We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Coedway B&Bs / inns

The Old Hand & Diamond

Save Saved
You added The Old Hand & Diamond to your Saves list
Main Road | Coedway, near Shrewsbury, Coedway SY5 9AR, Wales
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (72)
  • Photos (13)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
The Old Hand & Diamond
Ranked #1 of 1 Coedway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coedway
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton England
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff and owner were welcoming and helpful, my room was very good value, spacious comfortable and well equipped. There is plenty of parking around the pubs grounds which are surrounded by fields of sheep and it is reasonably located for Shrewsbury even though it is just in Wales. My meal was one of the best lamb dishes I have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

OK, so I have had a few beers and the odd bite of lunch here, but a week or so ago my French niece and her friend came to visit and wanted to visit a traditional country pub. Booked a table for 10 and off we went. The food was superb. Huge portions (I really didn't need a starter too)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theold Hand A, Manager at The Old Hand & Diamond, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us, we are glad you enjoyed your meals. Thank you for recommending us to others. Kind regards Nicky (manageress) More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Old Hand & Diamond on Sunday. We booked a table 2 hours in advance, but had to wait for 15mins before a table was available. A male member of staff, seemed to be in an awful mood and unhappy with the owner, Nicky. Nicky was actually extremely nice and was able to provide me with a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Called today for lunch. Had a simple ham sandwich and Harvester platter. We were astonished at the attention to detail ,not least the lovely bread ( both the sandwich and baguette with the Harvester) .The Harvester was made up of a pot of home- made chicken liver pate,cheese, ham hock terrine that any French auberge would be proud to serve... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from a second visit to the Old H and D. Four of us have started meeting there for regular reunions. It's a great inn, with really friendly staff, really good food and very comfortable bedrooms, spotlessly clean. So anybody looking for a relatively inexpensive but great place to base themselves while exploring the Welsh borderland, I'd recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theold Hand A, Manager at The Old Hand & Diamond, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, we look forward to seeing you at the next reunion. Kind regards Nicky More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have eaten there many times, from bar snacks to 1st class steaks cooked exactly right.. We had occasion to stay there one night and the room we had was very comfortable and clean, it may not be ultra modern but it is not a high street hotel.. it is a traditional Inn with great food and real ales. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food is very nice indeed. The Inn itself has a very tired look about it. If you like listening in on the conversations of other guests in their rooms then this is the place for you. Sound proofing is poor. I intended to have a 4 night stay but gave up after 3 nights. I am only 5` 6"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theold Hand A, Manager at The Old Hand & Diamond, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us and were unhappy with your room, due to the age and nature of the building, sloping roofs are unfortunately unavoidable. We do have an access statement attatched to our website which does explain room types and there position in the building. Unfortunately on your first night here we... More

cumbria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was great, service good and not slow as some reviews have said would have rated our stay as excellent if it hadn't been for the ceiling in the rooms. I wasn't told that the room we booked was up 2 flight of fairly steep stairs and had sloping ceilings, to get into one side of the bed you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the room rate seemed reasonable the rooms were noisy over looking the car park. The tables in the restaurant we used were sticky and meal service was slow. I was somewhat disappointed at the quality of service. The rooms were up a number of stairs with no obvious lift or offer of help with our luggage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Came here for a friends wedding that was up at row ton castle and stayed overnight. Beautiful carvery and service. The guy cooked us breakfast the next morning too. Wonderful. Would love to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Old Hand & Diamond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Hand & Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hand & Diamond

Address: Main Road | Coedway, near Shrewsbury, Coedway SY5 9AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Coedway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Hand & Diamond staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer