We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Mount Vernon hotels

Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Mount Vernon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
41%
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Mount Vernon
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
gabefamily Geneva, Illinois
  • Overview
  • Reviews (121)
  • Photos (28)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    36
    26
    11
See reviews for
39
23
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on the way home from our honeymoon. They had the distinction of being the only hotel on our 9 day trip, that grossed us out. The pool smelt of no chlorine, only body sweat and foot odor. There was hair in the shower, garbage under our sink, and the non smoking room smelt of cigarettes. The air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Bellanebraska, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for any disappointment that you may have incurred upon your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Mt Vernon. We are in the process of remodeling our entire hotel. Hopefully you will give us a second chance in the future. Sincerely, Michael Carbonaro GM More

Geneva, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

after a long drive it was a nice place to stop. quiet, rooms were nice. They also offered continental breakfast, which is great. grab a bite to eat and then finish our drive. We needed 2 rooms and it worked out well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay at Holiday Inns often and I have stayed here before. This place has been OK in the past but too many issues this time. Stayed for one night on Friday night 3rd flr. The problems: Their credit card reader would not read my ATM card. Only time before or since that this has happened. WIFI was not working... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Chap73, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the over-all experience you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be... More

Travelers are raving about these Mount Vernon hotels

Road Warrior
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
141 hotel reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just spent one night here passing through town on business, was a little leery booking it based on the reviews but I decided to check it out anyway. This is a fairly large, older property, that was probably pretty sweet back in the day, when Jimmy Carter was in office. The exterior of the hotel has been recently remolded and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear AlCzervik1, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We always strive to provide world class accommodations and services to our guests. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our... More

Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The lobby wasn't bad and the young woman that checked us in was polite and friendly. Also, the breakfast was better than some I've had and there are several dinner options nearby the hotel. However, the compliments end there! Here begins the issues - the tile floor outside the elevator was wet from people leaving the hotel pool. It appears... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Phillitravels, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad to know that you found our staff polite and friendly. Please accept our sincerest apologies you were not satisfied with the condition of our hotel facilities and for any inconvenience you may have encountered. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Rated as a 3 star hotel, anything but. Shower I'm room not working, took 2 calls to get someone to get it to work but had to shower then or not at all. Breakfast poor. Tables cleaned of dishes but not wiped. Spiders in room. Common areas show a lot of ware. Front desk person was very nice when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Julie M, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced while you were a guest at our hotel. I will forward your comments to the appropriate departments so to correct these issues. Sincerely, Michael Carbonaro General Manager More

Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed on our way to North Carolina. We were nervous when we arrived because the parking lot was packed. The hotel wasn't actually that full but there was a wedding reception on the other side of the facility. Our room was very nice with queen sized beds, a microwave and fridge -with a freezer compartment - a nice surprise.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear JanetOPKS, Thank you for your comments. I am very happy we could accommodate you. Hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Michael Carbonaro GM More

Bayport, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is not a Holiday Inn Express but a Holiday Inn. Its right off the freeway. When you walk into the lobby its a WOW factor. Its huge and gorgeous. They had just renovated and were still working on the outside. The rooms are nice. They could have more outlets for electronics. I used the 2 in the room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear disappointed, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for your disappointment. I will be forwarding your comments along to my housekeeping staff and food and beverage company that runs our breakfast area so they know where improvement is needed. More

Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Nice room, good proximity to food. Still trying to figure out why they had a sign 10 feet in the air. In braille. Anyway, some good places to eat right across the street, and it's right off the highway, so I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pleasanton, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our first room #310 had several dead bedbugs on the bed. We called front desk who didn't seem surprised. They sent someone up to verify it was true. Then assigned us a new room #212, which we inspected and found hair in the bed, sheets obviously not changed. We called front desk again and demanded a manager come up. Manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear D S, Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I apologize for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Address: 222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mount Vernon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Mount Vernon with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon, Illinois. Our hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstates 64 and 57. At the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon you may choose from 223 beautiful guest rooms and handsomely appointed suites which all have free high-speed wireless Internet access. Contact our sales department to coordinate all your meeting or banquet needs. Get your day started with breakfast where Kids Eat Free in Mr. F s Atrium Café located in our luxurious 3-story sky lit atrium. After breakfast take a dip in our indoor, heated swimming pool or lounge in our Jacuzzi, and in the summer months, on our sundeck. Stay connected with our business center which includes PCs, printer, and copier. Continue your exercise regimen while you stay at our hotel in our fitness room. Pets are allowed with a fee in designated pet rooms only.You can enjoy shopping within walking distance of our hotel at Rend Lake Marketplace or watch a movie at Showplace 8. Order room service or dine in at Krieger s Sports Grill. Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
223

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Mount Vernon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer