We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Ironbridge Coalport

Certificate of Excellence
High Street | Coalport, Coalport TF8 7HT, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Ironbridge Coalport
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

This is my first YHA in England and I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff are all very friendly and knowledgeable about the area (cycle/trek paths, things to do). I got in late on a rainy evening and ate at the on-site restaurant. Good service and delicious food. The self-catering kitchen is fully stocked (stove, microwave, refrig, pots, utensils), although... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clint K
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

we use this for school trips, its perfect located and a real gem! its a budget stay with great food and stunning scenery. would recommend to people wanting a simple base to explore the area. walking distance of three great pubs and restaurants too!

Helpful?
Thank MattOG73
Plymouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

After the initial surprise of arriving at a more rural setting than expected for this old industrial complex our wonder continued with the Staff Welcome and performance. Lee showed us to our room and offered to carry our bags, then after settling in our pleasant room we went down for tasty hot coffees served at our table. Customer Service in... More 

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
Thank telstarPlymouth
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this great feedback and for mentioning Lee in particular. I will make sure he sees this review and give him the credit he deserves. We look forward to meeting the grandchildren one day. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely overnight stay in this historic YHA. Building is lovely and unique. Never visited the area before and will definately be back for another visit as all the museums and attractions are within easy reach. Staff were very friendly. Kitchen and communal areas were well stocked and nice and clean. Didn't eat there but it looked very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

This is an ideal place to stay whilst visiting the Ironbridge Museums. We had a private en-suite room which was ideal. The only negative was the pressure on the shower was terrible although there was plenty of hot water. Also we don't agree with the positive discrimination towards children in the YHA pricing of private rooms such that a private... More 

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
1 Thank Horaceonholiday
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, with regards to your comments on pricing, YHA is a charity with a clear vision to reach out and enhance the lives of all young people,especially young people of limited means, by providing Youth Hostels or other accommodation for them in their travels. I hope this puts our pricing policy into context. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

Cannot recommend highly enough! We had our wedding reception in the function room, and Penny, Chris and all the staff were brilliant both throughout the planning stages, and during the actual event. Many many thanks go to them for making our day so special. Dave & Linda Dore

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you both for the fantastic write up, we're glad we could be part of your big day and help make it special. More 

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

Didn't actually stay here but did stop off for a cuppa in their cafe, We wanted tea for 2 at £2.50, but was charged £3 for 2 cups of tea. When we got these we were very disappointed as by the time we took the tea bag out we had about one mouthful of water left. we asked for some... More 

Helpful?
Thank sue f
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we do charge £1.50 per cup of tea and £2.50 for a pot for two. I would be happy to refund the 50p you were overcharged next time you pop in. We are also happy to top up tea pots or provide more hot water, I hope you will come and see us again soon. More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

This is a pretty good location with a couple of reasonable pubs in walking distance. The hostel was as you would expect from a YHA - clean and functional. I was a bit put off by the numbers of small children racing around making a lot of noise, especially in the evening in the lounge. There is a cafe with... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChelseaD51
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I will raise the issue you mentioned with bacon with staff. There is no limit to the amount of any of the breakfast items so it really is tremendous value at £5.25 More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

Just returned from a short break with my youngest, my first hostel stay in many years. Thoroughly impressed by the location, quality, cleanliness, food, service and value for money. Thought the food was amazing value especially as gluten free bread was provided for young Harrington. We had an en suite room for five and I think I may have persuaded... More 

Helpful?
Thank Virgin_Express
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback, and yes the sawing was to remove a fallen tree from the main road, it's normally very quiet here due to the semi rural location! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

We stayed in a family ensuite room, 5 beds made up of 2x bunk beds and 1x single. It was fantastic value (£49 for the night) and the room was very clean. Obviously the room was very basic (as one would expect from a hostel) but it suited our one night stop over perfectly. The whole place was very clean,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic feedback, I hope to see you again soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coalport
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shakespeare Inn
Shakespeare Inn
#2 of 22 in Telford
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
1.3 mi away
The Old Rectory at Broseley
0.7 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 4 in Jackfield
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay