We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Nauvoo B&Bs / inns

The Woodruff Hotel

Save
You added The Woodruff Hotel to your Saves list
1200 Mulholland, Nauvoo, IL 62354
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
3rd Night Free
The Woodruff Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Nauvoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nauvoo
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
39
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My stay at the Woodruff Hotel was beyond what I expected. My room had a great view of the Nauvoo temple and smelled extremely good. The customer service was outstanding! They catered to all of our needs including just small stuff like bringing pillows up to our room. I am a mom of 5 kids traveling from North Carolina, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
North Platte, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here at this hotel and we had an excellent experience. The location can't be beat and that's an understatement. Every window in our room had a view of the Nauvoo Temple. We came for a family experience and it literally could not have been better. The hotel was clean and historic. Very happy to recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
M K, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU very much for taking time to review our hotel. The Woodruff Hotel staff works hard to help people feel comfortable and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We have recently upgraded many of the features in our hotel rooms and we feel especially proud of the way our guests have responded. THANK YOU again so much and... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The room was in a basement. The room itself smelled OK, but the entryway did not. The bed was very soft, Too soft for my liking. The shower curtain would suck in and wrap around you while showering. A heavier or double curtain would probably solve that. There is no breakfast provided. The woman at the front desk quoted me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
M K, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU for your review of our hotel. The Woodruff Hotel staff works very hard to help all our guests enjoy their stay and feel comfortable. We have had a meeting regarding your review of your experience at the hotel and have reconfirmed our commitment to assist our guests in feeling comfortable. We have even taken to heart your input... More 

Brookings
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

The hotel itself was nice . However there website sucked I confirmed on line me reservation 2 nights 89 dollars with one night the 3rd for free. However I was charged a lot more. Numerous calls and emails later. I finally got a refund. I am not sure if they were lacking help or a bad website. when they did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
M K, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU for your review of our hotel. The Woodruff Hotel staff always works very hard to help all our guests enjoy their stay and feel comfortable. We are truly sorry you had trouble getting a hold of our hotel - yes we do have limited staff in the off season and so we regret that we were not able... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The hotel desk is located in this awasome historic red brick general store. I spent an hour just looking at all the historic artifacts and art. Tons of historic art trhoughout the whole hotel. Even my room had art on every wall. It was just about the coolest hotel Ive ever been in. The room was loacted in this historic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
M K, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU for your review of our hotel. The Woodruff Hotel staff works very hard to help all our guests enjoy their stay and feel comfortable. We have showed your review titled " GREAT HOTEL" to our staff in showing them how grateful we are for their service to our guests. We are ever mindful of the commitment we have... More 

Rock Springs, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

What an amazing hotel. The beds were the best we have ever slept in. This hotel has wonderful art and decor. We so enjoyed our stay and we are so happy to have stayed here. There is a beautiful and peaceful spirit abounding in this hotel and we could not have enjoyed our stay more. The rooms are large and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
M K, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU so much and we are happy to have you refer to the Woodruff Hotel as "BEST EVER" Thank you. Our staff at the hotel is always friendly and working hard to help guests. In fact we try to hire people based in part on how friendly they are. We already have a great location and we are happy... More 

Rio Rancho, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We strayed here over a week. The weddings and reunions stayed next door in the renovated building. The building we stayed in was a dump. Our room was never vacuumed during our stay. We had to ask for any cleaning to be done in our room. The first room they had to try to stick us with had used paint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bowling Green, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed here during the Nauvoo Pageant. We were so happy with our whole stay at this hotel. Our room view was looking right out onto the Nauvoo Temple grounds. We were so taken back by the amazing view and how lucky we were to get this room. Our room was not only clean and comfortable but the art, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
THANK_YOU_WOODRUFF, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU for your kind words and we hope to have you stay with us again. There are times when we see reviews like this one and we are thrilled to hear their kind words. We hope you will find time to visit Nauvoo again and we look forward to serving you. Thank you again for your kind words Best... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is in a great location. We were able to check in at 3:00 pm sharp and we're greeted in a friendly manner. However, the carpet in the Brigham Young Suite was so filthy you didn't want to take your shoes off! The bathroom floor was dirty, the furniture was worn and so dirty you didn't want to sit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Aquasco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a great stay in a clean comfortable room. The owner was very involved and went above and beyond to accommodate our large, crazy family. The gallery was perfect for the wedding reception. The food they catered was exceptional. Truly a great one stop shop for getting married in Nauvoo. P.S. They make an amazing chocolate chip cookie.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Woodruff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodruff Hotel

Address: 1200 Mulholland, Nauvoo, IL 62354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Nauvoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay