We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road, Union, IL 60180
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chicago Northwest KOA
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    10
    12
    3
    15
See reviews for
27
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The campsites are really expensive and not level. If you want a pad that is leveled you will have to pay premium prices. The value for money is not great and some areas like the mini-golf are getting run down. The park itself is well maintained and clean. The pool is small but clean and the staff were very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
deerfield beach, fla.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We pulled in on a Monday, July, 27, and got a nice long pull through. Unfortunately these spaces are not at all level and we chose not to level, to avoid problems with the rig. The park is landscaped beautifully, lots of green manicured grass and flowers. These flowers can somehow get in the way if they are in large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

This was the first KOA experience we have ever had and it was heads and tails above all of the campgrounds we have been to before. We stayed a week in one of the on-site trailers, and even though it was older, it was in excellent shape and clean. All of the grounds are very well kept and the owners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

My family stayed here for 4 nights at a campsite with electricity. The kids loved the pool, the playground, the volleyball net, the basketball hoop, the face painting (on Saturday), and the candy hunt. I thought the bathroom was clean and the people who worked there were friendly. They have a posted list of things that they update and take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Stayed here while touring Chicago. We booked this campground over the Internet as we live 3000 km away. What a great place. Very clean sites and bathrooms and showers. Staff were very helpful and deliver your firewood if needed and fire pits do not cost extra $& like other koa. Train ride was just over a hour into downtown Chicago.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanDiego
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

This is really a beautiful campground. It was very empty while I was there. We did have quite a bit of rain and the grounds were soaked. Camp Ground is one hour from Chicago and I was staying there visiting sites in Chicago. Everything is reached by toll road. I live in California so I didn't have the Ipass. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our apologies for the rain during your stay, it is just one of those things we cannot control. We do have some toll roads on the way to Chicago and we'll try to do a better job of letting people know they are there. We'll also pass... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Overall I was happy with this KOA, but it really wasn't a favorite spot of mine. We camp in a 36' travel trailer, so we don't really rough it. The spots themselves were fine, we got full hookups, and a pull through site. The sites were a little close together, and in general were pretty noisy. Most of the sites... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review Lyle, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Chicago area. We apologize for the rain during your stay and that you didn't have a chance to enjoy some of our activities as a result. We do hope you have a great summer and come see us again soon! More 

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Sites are advertised as level and they are not. The site we were given was partly gravel, mostly mud. We had to put down a tarp to be able to avoid the mud. Yes, it was raining but there were several sites (we noticed after we set up) that had better drainage and no mud. The front desk was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. We do our best to make sure all of our sites are level and we constantly work hard to make sure they are graded properly. We do apologize that you were not completely satisfied and would have... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

The grounds are very clean. Spaces are very close together. Just trying to cram as many RV's in as they can to make as much money as possible. They are extremely worried about money. Everything has a deposit. Paid before I ever got there...not a huge deal but from day 1 they wanted the 2nd months rent. Deposit for gate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. Please accept our apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay, we didn't hear anything negative from you while you were here or we would have done our best to fix it. We do have deposits... More 

Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

will be returning for sure. great family getaway. Sylvia is awesome! I didn't like a couple of things I didn't get at my favorite k o a . but they took note. I have to be honest I'm not your tip looking k o a customer and I can be kind of loud singing/music.. they got me a great cabin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union
4.5 mi away
Super 8 Hampshire
Super 8 Hampshire
#1 of 1 in Hampshire
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
16.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Belvidere
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
14.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
Comfort Suites Elgin
#3 of 8 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
12.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities