We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paddle Wheel Inn

1457 Illinois Route 2 North, Oregon, IL 61061
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Paddle Wheel Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Pekin, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Traveler beware! This hotel has TERRIBLE service. At check-in, we were advised to be careful with our card keys since they can be “de-activated” by being too close to a cell phone or a credit card. BEWARE - if you card is accidentally de-activated, there is NO ONE at the hotel after 7:00 pm to re-activate you card. It seems... More 

Helpful?
Thank harritj1
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The view from this property on the Rock River is stunning. The building itself is dated, tired in appearance. The front desk staff were pleasant during the hours that they were working, but seemed to lack the autonomy to handle basic customer service concerns. Housekeeping was subpar.

Helpful?
Thank IMHO777
Rockford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

We are regular customers of this hotel. They upgraded their WIFI and it works great, I never cared to much before as we come to this hotel as a getaway from the real world but it was nice to be able to watch Netflix while laying in bed watching the snow fall through our patio door. The staff is always... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dara H
Walkerton, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

This was an ok place to stay. The wifi worked great. We had pip rime rib dinner at the Maxson restaurant next door. It was good. The inn is very simple. No extras. No shampoo or lotions. No breakfast, just coffee. I only stayed here because I was on a bus trip. It is right on the Rock River. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pam S
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

The room was right on the water, much larger than expected. Balcony was perfect! We were able to look at the changing tree colors across the river and star gazed at night. We wish we could have stayed more than one night. Staff was very accommodating to our late checkout. Wifi worked fine, but who needs that when you have... More 

Helpful?
Thank heidi s
Montgomery
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend had the best time. We had such good service with the staff...will definitely b back. The view from our room over looking the river was beautiful. Was our first time there. The wedding we were there for was absolutly perfect. Thank u for everything

Helpful?
Thank Rana M
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015 via mobile

They offer wifi that does not even work. T mobile would not work at all around there and the girl at the desk was very rude beautiful scenery but not worth the money or the poor quality service provided! They offered us 5$ off a night to have no housekeeping really it does not take but 5 minutes to do... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Salenabjorek
PWIowner, Owner at Paddle Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Unfortunately we do not have control over T Mobile phone service that is an issue you should address with them about their coverage areas. We offer free local and long distant phone calls to all of our guest. We do offer to guest that do not want daily cleaning a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Oregon hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

I called them a few days before needing a hotel room, they were friendly and very helpful. I unfortunately had to cancel last minute and they were very understanding and accomadating to my situation. I have stayed here once before with no issues :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne C
PWIowner, Owner at Paddle Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We were happy to help you with your cancellation and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We just returned from a weekend at the Paddle Wheel Inn in Oregon, Il. What a wonderful, relaxing place to sneak off too! The staff was very friendly and accommodating to every one of our needs. Our room overlooked the river and also the deck and steamboat. The rooms are clean with plenty of towels and the view from our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cabogal66
PWIowner, Owner at Paddle Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time and your business. Please come back and see us again and mention your review and we would love to give you a free upgrade on your next stay. See you soon!!! More 

Marshfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

The room appeared clean, but that is the only good thing we can say for the Paddle Wheel Inn. Your choices are limited in Oregon, IL and the Paddle Wheel takes advantage of that fact. Very over priced for two queen, hard mattresses with hard pillows. What $84 hotel doesn't offer shampoo??? They close the front desk at 9 pm,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MossFolks
PWIowner, Owner at Paddle Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The front desk is open Monday through Thursday from 7am to 9pm, Friday and Saturday from 7am to 10pm and Sunday from 7am to 8 pm. The hotel has call forwarding set up so guest are always able to contact a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oregon
7.5 mi away
White Pines Inn
White Pines Inn
#1 of 1 in Mount Morris
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Dixon
Comfort Inn Dixon
#1 of 3 in Dixon
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
23.7 mi away
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Rochelle
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
22.4 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#11 of 25 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#