We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn Murphysboro / Carbondale

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
128 East Walnut Street, Murphysboro, IL 62966
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Murphysboro / Carbondale
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn Murphysboro / Carbondale
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (13)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Staunton, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We were very unhappy with our stay. The room smelled, and felt dirty. The beds were undesirable. The noise made it hard to rest. We have stayed at 4/5 star hotels and paid the same price through price line.This hotel was a big rip off!!! We will not be staying there on our future visits to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

This is kind of a hard review to write. We do not normally stay in 60$ hotels. We went boating for the weekend at Lake Kinkaid. There are no other hotels close to the lake. The marina has 10 cabins that are $120 per night that were filled up. The next closest town with hotels is another 20 miles away.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I stay here between my shifts as a medical doctor because I can always get a good nights sleep. The manager goes out of his way to make sure all my needs are taken care of. This will always be my hotel of choice when in Murphysboro area. Rooms are always nice smelling,fresh and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cedarville, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I have stayed here many times working in the area and I have never had any problems. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I've stayed in other motels in town but like this one the best. Would recommend to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albany, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Not very good motel. Very old and oudated room. Very small bath room. There was a constant smell in the room. Only r4eaason I stayed there was because it waas the only motel in town. I would not re3commend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nital P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Murphysboro / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit, we welcome both positive and negative feedback in order for us to continually improve as we aim to offer the best level of service possible. We obviously failed in a key area for your stay and this is very disappointing, and I offer my sincerest apologies. Please rest assure I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Murphysboro hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Management is excellent and honest. Caters to the fishermen with parking for boats with electrical hookups at no extra charge. This is the ONLY place there that I will stay. I have never had a problem with their service. John Kennedy

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Nital P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Murphysboro / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for your positive feed ,we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable ,and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future. Kind Regards , Ramesh More 

Franklin, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had reservations and had to cancel because of an extreme family incident...the Manager refused to refund or reservation. He said there must be a twenty four hour cancellation...this would have been impossible. He was rude and seemed not to care.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nital P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Murphysboro / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit, we welcome both positive and negative feedback in order for us to continually improve as we aim to offer the best level of service possible. We obviously failed in a key area for your stay and this is very disappointing, and I offer my sincerest apologies. Please rest assure I... More 

Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed there in December 2012 for on night. The place was noisy, and the rooms were not the cleanest either. This hotel used to be owned by others who took much better care of it then the owners do now! We found dog hair behind the dresser when my husband dropped his keys. Just nasty, dirt and hair! Hope... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Both the room and office smelled musty. The sheets and bedding didn't smell freshly cleaned. The worst part was the low height of the sink and shower. I could understand if this was a handicap accessible room but it was not. I'm 5'9 and had to duck under the head of the shower. Standing flat foot in the shower it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

They didn't bother to salt or plow the parking lot OR the walkway, and when we checked in I told the clerk my disabled wife had to go to the bathroom asap. He gave us a room WAY at the back of the motel, so my disabled wife who can barely walk as it is, had to walk along a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphysboro
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
#1 of 11 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
8.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#3 of 11 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
19.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 16 in Marion
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
22.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 2 in West Frankfort
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Back to top