We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Urbana hotels

Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 West University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X Points
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
80%
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Juanita47 Hurricane, West Virginia
  • Reviews (182)
  • Photos (43)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    52
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
71
15
15
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As a rule, I like Hamptons and usually try to stay there. The pros of this hotel - the staff was friendly and helpful, the room and bathroom were clean and the free breakfast was varied and good with both hot and cold items. We did have a little wait on check in but they explained they had a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize about the issue with the toilet not flushing properly in your rooms. We will address this issue. Thank you for staying with us. We loved having you here! More

Roseville, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel 2 times in a span a year between 2013-2014. Both times, the room conditions were fine except the bath tub condition was horrible. The water during shower would not flow at all and accumulates in the middle. Because the physical structure of the bath has big sink in the middle. I had to keep pushing... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and will look into the situation with the bathtub bowing the middle of the tub. Thank you for staying with us. More

Manhasset, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Hampton Inn-Urbana at least 10 times in the last 3 years while visiting my son at the U of I. The staff is always very professional and attentive to all of my needs. Upon arrival I have always been pleased by the appearance, amenities and cleanliness of my room. I highy... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. I'm glad you have found us to be your home away from home for the last 3 years while visiting your son at the University of Illinois. We love having you here! More

Lewistown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Clean & Friendly. Location great for campus visit. Plenty of parking for car. Staff was professional & Friendly. Hotel is very clean. Price compared to other hotels. Signed up for the rewards program.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am happy to hear that our hotel was clean and our staff was friendly. Welcome to the Hhonors program and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

encinitas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was my 3rd stay at the Urbana Hampton. It's comfortable, there's plenty of room, the breakfast is good, and the staff is friendly and helpful. I'll stay at the Urbana Hampton whenever I'm in town.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5 star review. We look forward to your 4th stay. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back. More

San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

if your main reason to travel is your family member starting school this is a great location. Hotel is pretty good too, great complimentary breakfast, always available hot coffee/tea. Would certainly pick it again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5 star review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to the Champaign/Urbana area. More

Barrington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Urbana is known to be a sketchy area. The Hampton was a default hotel as we were moving our college bound child into U of I. The Hampton was a pleasant surprise and the room was outstanding. Although we did not have the breakfast, we did look at it and it was very nice, not the the average 'here is... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review and staying with us during move in week. We look forward to your return. More

Shreveport, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

AC was noisy and would not cool room staff did nothing to fix problem when advised of issue bed was old and had a sag causing back ache in the morning. will not stay at this hampton again. staff in general helpful but all very young and could not answer questions about area for dinner or entertainment

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I will make sure to address the issues you encountered during your stay. More

Oregon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is located just north of the U of I campus. We walked to campus for a tour. However, the room smelly musty. I was surprised to find no exhaust vent in the bathroom. Also, the jets on the hot tub were not working.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you had a musty smell in your room. We do regularly deep clean rooms and clean our HVAC units to make sure we don't have odors like this. Thank you for the comments and appreciate your business. More

Evanston, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I made my reservation many months ago to help my daughter move into her dorm room. We learned just this week that the move in date was one day later. I tried to get the reservation pushed from Saturday to Sunday through Expedia. It was the hotels decision to allow the change with a penalty equal to the cost of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry our cancellation policy did not meet your needs. Your comments will help us to improve our policies and better serve our guests in the future. We hope you will consider staying with us again if you return to the area. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Address: 1200 West University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Urbana Hotel Urbana
Urbana Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana IL - Champaign-Urbana

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Urbana with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel is located conveniently across the street from the north side of the University of Illinois campus and 1 mile south of I74. We are a newly renovated property and our amenities include a hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool/whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Our hotel is a perfect location for your business meeting in the area or your sporting event on the weekend with a large lobby and meeting space. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
130

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer