We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
221 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    89
    73
    31
    16
    5
See reviews for
77
64
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (214)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This stay went off without a hitch. Dylan at the front desk was pleasant and welcoming, not just to us, but to the other guests checking in before us (one of which was having a debit card issue, which Dylan handled very well). The room was ready when we arrived, and even though it was located near the elevator (we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay. We are happy to see you enjoy your overall stay and found the front desk agent helpful, electronics charging station convienent and amenities, pool, fitness area, breakfast and location all satisfactory. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Mount Vernon Illinois. We look forward... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well we didn't get past the Front desk lady..She was very RUDE We went to the next hotel next door Fairfield Inn and suites..They weren't much better...I'm spoiled to the Court Yard hotels orthe Candlewood suites..Have not had one bad experience with those

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I apologize that you did not find your experience satisfactory and felt the front desk staff was rude. If you would like to discuss this matter further please feel free to contact us here at the hotel: Mount Vernon Hampton Inn 618-244-2323 We hope this does not deter you from using the Hilton brand or staying again... More 

Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property is always a favorite of ours when in the Mt. Vernon area - room is clean and comfortable, amenities are good, and the location is good. The free breakfast is excellent (Western omelette and sausage were big hits with us). The only problem this time was with what appeared to be some food dropped in front of the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent survey and comments. We are happy to see you enjoyed your overall stay with us and our property is a favorite of yours. We are also pleased to hear you found your room clean and comfortable and enjoyed the amenities, location and free breakfast. I apologize that you did not find the... More 

Ocala, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Confirmation # 85881365 in Mt Vernon, IL WE stayed handicapped access room 302 with tub. (1) water pressure to room was very weak. (2) Tub was lacking any non-slip surface on bottom of tub for safety reasons. (3) This location lacked sufficient luggage carts and had to hand carry our bags

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent survey and comments. I apologize that you did not find your accommodations satisfactory due to low water pressure and a lack of luggage carts at checkout. I will pass your concerns on to management. While it is true we do not offer non slip mats in our tubs, we are in line... More 

Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes, thank you for this opportunity to share my dissappointment with Hilton Honors and the condition of this facility. First for all, I feel cheated that my numerous stays at Hilton hotels are not accumulating the amount of points that I used to appreciate receiving. It has been so long since I enjoyed the benefits of this "honors" program with... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay and found it disappointing. Thank you for brining your concerns to our attention we will look into these matters further. We do not set the points system for Hilton Honors and have no control over the amount required per... More 

Manassas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed in this hotel multiple times for multiple reasons. Always receive an excellent experience, great service from the front desk on. Can highly recommend this location as a great place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent survey and comments, we appreciate hearing from our guests. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend our property to others. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Mount Vernon Illinois. We look forward to your return. More 

Carrollton, MO, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was very nice. Staff was friendly, the accomodations were great, and we had a great stay. We've been so impressed with the selections at breakfast provided at Hampton Inns! It's much improved in variety and quality from a few years ago.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey and leave feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly, accomodations great, and were impressed with the selections our breakfast provided in both variety and quality. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Mount Vernon Illinois, we look forward... More 

Des Moines, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was told that our room would have a refrigerator and a microwave but it didn't have either. The hotel has free Wi-Fi but we were not told about it and how to access it until after we had used all of our data for the month and had to increase our plan. Hilton says that if you book with... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent survey and comments regarding your stay, we value feedback from our guests. I apologize that you were not happy with the rate you received, had difficulties with our complimentary wifi service and felt our breakfast was unsatisfactory. We are also sorry to hear you did not get the room type you requested,... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were very quiet and restful...very nice after a long drive. The staff was helpful in helping us find a place to eat out in this town and the breakfast the next morning in the hotel was very good. We were really glad we stayed here and would do so again at another time.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We are happy to see you found the rooms very quiet and restful, the staff helpful in helping find a place to eat and the breakfast to be very good. We are also pleased to hear you plan on returning and staying again with... More 

Paducah, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of the older Hotels I have stayed at and I would not recommend this for futures stays. The hotel is over priced for the condition. The lobby and breakfast areas are dark and cramped and not very inviting.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent survey and comments regarding your stay. We were happy to see on the survey you left on our site you were happy with your stay and found our staff and property to be satisfactory. We are sorry and a little puzzled to hear that you felt our breakfast and lobby areas were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay