proud moment with our guests. Sometimes, room types cannot be guaranteed if an unforeseen maintenance issue arises, and we will subsitute with a similar or better room. I appreciate your patience with our hot tub, it is now fixed and... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading all of these reviews I still booked my stay. The bad reviews just kept getting worse. I tried calling to see if any of these things had been fixed, the assured me they were. I told them you guys have really bad reviews online, they told me if I'm so worried about it I should may cancel my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Eva D., I'm sorry you decided not to stay with us. Ron Shelton general manager More

Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Worse place I have ever stayed at. They offer a free shuttle to and from Six Flags. Get there and they say the shuttle will be back at 10am. At 10:20 no shuttle, so instead hired a sketchy taxi driver that nearly starts a fight in the parking lot upon our arrival to the park. Then call the hotel later... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Tiffany549, I am very sorry you were not pleased with our service and I will discuss your experience in detail with my drivers and front desk staff. We do offer free shuttle service to and from Six Flags theme park. If our driver is not available, we will contract a local taxi to shuttle for us. Ron Shelton general... More

Waterloo, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was clean and lobby updated. Overall hotel is a little run down but fine for one night before going to six flags. Pool area seems old. Breakfast was ok for a free breakfast. Waffles bagels and fruit. Staff was friendly. Overall good for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Becky K., Thank you for choosing our Ramada for your Six Flags Great America vacation! We are currently working to update the run down parts of this hotel. Renovations began with the updated lobby. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our free continental breakfast and friendly staff. Ron Shelton general manager More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dirty, stinks of sweat, cigarette smoke and feces. Black mold spots on bathroom ceiling. Dried blood on lamp cord. Very unprofessional staff. Did not honor my reservation for the type of room I had booked. No wash cloths or hand towels provided. Manager spends too much time online replying to these reviews when he should be addressing some major issues... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Jerry F., I appreciate that you took the time to give a detailed response of your experience here. Trust that your complaints are all being addressed. Sometimes there are unforeseen maintenance issues that can make some rooms unavailable, and we will make substitutions as needed. Ron Shelton general manager More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked on line the photos that were shown were not of this property the door to the building was broken had to get the front desk to come open stuck door then went in to the worst smelling hallway that lead to the worst room .this place should remove the Ramada Inn name off the establishment we closed the door... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Willie W., Sometimes guest keys will demagnetize near cell phones, purse and wallet clasps, any magnetic sources that will erase the keys and limit access to our facility. I apologize that you had difficulty gaining access to our building. The online photos are of our business class section, which is priced about $10- $12 more than the standard section... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee

Address: 200 North Greenbay Road, Grand Ave & Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waukegan Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Ramada Inn Waukegan

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
185

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer