We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road, Union, IL 60180
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chicago Northwest KOA
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

This was my first time with any K.O.A. We picked this place cause it was an hour from home and we wanted to see the Train Museum. When making our reservation, they really went out of way to get me and my friend close with each other. He has a 31 motorhome, and put him on a pull thru across... More 

Helpful?
Thank Briantheriverrat
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

We're so glad you were able to have an enjoyable time with us, and that you were able to be close to your friend. Our goal is to make sure everyone has a relaxing, great time. Thank you for your kind, detailed review, and we hope to see you again in the future! More 

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

The campsites are really expensive and not level. If you want a pad that is leveled you will have to pay premium prices. The value for money is not great and some areas like the mini-golf are getting run down. The park itself is well maintained and clean. The pool is small but clean and the staff were very friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsNCP
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do our best to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests and have already passed along your comments in the hopes that we can continue to improve our park. We hope you will return and give us another chance to impress and wish you all the... More 

deerfield beach, fla.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

We pulled in on a Monday, July, 27, and got a nice long pull through. Unfortunately these spaces are not at all level and we chose not to level, to avoid problems with the rig. The park is landscaped beautifully, lots of green manicured grass and flowers. These flowers can somehow get in the way if they are in large... More 

Helpful?
Thank tripalong-7
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

We're so glad you had a nice time with us. We certainly are in a great location with lots to do, and we're so happy you were able to enjoy some of it. Thank you for the kind review! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

This was the first KOA experience we have ever had and it was heads and tails above all of the campgrounds we have been to before. We stayed a week in one of the on-site trailers, and even though it was older, it was in excellent shape and clean. All of the grounds are very well kept and the owners... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill K
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful first KOA experience with us, Bill! Our goal is making sure our guests are cared for and happy. Thank you so much for your kind review! More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

My family stayed here for 4 nights at a campsite with electricity. The kids loved the pool, the playground, the volleyball net, the basketball hoop, the face painting (on Saturday), and the candy hunt. I thought the bathroom was clean and the people who worked there were friendly. They have a posted list of things that they update and take... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia328
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed all of our activities. We do our best to make sure everything is in top condition and looking beautiful! Thank you for your kind review! More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here while touring Chicago. We booked this campground over the Internet as we live 3000 km away. What a great place. Very clean sites and bathrooms and showers. Staff were very helpful and deliver your firewood if needed and fire pits do not cost extra $& like other koa. Train ride was just over a hour into downtown Chicago.

Helpful?
Thank Yousuck1515
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We do our best to make sure our guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay. Thank you for the kind review! More 

SanDiego
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

This is really a beautiful campground. It was very empty while I was there. We did have quite a bit of rain and the grounds were soaked. Camp Ground is one hour from Chicago and I was staying there visiting sites in Chicago. Everything is reached by toll road. I live in California so I didn't have the Ipass. It... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ElmoSanDiego
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our apologies for the rain during your stay, it is just one of those things we cannot control. We do have some toll roads on the way to Chicago and we'll try to do a better job of letting people know they are there. We'll also pass... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Overall I was happy with this KOA, but it really wasn't a favorite spot of mine. We camp in a 36' travel trailer, so we don't really rough it. The spots themselves were fine, we got full hookups, and a pull through site. The sites were a little close together, and in general were pretty noisy. Most of the sites... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle E
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review Lyle, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Chicago area. We apologize for the rain during your stay and that you didn't have a chance to enjoy some of our activities as a result. We do hope you have a great summer and come see us again soon! More 

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Sites are advertised as level and they are not. The site we were given was partly gravel, mostly mud. We had to put down a tarp to be able to avoid the mud. Yes, it was raining but there were several sites (we noticed after we set up) that had better drainage and no mud. The front desk was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. We do our best to make sure all of our sites are level and we constantly work hard to make sure they are graded properly. We do apologize that you were not completely satisfied and would have... More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015 via mobile

The grounds are very clean. Spaces are very close together. Just trying to cram as many RV's in as they can to make as much money as possible. They are extremely worried about money. Everything has a deposit. Paid before I ever got there...not a huge deal but from day 1 they wanted the 2nd months rent. Deposit for gate... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ccorley2009
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. Please accept our apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay, we didn't hear anything negative from you while you were here or we would have done our best to fix it. We do have deposits... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities