We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center

#1 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Route 178 & 71, Utica, IL 61373
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    97
    24
    18
    10
See reviews for
69
95
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (218)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose to stay in a king-bay-window room in the historic section of the lodge. This was a great choice as the room had tons of character and the bay window offered an extra area for a table and chairs. The bathroom was a little small, but that's to be expected in such a historic space. One thing I like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay. Can't really say why people were not in the Great Hall other than we have had months of rain and if you were here on a sunny day people probably were enjoying the outdoors. Have never had complaints about the lights or vending but will take it into consideration.... More 

Riverview, MI
Level Contributor
167 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want a tv with flawless reception and a big room, this is not for you. The tv is cable, but several of the channels are blurry, including FOX, which made watching the all-star game impossible. However, the wi-fi is great, never had a problem. There are not enough electric outlets, lights in the room, etc. for the modern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Michigan, Thanks so much for your review - we are in deed rustic in fact so rustic that we are on the National Historic Register. I would love to be able to update the rooms and outlets another such things but that would take away from the historic beauty of the place. I do hope to update the TV channel... More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only spent one night and we are not athletic people (hikers). We originally booked the trolley tour and the cruise with dinner after. The cruise was canceled due to high water but it didn't matter. The front desk staff were pleasant. We got a deal because we stayed on a Thursday night. It included a certificate for $15 off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Water is finally going down and we should have our boat cruises and other water related tours up and running soon. Thanks so much for choosing Starved Rock we hope to see you again soon. Happy Travels. More 

Peotone, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the lodge overnight for a wedding. The lodge is very rustic yet clean and comfortable. The kids LOVED the pool area, too. Staff was friendly. We didn't make it down for the breakfast buffet, but had lunch in the restaurant. Food was good, but service was a little slow. Overall good trip and nice place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, we're glad you had a good time and hope you enjoyed the wedding as well. More 

Milwaukee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family stayed here for a few days with extended family. The lodge and cabin options give you the opportunity to be close without all staying in the same space. The trails were great and the pool was nicer than expected. I appreciated the children's pool for my toddler. The food was great in the main dining room, shop, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay this past June but sorry to hear you had to wait for your food in the Main Dining Room. We are doing some re-training and working through a new menu in order to fix these issues. Thanks so much for the great review and we look forward to hosting you again soon. More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here on our anniversary and spent 2 nights in one of the cabins. They have a lovely rustic feel to them while still providing amenities and seclusion. Wonderful paths around the hotel. Our favorite part was the outside seating/eating area of the main restaurant. It overlooked a beautiful and scenic view! Make sure to eat there right around the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

The Veranda is a lovely spot for dinner or lunch. We also offer our Sunday Brunch on the Veranda and have a wide variety of outdoor music every weekend. So glad you enjoyed your visit and we do hope to see you soon. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015 via mobile

Perfect hotel or cabins to stay if planning a trip to Starved Rock. You may enter trails right behind the Starved Rock Restaurant. Had a wonderful time! We decided to stay our night at the hotel which was perfect. Great lunch and a pool for kiddies. A pool and hot tub for grown ups. Everyone was especially nice and made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Sandra, So glad you enjoyed your visit to Starved Rock hope to see you at the Lodge again soon. More 

Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015 via mobile

We booked 2 nights at the Starved Rock Lodge using the Golden Years Getaway package. You have to be age 60 and over and it's valid Sunday-Thursday nights. Price is $95 and includes a $15 breakfast voucher. Unfortunately, it's not available every month, so check their website. That said, we had a wonderful, relaxing time. We joined a free hike... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks so much for telling people to come to Starved Rock during the week! This is a great place to have a weekend experience on a week night. Not only because of the low crowds, hiking and the pool, but we also have dinner theater, wine and paint classes and a selection of historic trolley tours. Plus the best part,... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

We just stayed one night at the lodge in a hotel wing room and the room was huge. We loved the lodge and all the amenities. Even though there was flooding we spent an amazing day at Mathieson state park and an amazing night at Starved Rock Lodge. I sat on the deck to watch the sunset while listening to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Were so happy you enjoyed your visit to Starved Rock we too think it's a pretty special place. The flooding has put a damper on things but with our live music programs, dinner theater, paint and wine classes and the pool are there is still plenty here to keep people busy. We hope to see you again soon and until... More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Starved Rock Lodge and Park is a great spot to visit. The lodge is one of the old fashioned type built of logs in all the old sections. One of the CCC masterpieces. The Great Hall and the restaurant both have high dark ceilings and huge stone fireplaces. The park is on the bluffs above the Illinois River and has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. The Lodge is a wonder of historic architecture. I love inspecting the different rooms of the Lodge and discovering a new configuration - small room/large bath; huge room/tiny bath; bay window rooms and the like. We hope to see you again soon. Until then. Happy Travels. Amy T. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/Starved Rock
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay