We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
510 E. Etna Rd., Ottawa, IL 61350
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Econo Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ottawa
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    8
    6
    23
See reviews for
6
13
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I arrived at the hotel earlier than check in time (3pm) and as there were NO cars in the parking lot I thought they would probably have my room ready. The man at the front desk was very rude and said to come back at 3pm. I was a little irritated at this as I had driven all night long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my family. The hotel rooms were decent with the exception of a large stain on one of the chairs that really grossed me out. There is no pool which my three year old was bummed out about. The continental breakfast was not very good. There was not a big selection- cereal, waffles and muffins.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More 

Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Do not stay here. I booked this hotel for the Super Sparten race being held nearby and it was the only hotel with openings. It lives up to its #7 out of 7 hotel rating. One word to sum it up: DISGUSTING! The front desk was staffed by an Indian couple who were beyond rude! The man even called our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. You have Reservation on line from expidia one bed one people, and you have four adult in room So front desk explain you we allowed two people in one bed not four people. On behalf of our entire team,... More 

Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Econo Lodge in Ottawa. We checked in was assigned a room. As we were settling in we found we had an uninvited guest in our room, a cute little mouse. My wife did not care to share the room with our little friend, so I requested a different room. The manager was very polite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!... More 

LeClaire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Get there about 1:30 pm just to see if we can check in a bit early so we can drop off our things before hitting the state parks. Was flat out told no and was told a room won't be ready till 3. Which is fine, check in isn't till that time anyways, was just curious. We head out and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I booked this hotel for my husband because he needed a location close to the job site he was working on. Big mistake!!! I booked online thru the choicehotels site. When my husband checked in the owner, who was running the front desk wanted to charge him $30 more than what I booked the room for online. The guy argued... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More 

witchita
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

When I first walked into Econolodge, i was fairly impressed. Theyre renovating and apologized for it immediately. I stayed the night in a room that desperately needed upgrades (my comforter had cigarette burns in it) & down the hall i could hear a dog barking. There was a sign at the front desk that said no pets, but i guess... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear , Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More 

Midland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I am an employee through a big company and was very impressed when I walked in the Econolodge. It is in a good location, close to stores, gas stations, and food is near-by as well. The front desk attendant was very friendly and offered to help in any way possible to make my stay enjoyable. The "under construction" sign was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Miah, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
59 hotel reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were attending the local wine and jazz festival and didn't want to spend a fortune, so we booked the Econo Lodge as we have stayed with this brand before and find them adequate. When we arrived we were pleased by the redecorating that is taking place in the lobby. The clerk was very friendly when we checked in. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our on line survey regarding your recent stay our hotel your feed back is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable exprience for each of our guest. We hope see you again soon General Manager Pravin... More 

USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed for two nights and found this hotel to be OK. There was a sign that mentioned they are upgrading but until that happens you can expect well worn rooms that are clean but stained/worn. The stay included a minimal continental breakfast. The room had a refrigerator and microwave. It looked out over a cornfield so it was quiet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KULINPA, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our on line survey regarding your recent stay our hotel your feed back is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable exprience for each of our guest. We hope see you again soon General Manager Pravin... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question