We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 81 Inhambane Province accommodations

Bamboozi Beach Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bamboozi Beach Lodge to your Saves list
101 Coconut Drive | Praia de Tofo, Mozambique
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (61)
  • Photos (77)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • More
Bamboozi Beach Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
5
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's beachfront placement is just about the biggest and only real advantage of Bamboozi. We couldn't find room in the dorm, so we took one of the huts, which proved pretty uninspiring and damp. It's also "half-a-day's" walk from the main market, which is a great inconveniance. Spend a few nights there in mid-2010.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I absolutely loved my time at Bamboozi Beach Lodge. (It says June 2013, but I was there in 2009). I stayed in a bamboo beach hut on stilts with 3 other backpackers, the showers were built in to drain through the floor. The coastline is breathtaking. I took my PADI Open Water and was spoilt with the underwater life! I've... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Tofu, Inhambane is the most magical place on Earth! Bamboozi was wonderful, friendly staff, comfortable and clean accommodation, great bar and food. Lots to do and the diving is absolutely awesome! Best to have a vehicle with you (4x4 recommended) as then you can visit the other attractions nearby. Bamboozi is just outside of Tofu and a visit to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
centurion
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just came back from a weeks stay at Bamboozi. We booked the main dorm that sleeps 14adults. Bamboozi is ideal for the young at heart travelers looking for a place to rest. The dorms are clean and basic and the bathrooms are clean. What more does a backpacker need when travelng in Mozambique. We even had warm water. There is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bamboozi and the Mozambique vibe in and around Tofo. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future... More

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first stop on our 1 month-long backpacking trip trough southern Africa. We flew from Stockholm to Maputo, the capital of Mozambique, and then took a bus from there up to Praia de Tofo. The bus ride took about 6 hours, and was... not awesome, of course, but not horrible! The Bamboozi Beach Lodge suited us just fine,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bamboozi. The town of Tofo is certainly an attractive option for those looking for a little "fun in the sun" More

Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I don't think Bamboozi's is well-equipped for backpacking types. We stayed in the basic dorms, and weren't provided with a blanket or pillow: just a bare bed to sleep on. I thought this was a bit ridiculous since every other backpackers I've ever stayed in gives you a pillow/blanket at least. It's also a decent walk from town through the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraResorts, General Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for raising your concerns which we have noted and will look into. More

Travelers are raving about these Inhambane Province hotels

Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We camped here in October and really did not enjoy it at all, if we didn't arrive so late, then we would not have stayed here, but unfortunately it was getting dark, so we decided to bite the bullet and set up camp. We were sent to a "campsite" that was surrounded by beach huts - luckily they weren't occupied... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We will certainly take your concerns up with management. More

Johannesburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

You cannot see the see or beach from the main camp/lodge only from the restaurant and some of the cabins. The lights were not always working. However, the staff and manager Alberto were very helpfull and friendly. Restaurant never had ice during our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Most of the accommodation at Bamboozi is set behind the dunes and offers shelter from the wind however the views from the bar and some of the accommodation units do offer superb views over the ocean. Bamboozi runs on a generator and for this reason electricity is not always on. More

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend in October 2011 when backpacking around Africa for 5 months and we have very fond memories of the Bamboozi Beach Lodge in Tofo. Very friendly staff (we had a small issue with an onward bus booking and the owner lady - think she was South African if I remember well - was very helpful). We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Its been a while since you visited. Maybe time for another visit to Mozam...and Bamboozi Lodge...and very please you enjoyed your stay More

George, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

During a recent camping trip in Mozambique, we opted to set up camp under the coconut trees at Bamboozi Beach Lodge near Tofo. The camp, consisting of backpackers bungalows, chalets and 4 camp sites, is situated behind a dune and within easy walking distance from the village and markets for buying your daily fresh seafood. The bathrooms offer showers only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bamboozi as it does offer a special setting and vibe. The spontaneous atmosphere with young people having fun is great to experience and this is of course what backpackers are all about. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bamboozi Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bamboozi Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboozi Beach Lodge

Address: 101 Coconut Drive | Praia de Tofo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bamboozi Beach Hotel Inhambane
Bamboozi Beach Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Inhambane Province with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bamboozi Beach Lodge is hidden in the center of a coconut grove next to a stretch of a untouched beach and surrounded by rural villages; this eco-friendly backpackers/beach lodge is built entirely from natural materials. Endless summer days can be spent in the cool Indian Ocean. When it is time to take a sun or sea break lay claim to a hammock and just relax. Bamboozi Beach Lodge style nights include untamed parties, but those who would rather sit on a balcony and watch the moonrise while counting fireflies and shooting stars, can do just that. Bamboozi Beach Lodge provides mozzie nets and linen. Camping amongst palms, a guest kitchen, braai areas and hot water showers. RESTAURANT & BAR. The Bamboozi Restaurant & Bar is situated on top of the dunes with spectacular views of the ocean and coastline. The Restaurant opens for breakfast and closes when the last guest leaves the Bar. There is an a-la-carte menu offering an array of dishes from fresh seafood platters made on request and delectable deserts. Daily specials are served! Enjoy a cold beer or a cocktail on the deck while watching beginner surfers finding their balance! It is also a great whale watching spot during August & September. Bamboozi has his own on site PADI dive resort center run by professional staff of Liquid Adventures Diving, offering snorkel safaris (dive with the largest fish in the ocean; the whaleshark), fundives with full rental of equipment and courses of all levels available. Our area is fast becoming famous for the resident Mantas, Whale sharks, Dolphins, Turtles and Humpback whales. LIVE THE DREAM!! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
76

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bamboozi Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer