We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort

2643 IL 178, Utica, IL 61373
Hotel amenities
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utica
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Grizzly Jack\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
BULL VALLEY
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This resort is a good place for my family of four adult kids and their spouses or significant others. The villa is well appointed and comfortable. Water park and amusement area provide some diversion. But the real value was time with family, and not having one family have to host. Water park chlorine fumes were a little high in winter.... More 

Helpful?
Thank DEBORAH M
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked on a weekend web deal. Combined room rate with the free credits at the adventure park, we were amazed at what a great value it was. Perfect weekend winter getaway if you have young kids. I would also recommended stopping by Matthiessen for a fun nearby outing.

Helpful?
Thank mptrudeau
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for NYE in a luxury cabin for two days. Amenities were great. Pool was over-clorinated though, my kids developed a cough and burning eyes while at pool and shortly after. They did not want to return to the pool after the first trip to it. Separate facility for indoor amusements was fun though. Even for NYE is was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jay P
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked a weekend w/ the '2 for $222' special & later read many negative reviews which worried me, but we had a great kidcabin suite & our 2 boys who are 5 & 3 years old loved everything! No regrets except that we won't be back soon enough! We received 8 $15 cards for the amusement park upon check in... More 

Helpful?
Thank ymerej
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write such a GRAND review about your stay at our resort. We really do appreciate your input and always happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to your return in the near future. With Warmest Wishes, Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Resort More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we stayed in a villa with our kids and grandkids. That is what made the trip. We had some mishaps with the place but overall it was good. no heat, fire place didn't work but maintenance fixed it. The tv was fuzzy and the smoke detector beeped and the maintenance didn't fix that.

Helpful?
Thank Roxanne O
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time write your review. Your input is very important to us as we strive to excel in customer satisfaction. We apologize for any inconveniences that you and your family may have encountered during your stay here. We are happy that you did like your accommodations in our Vacation Villa. If you would like to... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I thought this resort had a no pets policy. However that doesn't seem to be the case. In building U there is a large dog. The least they could do is clean up the dog waste. Won't be returning. The Christmas lighting was nice.

Helpful?
Thank Itsa B
Princeton, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family had a very fun filled weekend. Lots of good memories made. We did this as a family Christmas get a way which the kids and grandkids thought was a good idea. The grandkids enjoyed the activities available in the amusement park. They had ones geared for the older kids which made for some friendly competition. The rock wall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marianna B
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write such a GRAND review about your stay at our resort. We really do appreciate your input and always happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We are especially happy to hear you and your family had fun at the indoor adventure park with Laser Tag, Rock Climbing Wall and Zip... More 

Cambridge, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our 4 year old had a blast here as did our nephews. Their enjoyment was the saving grace for the trip as the other reviewers' comments about the upkeep of the place is true. This place does need a little TLC. Our room was very dark...there was only one lamp and an over the sink light to provide lighting for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adamstep
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Over priced for the cabins/villas since they do not upkeep the maintenance on them.We had to call maintenance at least 5 times during our weekend. Our smoke detector went off at 3 am and was on a vaulted ceiling we could not reach and had to wait FIVE hours for maintenance to come fix it. We went to the breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob & Jana C
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for contacting us here at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort. Your input is very important to us as we strive to excel in customer service as our goal. In regards to your review we do take these concerns very seriously. If there is anything you would like to further discuss in regards to your stay please contact us... More 

Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was nervous to go after some of the bad reviews. I've decided you just can't please some people! You know you aren't going to Wisconsin Dells, so don't expect the same caliber of waterpark. The rooms were nice enough and clean. Not fancy, but what you needed and clean. We went with a group and had two rooms--one was the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A G
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your GRAND review. Your input is very important to us as we strive to excel in customer satisfaction. We apologize for any inconveniences that you and your family may have encountered during your stay here. We are happy that you did like your accommodations. If you would like to discuss this further, please email me at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

258 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (246)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (57)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.7 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/Starved Rock
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities