We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Ottawa hotels

Econo Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   510 E. Etna Rd., Ottawa, IL 61350
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
14%
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    8
    6
    22
See reviews for
6
13
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night with my family. The hotel rooms were decent with the exception of a large stain on one of the chairs that really grossed me out. There is no pool which my three year old was bummed out about. The continental breakfast was not very good. There was not a big selection- cereal, waffles and muffins.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More

Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do not stay here. I booked this hotel for the Super Sparten race being held nearby and it was the only hotel with openings. It lives up to its #7 out of 7 hotel rating. One word to sum it up: DISGUSTING! The front desk was staffed by an Indian couple who were beyond rude! The man even called our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. You have Reservation on line from expidia one bed one people, and you have four adult in room So front desk explain you we allowed two people in one bed not four people. On behalf of our entire team,... More

Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights at the Econo Lodge in Ottawa. We checked in was assigned a room. As we were settling in we found we had an uninvited guest in our room, a cute little mouse. My wife did not care to share the room with our little friend, so I requested a different room. The manager was very polite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!... More

LeClaire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Get there about 1:30 pm just to see if we can check in a bit early so we can drop off our things before hitting the state parks. Was flat out told no and was told a room won't be ready till 3. Which is fine, check in isn't till that time anyways, was just curious. We head out and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my husband because he needed a location close to the job site he was working on. Big mistake!!! I booked online thru the choicehotels site. When my husband checked in the owner, who was running the front desk wanted to charge him $30 more than what I booked the room for online. The guy argued... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More

witchita
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

When I first walked into Econolodge, i was fairly impressed. Theyre renovating and apologized for it immediately. I stayed the night in a room that desperately needed upgrades (my comforter had cigarette burns in it) & down the hall i could hear a dog barking. There was a sign at the front desk that said no pets, but i guess... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More

Midland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I am an employee through a big company and was very impressed when I walked in the Econolodge. It is in a good location, close to stores, gas stations, and food is near-by as well. The front desk attendant was very friendly and offered to help in any way possible to make my stay enjoyable. The "under construction" sign was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Miah, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
55 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were attending the local wine and jazz festival and didn't want to spend a fortune, so we booked the Econo Lodge as we have stayed with this brand before and find them adequate. When we arrived we were pleased by the redecorating that is taking place in the lobby. The clerk was very friendly when we checked in. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our on line survey regarding your recent stay our hotel your feed back is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable exprience for each of our guest. We hope see you again soon General Manager Pravin... More

USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed for two nights and found this hotel to be OK. There was a sign that mentioned they are upgrading but until that happens you can expect well worn rooms that are clean but stained/worn. The stay included a minimal continental breakfast. The room had a refrigerator and microwave. It looked out over a cornfield so it was quiet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our on line survey regarding your recent stay our hotel your feed back is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable exprience for each of our guest. We hope see you again soon General Manager Pravin... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Woke up this morning to find end table alive and crawling with hundreds of ants. Bathroom floor and walls covered with ants. From now on I will choose hotels I stay in with more scrutiny. Could not wait to get out of here. The price seemed fair when I checked in but I did not know I would be sharing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

On behalf of Choice Property Hotels and as Property Manager first all I give my deepest apologies for the experience you had at my property. It saddened me that you had problem with exterminator in your room, Exterminator company inspect all room every month and required services.however this being brought to my attention I would like to correct this with... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 510 E. Etna Rd., Ottawa, IL 61350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ottawa

9 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay