We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Springfield Koa

4320 Koa Rd, Rochester, IL 62563
Springfield Koa
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
12
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Canton, Georgia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This may be a strange review, because we've never actually stayed at this KOA, but they get 5 stars for customer service. We looked up Springfield KOA and talked with Linda to make reservations. The phone connection was poor and kept disconnecting (we were traveling in a very rural area with bad or no reception) but she kept calling back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this review

Thanks for almost staying with us Deb! If you are ever in the Springfield (Illinois) area be sure to stop by and see us. Until then all the best and safe travels! More 

Zeeland, Michigan
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
49 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We were very disappointed at this KOA. The sites were nice, but the bathrooms leave much to be desired! The water smelled horribly of bleach & after our showers, that's how we smelled!! Our showers were very low pressure, and only warm. I had filled our water bottles for inside the truck and ended up dumping them out because of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our campground uses well water for both drinking and the showers due to our location. Unfortunately, local regulations force us to 'shock' the water to prevent anything unsafe in the water regardless of whether it is there or not. We typically do this late at night and distribute bottled... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

The Springfield/Rochester KOA is an established owner operated campground with a lot for the kids to do and improvements that we like to see. There is WiFi and cable tv hookups that makes it seem less out of the 50s. The bath/shower rooms are clean with good pressure and heat. The pool is clear, the put put and bikes are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenview, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

My family and I have stayed twice at this KOA. The campground is very quite even with all the children and people walking their pets. We have met and made new friends. Everyone there is very nice. LINDA AND GLEN are so helpful and accommodating. One of them are usually on the golf cart making rounds to check on their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tampa, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
79 hotel reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We read the other reviews and were hesitant to stay. This is a quiet campground, our check in was great. Our cabin was clean. They were having a company work on the wifi while we were there. Bathrooms were clean but need to be updated, missing tile etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our campground is very quiet and peaceful, one of the main reasons many of our guests choose to stay. We also recently improved our wireless internet to make it faster and continue to make tweaks here and there. We will pass along your comments regarding the tiles in the... More 

Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Clean buildings and grounds though the main building smelled of a lot of mold and the mini-golf course was full of weeds. We only wish that the staff could have been kinder. The operator, Stan, seemed cranky with everyone and was rude even when he seemed to feel he was being funny. We came to relax and he had many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We listen to all the feedback we get from campers and do our best to improve wherever we can so we appreciate your comments. We do our best to keep up the appearance of the campground but there are always opportunities to make it even better so thank you... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It took a bit to find the campground as it out of the way, but that's a very good thing. Who wants to camp looking at an Interstate Highway? There is only one set of showers/bathrooms but they are a short walk from any site. They don't charge for kids, but pay the $4 for a wristband that gets a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

All other reviews seem to love or hate this place, so we had no idea what to expect. We have stayed at KOAs in IA, CO, NV, UT and NE, so we are familiar with what the "norm" is for KOAs, and we felt like this one fit right in. This is the first time we have stayed at a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CHAMPAIGN
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

So pleased to find the new Kamp K-9! The Granddog loved exploring the fenced in area created just for her! The WiFi has been upgraded! A strong signal and fast! It is very nice to have Cable TV at every full hook-up campsite! It was a beautiful weekend, weather wise. The campground was full. There were many children enjoying the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

the owners here are very rude and I had to tell them several times to not yell at my kidsmind you my kids are not bad kids they are straight a students I noticed that this place and the owners were yelling at all of the kids rudely this place used to be filled up during holidays I've been told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
springfieldKoa, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this review

this is kim again, I know I spoke with you personally once already but again I just want to take a moment to reach out to you and give you a sincere apology. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities