We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
700 Courtyard Drive, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Special Offer
4th of July Savings!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
10
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel. Excellent experience. Hotel staff extremely friendly. I stay at least a couple times a month and the staff remembers me and what I like from what type of room to the how I like my food. Feels like a second home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments about our hotel and the staff. It is rewarding for us to recognize and take good care of our regular customers. I am very glad the staff knows you and your preferences and makes the hotel a second home for you. More 

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Made reservations for five. Called to change one from two nights to one, central reservations screwed it up and canceled the reservation. Never booking Marriott again. Always go with Hilton. Done!!! Front desk deserted, calling a manager. No manager on site, front desk not sure what to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that your reservation was cancelled instead of just changing your arrival date. If this was the case, you should have received a cancellation email from Marriott in advance, unless you booked through an external source such as Expedia or Priceline. If that was the case, we... More 

Versailles, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is OK. Not a WOW by any means. My room smelled like an ashtray!! I made it through the first night but complained the next morning. The placed an air filtering system in the room for the day. It helped not the next morning I noticed the odor was coming from the bothroom-sink-closet area. I assume someone (or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay with us. I am disappointed your room smelled like smoke. As you may know, Marriott hotels are all smoke free. Not only that, we charge a $250 fee to anyone that smokes in our rooms. I went to your room after you checked out, and didn't smell any smoke. I know... More 

Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We stayed here for three nights and were pretty pleased. The room was clean and fresh feeling; plenty of room for two people. The couch was odd, however. No matter how we configured ourselves, it just wasn't very inviting to sit upon. Later in the stay, we discovered that it was a pull-out bed, but it still lacked the "poofyness"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor about your wonderful stay at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time! More 

Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Stayed with family for long weekend while in town for a hockey tournament. Lobby, cafe and business area updates are very nice and the place was clean and looked great. Fitness room was small but well appointed and the machines are new and easy to use. Our room rate included breakfast each day and that was a tremendous value. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review

I am so pleased to hear about your experience last weekend. It was our pleasure hosting your group. All the players were so polite and well behaved! We hope your tournament returns again next year. We'd love to have you back. Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about the hotel on Trip Advisor. More 

Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Courtyard. Our room was clean, very pretty and newly re-done. The staff was friendly and helpful. I loved the main area where you could sit by the fire, get a glass of wine or sit with friends. The breakfast was good, but not like other courtyards where you make a waffle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am so glad to hear that you like our renovated rooms. We are very happy with them. It's also nice of you to comment on our great staff. I am very proud of my crew. Your comment about the dark room is true and we get that a lot. Our... More 

Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We stayed one night Saturday to Sunday in a double queen room on the front side of the building. We chose the hotel for the location as we needed to go to Pheasant Run for a competition on Sunday am. It was also convenient to the restaurant we were going to in St Charles. There weren't many cars in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for sending your review to Trip Advisor. We often get guests at our hotel with an event at the Pheasant Run. Being off the main road, we can offer our guests a very quiet and relaxing stay. I am very glad to hear that you found our double queen room very comfortable for your party of four. Queen... More 

Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

While this is a typical Courtyard, the staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is not included in the rate. However, the offerings are moderately priced with good variety. Guests can order anything from a simple yogurt or bagel up to a full egg and/or pancake breakfast. The Bistro offerings in the evening are a bit scant, however, there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to share your positive experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. Many hotels can offer clean and comfortable accommodations. The staff at a hotel can turn a good visit into a great visit. I am glad my staff does that at our hotel. I'm very proud of them and their dedication to making our hotel... More 

Lancaster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. There was a 1/2 fridge and coffee pot but no microwave. Bathroom counter was just a wee bit cramped. The mattress seemed to have some sort of memory-foam topper that held your body heat against you. Some people would like this but it made the menopausal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for nice comments about the staff and our clean hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a very relaxing and comfortable stay with us. We appreciate that you shared your experience on Trip Advisor. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Ocala, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We stayed here for a few days while visiting family for Thanksgiving. This is a very quiet location which I loved (no interstate noise) nearby is Walmart & IHOP. There is no breakfast included but they do have a small bistro on site although a bit pricey. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. Employees were friendly and efficient. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay over Thanksgiving weekend. We know the holidays are very important to our customers, and I am so glad to hear my staff made your stay extremely pleasant. Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
0:24
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay