We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Flamingo Bay Water Lodge

Inhambane | Inhambane, Mozambique
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    54
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
16
138
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (185)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent two nights at Flamingo and were warmly received by Conrad. Both Conrad and Luis went out of their way to assist my wife who had become ill before we even arrived at the lodge. The staff make this somewhat faded gem sparkle even more. The location of the lodge is perfect and kayaking is a must. Rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraInhambane, online marketing at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We love hearing such great feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again :-) More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a Romantic getaway. Our anniversary was on the 15th of May and must say was a highlite off the past 20 years. We were treated with a Beach Buffet at Barra on the day off our arrival. Great food. Just a pitty when we came back to Flamingo had a group at the bar and was served by Conrad.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraInhambane, Online marketing at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Jaco Thanks for your message, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and congratulations again on your anniversary. Conrad had his hands full and dealt with it as he good as he could. We will in future try to separate large groups from other guests to make it pleasant for everyone. Thanks again for your kind words... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at the Lodge and we warmly welcomed, which was nice. Our Catamaran cruise which was scheduled for that evening was cancelled until the next evening, which we surmised was due to the fact that the kitchen was closed and off we went to Barra for dinner. The place is in serious need of maintenance. The golf carts aren't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraInhambane, Online marketing at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Candy Thanks for your feedback which we appreciate and will use for future changes. Sorry to hear everything was not perfect, we will certainly make sure there right for you next visit. Your group and yourself were a real festive lot and we enjoyed having you with us. We will check with the airline what the delay was... More 

South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I spent our anniversary at this romantic hotel. It was perfect! Staff are kind and helpful. The meals were ideal. I wish the weather was a bit warmer and the beach, a little closer - but I'm being petty! The lack of technology also helps to really get away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraInhambane, Online marketing at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We love hearing from our guests are pleased that you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary at Flamingo. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We traveled for a break away and was super impressed. Te manager Conrad and his team spared no expense to make our trip a memorable experience. The dinners was excellent and compare with some of the best 5 star facilities i have visited in the past. I would recommend this to any one and will myself return soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraInhambane, Online marketing at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We love hearing from our guests and are happy that our team made your experience memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We travelled to Flamingo in April. Would like to thank all the Staff and The Manager Conrad. Food was amazing. And the Crayfish was to die for. All and all a Awesome getaway and stay at the Famous Flamingo. Thank You

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraInhambane, Online marketing at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review. We love hearing positive feedback from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Flamingo one day :-) More 

Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

If I could give them more than 5 stars I would time and time again! We went to Flamingo Bay from the 7th to the 10th of April 2015 and we have absolutely nothing bad to say at all. the staff were amazing and so helpful - especially Conrad. They couldn't do enough for us and always with a smile.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraInhambane, Online marketing at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly, Congratulations on your engagement - Flamingo Bay is such a romantic place - perfect for this occasion. Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased to have made your stay so amazing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Flamingo. All the best with your wedding and honeymoon preparations. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from a fabulous 4 nights at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge. The experience exceeded all our expectations. We were particularly taken by the generosity of spirit of all the staff and the serene location. Wished we could have stayed longer! We were treated to fresh local seafood and a surprise effort was made to celebrate one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BarraInhambane, Online marketing at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Katharine and Ant Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love hearing from our guests and especially love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime. More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We had 6 nights here and wished we had been able to stay longer. Conrad and all the staff, especially our waiter, Paulino, could not have done more to make our stay special. Although initially disappointed we did not have a 'sunset' facing room, we found our room (10) suited us better as it had such a beautiful and ever-changing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Carol and Andy Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We love hearing from our guests and we are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you soon again! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Just got back from a 4 day romantic getaway.We had a fantastic time the food is brilliant and we feel like our souls have been rejuvenated. The food is brilliant and we were treated to a suprise on valentines evening. You have a soup,entre,a main course and a desert every night.The breakfasts were good an I reccomend the omellettes with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Keith and Boudine, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love hearing from our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Flamingo and look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (200)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities