We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Mount Vernon hotels

Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Mount Vernon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
41%
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Mount Vernon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
AlCzervik1 Road Warrior
  • Overview
  • Reviews (118)
  • Photos (28)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    36
    25
    10
See reviews for
37
23
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Road Warrior
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
136 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just spent one night here passing through town on business, was a little leery booking it based on the reviews but I decided to check it out anyway. This is a fairly large, older property, that was probably pretty sweet back in the day, when Jimmy Carter was in office. The exterior of the hotel has been recently remolded and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The lobby wasn't bad and the young woman that checked us in was polite and friendly. Also, the breakfast was better than some I've had and there are several dinner options nearby the hotel. However, the compliments end there! Here begins the issues - the tile floor outside the elevator was wet from people leaving the hotel pool. It appears... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Phillitravels, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad to know that you found our staff polite and friendly. Please accept our sincerest apologies you were not satisfied with the condition of our hotel facilities and for any inconvenience you may have encountered. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would... More

Travelers are raving about these Mount Vernon hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rated as a 3 star hotel, anything but. Shower I'm room not working, took 2 calls to get someone to get it to work but had to shower then or not at all. Breakfast poor. Tables cleaned of dishes but not wiped. Spiders in room. Common areas show a lot of ware. Front desk person was very nice when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Julie M, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced while you were a guest at our hotel. I will forward your comments to the appropriate departments so to correct these issues. Sincerely, Michael Carbonaro General Manager More

Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed on our way to North Carolina. We were nervous when we arrived because the parking lot was packed. The hotel wasn't actually that full but there was a wedding reception on the other side of the facility. Our room was very nice with queen sized beds, a microwave and fridge -with a freezer compartment - a nice surprise.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear JanetOPKS, Thank you for your comments. I am very happy we could accommodate you. Hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Michael Carbonaro GM More

Bayport, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is not a Holiday Inn Express but a Holiday Inn. Its right off the freeway. When you walk into the lobby its a WOW factor. Its huge and gorgeous. They had just renovated and were still working on the outside. The rooms are nice. They could have more outlets for electronics. I used the 2 in the room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear disappointed, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for your disappointment. I will be forwarding your comments along to my housekeeping staff and food and beverage company that runs our breakfast area so they know where improvement is needed. More

Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Nice room, good proximity to food. Still trying to figure out why they had a sign 10 feet in the air. In braille. Anyway, some good places to eat right across the street, and it's right off the highway, so I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pleasanton, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our first room #310 had several dead bedbugs on the bed. We called front desk who didn't seem surprised. They sent someone up to verify it was true. Then assigned us a new room #212, which we inspected and found hair in the bed, sheets obviously not changed. We called front desk again and demanded a manager come up. Manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear D S, Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I apologize for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.... More

Ottawa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed here in April 2014 for business purposes. Upon arrival, the young women at the front desk appeared quite bored with their jobs as they frequently yawned during the interaction, spoke with a dull monotone voice, and did not smile as they greeted me. Overall, the hotel and room seem old and are outdated. The floor of the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear MelissaWP, I apologize for the staffs behavior. This will not be tolarated. I am forwarding your comments over to the appropriate departments and will put a stop to this. We are remodeling the outside right now and will be working on the inside of the hotel very soon. Hopefully, you will give us another chance in the future. More

Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband & I had stayed here a few years ago. We enjoyed it enough to arrange our travel to stay again. The hotel, the front desk staff, and the room were all good. The last time we were unable to stay for their complimentary breakfast. But this time, we decided to take advantage of it. Not very impressive. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear BKW0056, Thank you for your feedback. I will forward your comments over to our food and beverage company that handles our breakfast. I apologize for the service you received from the breakfast staff. Hopefully, you will give us another try in the future. More

Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Let’s face it, choosing a hotel – especially at the last minute – is usually a crap-shoot! I was on an “emergency” road trip, had to make a choice on options quickly…and, frankly, I had a good experience here. The facility is about 30 years old, used to belong to another hotel chain, has gone through a lot of renovation…and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dear TexasPadre, Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your compliments and hope to see you again in the future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Address: 222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mount Vernon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon, Illinois. Our hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstates 64 and 57. At the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon you may choose from 223 beautiful guest rooms and handsomely appointed suites which all have free high-speed wireless Internet access. Contact our sales department to coordinate all your meeting or banquet needs. Get your day started with breakfast where Kids Eat Free in Mr. F s Atrium Café located in our luxurious 3-story sky lit atrium. After breakfast take a dip in our indoor, heated swimming pool or lounge in our Jacuzzi, and in the summer months, on our sundeck. Stay connected with our business center which includes PCs, printer, and copier. Continue your exercise regimen while you stay at our hotel in our fitness room. Pets are allowed with a fee in designated pet rooms only.You can enjoy shopping within walking distance of our hotel at Rend Lake Marketplace or watch a movie at Showplace 8. Order room service or dine in at Krieger s Sports Grill. Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
223

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer