We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
411 S Greenbay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    9
    6
    17
    26
See reviews for
43
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for one night for our six flags trip. We received an awesome deal package for two rooms and six tickets, it also includes a shuttle van. The hotel was older and no it wasn't the best hotel, but it was clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful.I would definitely stay here again and would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plattsburgh, New York
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was very friendly.. it smelled nasty with cigarette smoke in the hallways & went into nonsmoking rooms..they should have no smoking except outside. the carpets are dirty, dont walk out in socks. I was there a couple of nights. breakfast they served was ok. its the cheap version of kelloggs, stale waffles & bagels. I felt like I paid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel for the great price and free shuttle to Six Flags. The service that was provided was wonderful. They had wonderful advice and were very caring. Breakfast was simple, but filling. Room was large and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really appreciate your review and look forward to serving you on your next visit to the Waukegan/Gurnee area. Sincerely, Dan L. More 

Kentucky
Level Contributor
101 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee is listed as a place to stay when visiting the Navy recruits. Avoid this hotel like a plague!! Locks don't work properly - takes a special jiggle to unlock the hotel door! Transportation is "included" to see the Navy recruits. The hotel van headliner hangs down on everyone's heads. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We believe you have the wrong property. We do not have manual key entry to our hotel as all our locks are electronic key entry so no jiggling of the lock. Also, as manager I do the shuttle myself on Fridays with our own 14 passenger van. This van does not have sliding doors. No overhanging thing. Also,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Waukegan hotels

Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Is this a Five Star Hotel? No. Do you get all of the amenities that comes with higher-priced rooms? No. But...the staff were friendly and very helpful, the rooms were nice, and the price was right. This is not a place I would stay for my honeymoon or romantic getaway, but for a business trip or for visiting the RTC... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank You for your review. We appreciate any guests' feedback and we strive to improve constantly. Regarding the carpets rest assured that we will talk to our carpet cleaning company and have them steam clean again. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Sincerely, Dan L. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

Room and hall very damp and musty. Some towels were dirty. One coffee packet in room and was never replaced after use. Beds made up very shabily. Room rug dirty. Bathroom floor dirty. Pool closed. Air conditioner worked sporadically. Stay elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us feedback. I sincerely apologize about the inconvenience you had at our property but rest assured the issue in that room has been taken care of. We would love for you to give us another chance when you are in the Waukegan, IL area so... More 

Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

When it comes to the price of a hotel, I can generally overlook a lot but not here. First, when we checked in, the front desk guy gave me a lecture on how I should have called to book our room instead of booking online. Said he was losing 14% by us booking online. If they did not want us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

Wow what can I say the owner allowed me to check in at 11am without any extra charge. The place is clean all the staff was very friendly and helpful. The shuttle driver told me what to expect on Friday morningfor my sson's graduation from naval academy. Shuttle service was very reliable we were dropped off at the gate and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I enjoyed the stay here the lady at the desk was so nice and pleasant. It was a guy at the desk when we checked out and he was just as nice and pleasant. I mean the whole vibe overall made me feel welcomed when coming from out of town and already a nervous wreck and anxiously awaiting to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Central Arizona, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 days not only because it was cheap but because it was close to the Naval base. The room was clean but very outdated furniture and had a funny smell. The wallpaper was peeling off and the carpet was stained. The beds were not comfy and the TV did not have many channels to choose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan / Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay