We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Hotel website
Hotel deals
222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    47
    54
    34
    14
See reviews for
55
39
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (173)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a very nice hotel.. It was clean, quiet, and the breakfast was excellent. It is convenient as it is close to the interstate and several restaurants. I really can't find nothing to complain about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Glarus, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is one of the worst we have stayed at. Checking in, the staff was rude and Darlene even yelled "Jesus Christ " when the phone rang. Pool lights weren't on and pool bathrooms were unusable. Hotel smelled old and musty, our floor was damp in our room. Cracks in ceiling in our room. Didn't even dare stay to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear jaziper, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction you encountered during your stay with us. We are in the midst of a complete remodel. I hope you decide to stay with us again in the future if you travel in the area. Michael Carbonaro GM More 

Travelers are raving about these Mount Vernon hotels

Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice clean room, very efficient staff, large property with ample parking. Breakfast was hot and abundant BUT.... there was a $2.50/$3.50 for OJ (apple juice was included). For this caliber property it seems more like a Motel 6 move.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to submit a review. I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. I will forward your comments on to the restaurant that leases from us. I hope you decide to stay with us in the future if you are in the Mount Vernon, IL area. Sincerely Michael Carbonaro GM More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived about 8, and there was a line of about 4 people. Only 1 person checking in, there was another person at the desk, but he didn't look up or attempt to help. Seemed like he was shuffling paperwork and counting coins. Was nice to get vouchers for breakfast, and kids ate free in restaurant. It was nice that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Emcat64, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced upon your stay with us. I will be forwarding your comments over to my front desk manager and our food and beverage department so we can correct these issues right away. Hopefully, you will give us another chance in the future. Sincerely, Michael Carbonaro GM More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow. Out of date, poorly maintained. Bathrooms in the pool area were terrible. Hotel rooms are tiny. Bathrooms are even smaller. Old carpeting. Lots of air freshener being dispensed to cover up old hotel smell. Needs millions of dollars in renovations and a good manager.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear David R, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for any dissatisfaction you experienced upon your stay with us. We are in the process of renovating the entire hotel. Hopefully, you will give us another chance in the future. Sincerely, Michael Carbonaro GM More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My recent stay went fine. Everything was smooth from check in to check out. Until I received my Amex bill - shock double billed!!! Nothing gets me hotter nowadays than a merchant charging twice for the same. I called Amex immediately and am waiting for the resolution This is fine hotel but if I don't hear from the hotel for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Al S, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service. It is regrettable that you were disappointed with the erroneous charge to your account. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this issue may have caused you. We’d like to obtain... More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

During our trip to Mackinac Island in Michigan for our 40th Wedding Anniversary, the wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Full Service Hotel in Mount Vernon Illinois. The hotel was easy to get to from the interstate and very comfortable and clean. I would recommend this as a good property to stay at if you're traveling through Mount... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I expected more from the Holiday Inn. While the room was okay, the overall feeling at the hotel was "meh." The pool was crowded and dirty. Every surface on the pool deck (which was quite large) was dripping, even chairs far from the pool. The worst part, however, was the "restaurant." It is a bar with bar food. The "kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear TravelingNorthStars, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and superior accommodation to all of our guests and we appreciate your business with us. However, it is regrettable that the condition of the pool and your dining experience fell below your expectations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and... More 

Milford, NE
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Overall, we had a nice stay here. Unfortunately, what happened last is remembered first. First, let me mention the good things. We did enjoy the pool area, although it was a bit dated. I understand they are preparing to renovate, so that's fine. It was nice having the option of lounging outdoors. Our room was quite clean and comfortable. As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hinesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

This hotel is pretty decent. The late night front desk clerks were very pleasant and courteous. The room was clean but kind of old. The walls seem paper thin. You can hear everything from the next bedrooms and hall ways, even outside. It was hard to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear bonics828, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you were pleased with our front desk staff. We are in the process of beginning to renovate the entire hotel. Hopefully, you will give us another chance in the future. Sincerely, Michael Carbonaro GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (88)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
#4 of 14 in Mount Vernon
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
#2 of 14 in Mount Vernon
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mount Vernon Rend Lake
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Mount Vernon
Super 8 Mount Vernon
#6 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay