We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn Murphysboro / Carbondale

128 East Walnut Street, Murphysboro, IL 62966
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn Murphysboro \/ Carbondale
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Room was big. The owner was pleasant and eager to help. The TV worked well. The curtains would not open and the room was a little old, but we slept well enough. Breakfast was some muffins in wrappers and good coffee.

Helpful?
Thank kentishsue2015
Kirksey, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Originally planned to stay 2 nights. Called the hotel to change reservation to 1 night and was told I had to do it online since I booked online. Tried that and it did not work. Room stinks. Holes busted in bathroom door, Coke from vending machine was frozen.

Helpful?
Thank timmcguire

Travelers are raving about these Murphysboro hotels

Plainfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

My husband, son and I have been staying at this hotel for many, many years. We travel from the western suburbs of Chicago to visit friends in Murphysboro and vacation on Lake Kinkaid and now our son goes to SIU in Carbondale. This hotel is an inexpensive hotel that has everything we need; comfortable beds, microwave, fridge and cable TV.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tina S
Staunton, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We were very unhappy with our stay. The room smelled, and felt dirty. The beds were undesirable. The noise made it hard to rest. We have stayed at 4/5 star hotels and paid the same price through price line.This hotel was a big rip off!!! We will not be staying there on our future visits to town.

Helpful?
Thank DLD1230
Swansea, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

This is kind of a hard review to write. We do not normally stay in 60$ hotels. We went boating for the weekend at Lake Kinkaid. There are no other hotels close to the lake. The marina has 10 cabins that are $120 per night that were filled up. The next closest town with hotels is another 20 miles away.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fairviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I stay here between my shifts as a medical doctor because I can always get a good nights sleep. The manager goes out of his way to make sure all my needs are taken care of. This will always be my hotel of choice when in Murphysboro area. Rooms are always nice smelling,fresh and clean.

Helpful?
1 Thank baron b
Cedarville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I have stayed here many times working in the area and I have never had any problems. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I've stayed in other motels in town but like this one the best. Would recommend to everyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaleb M
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Not very good motel. Very old and oudated room. Very small bath room. There was a constant smell in the room. Only r4eaason I stayed there was because it waas the only motel in town. I would not re3commend to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Milt S
Nital P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Murphysboro / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit, we welcome both positive and negative feedback in order for us to continually improve as we aim to offer the best level of service possible. We obviously failed in a key area for your stay and this is very disappointing, and I offer my sincerest apologies. Please rest assure I... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Management is excellent and honest. Caters to the fishermen with parking for boats with electrical hookups at no extra charge. This is the ONLY place there that I will stay. I have never had a problem with their service. John Kennedy

Helpful?
5 Thank Tarpski
Nital P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Murphysboro / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for your positive feed ,we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable ,and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future. Kind Regards , Ramesh More 

Franklin, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had reservations and had to cancel because of an extreme family incident...the Manager refused to refund or reservation. He said there must be a twenty four hour cancellation...this would have been impossible. He was rude and seemed not to care.

Helpful?
2 Thank sjb3366
Nital P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Murphysboro / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit, we welcome both positive and negative feedback in order for us to continually improve as we aim to offer the best level of service possible. We obviously failed in a key area for your stay and this is very disappointing, and I offer my sincerest apologies. Please rest assure I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphysboro
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
#1 of 11 in Carbondale
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
19.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#3 of 11 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
19.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
8.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
#9 of 11 in Carbondale
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay