We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee

411 S Greenbay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan \/ Gurnee
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was good. It was fun making the waffles.The hotel was convenient to get back and forth to the Naval Base.Great place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank BriggiteA
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to the Great Lakes Naval Base. We greatly appreciate your review and look forward to serving you on your future visit to this area again. Sincerely, Dan Manager More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seriously, I'm not sure how this hotel has any good comments unless they are family members of the owners. Ridiculously dirty and in dire need of repairs. If I had seen this room before I paid...I would have left immediately. Iron burns on the carpet, NASTY carpet, holes in the mattress, bed springs coming through the mattress, stained towels and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beckey C
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry to hear about your experience during your recent stay at our property. We will be doing some renovations this year and hope you give us a second chance to see the difference. Sincerely, Dan Manager More 

Carrollton, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can't believe this hotel is open. The rooms stink like moldy musty dust. Carpet in rooms was so nasty we would not take our shoes off. Furniture was in horrible condition. There were burns on the comforter, like cigarette burns, NASTY! Ironing board but no iron, no hair dryer, would not eat the free complimentary breakfast because the place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. We will be doing some renovations this year so I hope you give us a second chance and see the differences. Also, our front desk is open 24/7 to assist our guests' for anything/concerns; WIFI and/or regarding other guests. Sincerely, Dan Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

Lets begin by saying that If there were a rating less than Terrible, we would have picked it. We were booked Sat thru Sun at the local Holiday Inn, but due to a huge snow storm, needed to come into town on Friday night and the Holiday Inn was booked. We quickly booked a room at Americas Best Value Inn... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bre Z
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for leaving a review and assure that we will definitely look into the matter regarding your reservation. I have also spoken to our housekeeping regarding the window and bedspread. Please give me a call and I will personally look into the matter and take care of you at (847)244-6100. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

I almost gave this hotel two stars because of the friendly staff but could not do so in good conscience based only on that fact. Other than the nice staff this place is completely unnerving. The lobby definitely dates this hotel and there is a smell as soon as you walk into the building. The smell gets stronger as you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob M
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for leaving your review. We are actually in the process of renovations. Some roooms the wallpaper has been stripped and painted. Soon enough all the rooms will be redone with new paint, flooring, and furniture. I hope you can give us a second chance so you can see the difference with our always affordable rates. Sincerely,... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for our six flags trip. We received an awesome deal package for two rooms and six tickets, it also includes a shuttle van. The hotel was older and no it wasn't the best hotel, but it was clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful.I would definitely stay here again and would... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie4249
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are in the process of some renovations this winter and we hope that you can come back and visit us next Six Flags season and see the upgrades. Sincerely, Dan GM America's Best Value Inn More 

Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Staff was very friendly.. it smelled nasty with cigarette smoke in the hallways & went into nonsmoking rooms..they should have no smoking except outside. the carpets are dirty, dont walk out in socks. I was there a couple of nights. breakfast they served was ok. its the cheap version of kelloggs, stale waffles & bagels. I felt like I paid... More 

Helpful?
Thank jm m
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We chose this hotel for the great price and free shuttle to Six Flags. The service that was provided was wonderful. They had wonderful advice and were very caring. Breakfast was simple, but filling. Room was large and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really appreciate your review and look forward to serving you on your next visit to the Waukegan/Gurnee area. Sincerely, Dan L. More 

Kentucky
Level Contributor
201 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee is listed as a place to stay when visiting the Navy recruits. Avoid this hotel like a plague!! Locks don't work properly - takes a special jiggle to unlock the hotel door! Transportation is "included" to see the Navy recruits. The hotel van headliner hangs down on everyone's heads. No... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gadgetguy11
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We believe you have the wrong property. We do not have manual key entry to our hotel as all our locks are electronic key entry so no jiggling of the lock. Also, as manager I do the shuttle myself on Fridays with our own 14 passenger van. This van does not have sliding doors. No overhanging thing. Also,... More 

Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Is this a Five Star Hotel? No. Do you get all of the amenities that comes with higher-priced rooms? No. But...the staff were friendly and very helpful, the rooms were nice, and the price was right. This is not a place I would stay for my honeymoon or romantic getaway, but for a business trip or for visiting the RTC... More 

Helpful?
Thank John L
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank You for your review. We appreciate any guests' feedback and we strive to improve constantly. Regarding the carpets rest assured that we will talk to our carpet cleaning company and have them steam clean again. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Sincerely, Dan L. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan / Gurnee
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay