We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rock Inn

4.0 of 5 Haytor Vale, Haytor Vale, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9XP, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Rock Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Rock Inn
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    39
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
100
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (156)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

Authentic old Inn on the edge of Dartmoor with atmosphere oozing out of the walls, On arrival we had refreshments in front of a log fire and just sat there for an hour (lovely) What was once the bar is now the main restaurant and it is very cosy but I have to admit I miss the busyness of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can thoroughly recommend The Rock. Each room is individually decorated and has all every facility imaginable. The restaurant provides delicious fine dining using many locally sourced products. There is a lovely atmosphere and cheerful and helpful staff. My family have enjoyed the hospitality offered at The Rock over many years and it is consistently wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited for my husbands 40th birthday treat for dinner, b&b. Warm welcome, nice surprise treat of an upgrade to 'master Robert ' with its amazing bathroom with roll top bath. Lovely three course dinner, chocolate brownie and mocha ice cream were outstanding. Bed super firm and comfy. Breakfast filled us up for the day. Very friendly staff. Would love to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RockInn, Manager at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your husband’s 40th birthday celebration. We are glad you enjoyed the room and dinner and that we able to help make the occasion special for you. We very much look forward to having you both back on many occasions in the future. More 

Hedge End, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent friendly welcome and very nice rooms, all modern conveniences but with traditional creaky floors and doors. A charming traditional country inn. The food and beer were excellent with some good local ales. We were entertaining some business guests and they had a great time. We will return

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RockInn, Manager at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us last week and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More 

Southwest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What can I say about this fabulous Inn? We booked 4 rooms for one night on the 29th Jan as we were entertaining clients. From the extremely warm welcome to the beautiful rooms, to the friendly bar staff to the excellent food and choice of drinks, everything was perfect. I love that the rooms are all named after racehorses... gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RockInn, Manager at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. It was a pleasure having yourself and your clients stay with us last week. We are glad you had such a nice evening and enjoyed everything the Inn has to offer on a very wintery January evening. It was no problem taking one of your guests home - I was concerned that taxis... More 

Topsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited on a Saturday, having visited about 3 years previously. Very little has changed. Nice old world feel in the bar and food was quite good. Bit disappointed as I thought £13 for fish and chips (not much fish but lots of batter) was a bit pricey!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RockInn, Manager at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback and for returning to visit us. We are glad that you enjoyed your lunch but are disappointed to hear that you felt the Fish & Chips was not good value. Your comments have been passed onto the kitchen regarding this very popular dish who will look into it - please accept our apologies... More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had roast beef meal and it was not very tasty and overpriced. Also not a lot of it cosidering it was 13.95. Seating too closed in and not enough space between other dinners. Staff very nice but overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RockInn, Manager at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your Sunday roast on your recent visit. Our roast beef is a sirloin which is not the cheapest cut but should be tender and succulent – we apologise if you felt this was not the case and if you contact me directly I will gladly refund... More 

Shaldon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Last visited 2 years ago and had fond memories. Maybe down to the fact that we had just moved to Devon and were consequently impressionable. Our visit this time was less satisfactory. Nothing dramatically wrong but we were left unimpressed. There was no vegetarian menu offered or advertised. My wife eats fish however but of the 4 fish dishes on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RockInn, Manager at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are sorry you were disappointed on your latest visit to us - all of your comments regarding the food and menu will of course be looked at by the kitchen team. I would however like to reply to a few points you raise. We do not have a vegetarian menu - we... More 

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

I have been to the Rock Inn many times over the years and it has really never let me down badly. It has an old world charm that keeps it unique and it must be understood that this is not achieved on a shoe string. We asked this time to be served in the Conservatory, as the last time we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We had a wonderful lunch here today. Family friendly, great atmosphere, warm country pub. Food was lovely. Will visit again soon. I would recommend this treasure on Dartmoor. Perfect location for walkers and riders.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RockInn, Manager at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Our location does make us unique in the Dartmoor National Park especially for walkers and riders and we always aim to provide a warm and cosy atmosphere for all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to many more in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Inn

Address: Haytor Vale, Haytor Vale, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Haytor Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rock Hotel Newton Abbot

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay