We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woodruff Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
1200 Mulholland, Nauvoo, IL 62354
The Woodruff Hotel
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
40
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My trip to Nauvoo was business related and I brought my Fiancee along for a three night stay in this charming town. Our stay was during the end of winter and there were some renovations occurring in parts of this two building hotel. Don't be surprised if you go to Nauvoo outside of summer that few business and restaurants are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We visited the gift store of this hotel while staying at another hotel across the river. When we saw they had hotel rooms we asked about them. The manager showed us a room upstairs and we were sold. We called our other hotel and checked out. The rest of our trip was spent in this hotel. Great rooms and great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

When we reserved this hotel we had no idea how close to the Temple it was. It says that its across the street on the website but the street is very small and the Temple is huge so when we got to the hotel we were overjoyed with the location. We spent New Years Eve here and the people at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

The rich history of this establishment alone was really endearing. It's so fun to stay somewhere where history is all around you. We got our room keys and it took us a half hour of looking around at all the history and art and antiques before we eventually made it to our room. It was splendid. The room we stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Loved this place. Stayed for only two nights but wished we could of stayed more. The hotel workers were nice and helpful. We got upgraded for free because we went during a slow week. Large two person jacuzzi tub in our suite. Hope to come back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MKennedy_Nauvoo, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this very nice review. We remember your family very well and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We try to upgrade as many guests as we can when we have the rooms to do it. The Jacuzzi Tub is a nice treat when Nauvoo is cold. THANK YOU again for staying with... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

My stay at the Woodruff Hotel was beyond what I expected. My room had a great view of the Nauvoo temple and smelled extremely good. The customer service was outstanding! They catered to all of our needs including just small stuff like bringing pillows up to our room. I am a mom of 5 kids traveling from North Carolina, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MKennedy_Nauvoo, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU very much for your review and for declaring in bold letters "TERRIFIC HOTEL!" Our Woodruff Hotel Staff works hard to serve our guests and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come to Nauvoo again and bring your whole family. We will be so happy to see you again!! More 

North Platte, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We stayed here at this hotel and we had an excellent experience. The location can't be beat and that's an understatement. Every window in our room had a view of the Nauvoo Temple. We came for a family experience and it literally could not have been better. The hotel was clean and historic. Very happy to recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
M K, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU very much for taking time to review our hotel. The Woodruff Hotel staff works hard to help people feel comfortable and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We have recently upgraded many of the features in our hotel rooms and we feel especially proud of the way our guests have responded. THANK YOU again so much and... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The room was in a basement. The room itself smelled OK, but the entryway did not. The bed was very soft, Too soft for my liking. The shower curtain would suck in and wrap around you while showering. A heavier or double curtain would probably solve that. There is no breakfast provided. The woman at the front desk quoted me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
M K, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU for your review of our hotel. The Woodruff Hotel staff works very hard to help all our guests enjoy their stay and feel comfortable. We have had a meeting regarding your review of your experience at the hotel and have reconfirmed our commitment to assist our guests in feeling comfortable. We have even taken to heart your input... More 

Brookings
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

The hotel itself was nice . However there website sucked I confirmed on line me reservation 2 nights 89 dollars with one night the 3rd for free. However I was charged a lot more. Numerous calls and emails later. I finally got a refund. I am not sure if they were lacking help or a bad website. when they did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
M K, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU for your review of our hotel. The Woodruff Hotel staff always works very hard to help all our guests enjoy their stay and feel comfortable. We are truly sorry you had trouble getting a hold of our hotel - yes we do have limited staff in the off season and so we regret that we were not able... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The hotel desk is located in this awasome historic red brick general store. I spent an hour just looking at all the historic artifacts and art. Tons of historic art trhoughout the whole hotel. Even my room had art on every wall. It was just about the coolest hotel Ive ever been in. The room was loacted in this historic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
M K, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU for your review of our hotel. The Woodruff Hotel staff works very hard to help all our guests enjoy their stay and feel comfortable. We have showed your review titled " GREAT HOTEL" to our staff in showing them how grateful we are for their service to our guests. We are ever mindful of the commitment we have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question