We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Ottawa hotels

Econo Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   510 E. Etna Rd., Ottawa, IL 61350
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
15%
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    7
    5
    21
See reviews for
6
12
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
LeClaire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Get there about 1:30 pm just to see if we can check in a bit early so we can drop off our things before hitting the state parks. Was flat out told no and was told a room won't be ready till 3. Which is fine, check in isn't till that time anyways, was just curious. We head out and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my husband because he needed a location close to the job site he was working on. Big mistake!!! I booked online thru the choicehotels site. When my husband checked in the owner, who was running the front desk wanted to charge him $30 more than what I booked the room for online. The guy argued... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More

witchita
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

When I first walked into Econolodge, i was fairly impressed. Theyre renovating and apologized for it immediately. I stayed the night in a room that desperately needed upgrades (my comforter had cigarette burns in it) & down the hall i could hear a dog barking. There was a sign at the front desk that said no pets, but i guess... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More

Midland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I am an employee through a big company and was very impressed when I walked in the Econolodge. It is in a good location, close to stores, gas stations, and food is near-by as well. The front desk attendant was very friendly and offered to help in any way possible to make my stay enjoyable. The "under construction" sign was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Miah, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
55 hotel reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were attending the local wine and jazz festival and didn't want to spend a fortune, so we booked the Econo Lodge as we have stayed with this brand before and find them adequate. When we arrived we were pleased by the redecorating that is taking place in the lobby. The clerk was very friendly when we checked in. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our on line survey regarding your recent stay our hotel your feed back is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable exprience for each of our guest. We hope see you again soon General Manager Pravin... More

USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed for two nights and found this hotel to be OK. There was a sign that mentioned they are upgrading but until that happens you can expect well worn rooms that are clean but stained/worn. The stay included a minimal continental breakfast. The room had a refrigerator and microwave. It looked out over a cornfield so it was quiet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our on line survey regarding your recent stay our hotel your feed back is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable exprience for each of our guest. We hope see you again soon General Manager Pravin... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Woke up this morning to find end table alive and crawling with hundreds of ants. Bathroom floor and walls covered with ants. From now on I will choose hotels I stay in with more scrutiny. Could not wait to get out of here. The price seemed fair when I checked in but I did not know I would be sharing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

On behalf of Choice Property Hotels and as Property Manager first all I give my deepest apologies for the experience you had at my property. It saddened me that you had problem with exterminator in your room, Exterminator company inspect all room every month and required services.however this being brought to my attention I would like to correct this with... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Over all not a bad experience. Breakfast was like any other hotel breakfast with the muffins and waffle maker and juices. The rooms were clean and the room I was in smelled good, no smell at all. The bed wasn't horrible either. All in all for the 13 hours I was in Ottawa the hotel was worked out good. Now... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear, guest Thank you for choosing Econo Lodge for your recent stay in Ottawa. we'd be grateful appreciated for your review on Trip Advisor. our guest often tell us how helpful it is. Again thank you much More

Midland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

After driving for many hours exausted to the limit and not wanting to travel further decided to get a room for the night, all of the Hotels were booked except Econo Lodge. When I first walked into the lobby noticed immediately cleanliness,colorful and very nice and professional front desk person.They were able to get me the room type requested with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write a review for our hotel. We all appreciate your review a lot. We hope to see you in the near future. More

Midway, Arkansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't believe it they would not honor choice privileges reservation they said it was wrong. We called Choice corporate and they said I was right but the the hotel said they don't care and they asked me to leave! They were rude, incredibly unprofessional and I will never ever stay there again I recommend highly to avoid this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

On behalf of Choice Property Hotels and as Property Manager first all I give my deepest apologies for the experience you had at my property. It saddened me that you had problem with reservations and we(Hotel) could not resolve that issue, however this being brought to my attention I would like to correct this with you (guest) and regain your... More

Do you own or manage Econo Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 510 E. Etna Rd., Ottawa, IL 61350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ottawa

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay