We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Springfield Koa

4320 Koa Rd, Rochester, IL 62563
Springfield Koa
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    4
    3
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I took an 8 year old, a 5 year old, and my two year old to this campground. I have stayed at many KOAs and our experience is always pleasant. The people that work at KOAs usually go overboard to be pleasant to everyone they meet. Not here! When we got there there was a woman in a yellow shirt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay and will pass along your comments in the hopes that we can make our campground better for future campers. We'll make sure to go over proper cleaning procedures with our housekeeping staff again to make sure they double... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is close to springfield for day trips (Lincoln sites). The pool is fine and nice to swim in. Lots of low areas where puddles formed making it very muddy around camp (need to fix drainage). Sites are small not set up well, our camper had half site behind, half in front.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our apologies that you were not completely satisfied during your recent stay with us. We do our best to make sure everyone leaves with a smile and although we can't control the rain we do try hard everywhere else. We hope you'll give us another chance if... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rochester hotels

Berrien Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived very late on a Wednesay night/Thursday am so we couldn't see just how pretty it was until the next day. Then, when we hooked our little Forest River r-pod up to the water, we ended up with a "fountain" in the bathroom. The next morning, we had to use their bathroom and shower facilities. They were very clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sonyaandfamily
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015 via mobile

This campground is in the country and is nice enough with big trees and mostly level lots. The bathrooms are clean and the playground was nice for the kids. I've been to better campgrounds and I've been to alot worse ones. I would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent visit to the Springfield area! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our campground and hope to see you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

We camped here for 3 nights mid week. We found the campground to be very well maintained and pretty. The pool was sparkling clean and our grandkids spent about 20 hours in it over a 3 day period! The grounds were very well kept and attractive. They have a bounce pillow, trikes and mini-golf for an extra fee, $5 per... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent trip to the Springfield area! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the park, the bathrooms and the other amenities. Our apologies on the site location, we would have done everything we could to move you closer if you had let us know about your husbands knee during... More 

Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

This may be a strange review, because we've never actually stayed at this KOA, but they get 5 stars for customer service. We looked up Springfield KOA and talked with Linda to make reservations. The phone connection was poor and kept disconnecting (we were traveling in a very rural area with bad or no reception) but she kept calling back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this review

Thanks for almost staying with us Deb! If you are ever in the Springfield (Illinois) area be sure to stop by and see us. Until then all the best and safe travels! More 

Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
256 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We were very disappointed at this KOA. The sites were nice, but the bathrooms leave much to be desired! The water smelled horribly of bleach & after our showers, that's how we smelled!! Our showers were very low pressure, and only warm. I had filled our water bottles for inside the truck and ended up dumping them out because of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our campground uses well water for both drinking and the showers due to our location. Unfortunately, local regulations force us to 'shock' the water to prevent anything unsafe in the water regardless of whether it is there or not. We typically do this late at night and distribute bottled... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

The Springfield/Rochester KOA is an established owner operated campground with a lot for the kids to do and improvements that we like to see. There is WiFi and cable tv hookups that makes it seem less out of the 50s. The bath/shower rooms are clean with good pressure and heat. The pool is clear, the put put and bikes are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenview, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

My family and I have stayed twice at this KOA. The campground is very quite even with all the children and people walking their pets. We have met and made new friends. Everyone there is very nice. LINDA AND GLEN are so helpful and accommodating. One of them are usually on the golf cart making rounds to check on their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
332 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We read the other reviews and were hesitant to stay. This is a quiet campground, our check in was great. Our cabin was clean. They were having a company work on the wifi while we were there. Bathrooms were clean but need to be updated, missing tile etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our campground is very quiet and peaceful, one of the main reasons many of our guests choose to stay. We also recently improved our wireless internet to make it faster and continue to make tweaks here and there. We will pass along your comments regarding the tiles in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
8.4 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
5.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 40 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities