We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Flamingo Bay Water Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Inhambane | Inhambane, Mozambique
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    53
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
133
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (179)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If I could give them more than 5 stars I would time and time again! We went to Flamingo Bay from the 7th to the 10th of April 2015 and we have absolutely nothing bad to say at all. the staff were amazing and so helpful - especially Conrad. They couldn't do enough for us and always with a smile.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a fabulous 4 nights at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge. The experience exceeded all our expectations. We were particularly taken by the generosity of spirit of all the staff and the serene location. Wished we could have stayed longer! We were treated to fresh local seafood and a surprise effort was made to celebrate one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraInhambane, Online marketing at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Katharine and Ant Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love hearing from our guests and especially love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime. More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We had 6 nights here and wished we had been able to stay longer. Conrad and all the staff, especially our waiter, Paulino, could not have done more to make our stay special. Although initially disappointed we did not have a 'sunset' facing room, we found our room (10) suited us better as it had such a beautiful and ever-changing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Carol and Andy Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We love hearing from our guests and we are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you soon again! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Just got back from a 4 day romantic getaway.We had a fantastic time the food is brilliant and we feel like our souls have been rejuvenated. The food is brilliant and we were treated to a suprise on valentines evening. You have a soup,entre,a main course and a desert every night.The breakfasts were good an I reccomend the omellettes with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Keith and Boudine, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love hearing from our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Flamingo and look forward to welcoming you back. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We spent 4 nights at Flamingo bay. We were met by Conrad already at arrival and he carried our bags to reception and later to our room. What awesome service,because no porter was insight. We were met every morning with a warm welcome and a smile. This could not last,i told my partner but instead it just got better. After... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Melonie Thank you for the wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Look forward to welcoming you back one day! Cheers, The Flamingo Team More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We came here for drinks and lunch as I remembered this place as spectacular and we thought of maybe spending a night or 2 here. I'm glad we came for lunch first, as the most welcoming person was the security guard at the parking area (He was really nice), everyone else made you feel unwelcome. You could see the manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ruan Thanks for your support and passing on your experience, we are not happy to hear that the service did not meet your expectation and we apologise. Being out of season now, we are implementing some review training and believe it will show in near future. Thanks again. More 

WINDHOEK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

The website should be updated!!! The harsh sun has faded the wood, but I believe maintenance will start after the holiday season. Food was good, and dinners were great. The waiters need training, but Management (Conrad) was very friendly and went out of his way to help us out of a sticky situation. It is quiet and one must do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Nidia Thanks a lot for your review and rating, we appreciate all your feedback and tips. We are very glad Conrad was able to help you with your problem. We have our staff now double check that all formalities are met at the airport when collecting guests. We hope to see you and your family again in our... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We spent our honeymoon here during December 2014 and was looking forward to the idyllic pictures seen on their website of a 4-star resort. Sadly it was no more than a run-down at best 3-star resort. Seems no maintenance is being done. The woodwork is faded, the pool needs resurfacing, our bungalow steps and handrail down to the water missing,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Steven Thanks for your feedback, we have read your notes and are sorry to hear all was not well. We will certainly look at all the points and make constant improvements. We do hope on your next visit you will see the difference and new upgrades we are making. Your points on airport have been sent to the... More 

Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I spent a week here in November 2014, and though the setting is nice my trip was overshadowed by the complete lack of proactive management. I had wrongly assumed that once I had arrived the management and staff would try to cater to the guest's needs, but essentially all the managers did was offer small talk and platitudes. More on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Diverdoc Thank you for report. We appreciate your feedback and have taken note of your observations. We will certainly take constructive action to see where our pitfalls are and ensure that they are remedied. We certainly hope on your next visit you will see the difference and get a chance to see whalesharks. More 

Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Overall a very pleasant and memorable experience. Staff friendly and helpful. Evening dinners fantastic. Service although friendly was a wee bit erratic at times. The accommodation was good and most interesting with the water lapping around it especially at high tide.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Frank, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate positive feedback. We hope to see you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (200)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question