We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Mount Vernon

220 South 44th Street, I-57 / I-64 at Exit #95, Mount Vernon, IL 62864 (Formerly Mt Vernon Red Roof Inn)
Hotel amenities
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
10
5
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

The first impression was....Very spic and span clean! No smoke smell in the least! The bedding and towels were clean and soft. Very elegant wood flooring and fresh painted walls! Had a microwave and fridge. For the price it was very nice. Coffee was good! We would definitely stay here again if we ever come through this area!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Woodstock, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

This motel 6 was acceptably priced at $49 plus the taxes. I arrived at 1:15 a.m. and just needed a place to stay that wouldn't break the budget. The room and the grounds are 2 different stories. You walk in your room, and it's very nice. It's been newly renovated, and it's clean and nice all around. Loved it. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Clean & quiet. Upgraded bathroom and HVAC that works well. That's worth two stars. I love Motel 6 since I frequently drive with my dogs, and all are "pet friendly." (that's the third star.) However, my sink is stopped up. Probably just as well since there's no hot water in the sink. (Shower is fine). I got off the road... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Athens, Alabama
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
36 hotel reviews
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

A fairly decent but old facility that was just remodeled with new wood flooring, new beds, new bath tubs and bed spreads. Traveling on a budget, this was the cheapest in town at $58.93 double occupancy with an AARP discount. Needed new electric outlets, otherwise a decent room. A little highway noise but not bad. Plenty of restaurants close by.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hoffman Estates
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Not so great bed. I felt like I was sleeping on a gymnast spring board. So great if you like firm. The rest of the room was terrific, especially for the price. The inside had been completely redone with new flooring, bathroom, sink, cabinets, etc. The outside looked very run down and had me worried at first, but it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

The location was scary but I didn't want to spend $80+ for another room. Very dirty place!! My room had ants crawling around. Mold in the bathroom. Locks for the door wasn't secrue. This place looked like a place for people staying here monthly. I would NEVER stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Dale, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. Please know the issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We have procedures in place related to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mount Vernon hotels

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed in June 2014 and paid $57 in a room that had been renovated, not bad. Then in July 2014 I was given a room that was not renovated for $57 . When I couldn't stand the mold smell, I had asked for a room I had before but she said it was more money, I said later!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
atheneonm6, Manager at Motel 6 Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the trouble you have to endure during your stay. I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope to see you again... More 

OSKALOOSA
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
78 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Of course you get what you pay for and the basic Motel 6 price compared to nearby hotels is the main attraction. Very clean Room 624 with microwave and frig. Good wi-fi, good TV connection. No complaints. Just remember to bring your own shampoo...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
atheneonm6, Manager at Motel 6 Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Motel 6 - Mount Vernon, IL #4658. Your feedback will be shared with the team to serve as recognition and encouragement; as we strive to continuously improve our guest experience. Thank you again for sharing. We hope your next visit will be even better. Sincerely, Sam More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We needed a place to stay on a drive down to Georgia with my son and his dog. There were other places that would allow a small dog, but we had heard that Motel 6 was good and clean. The rooms are undergoing some renovations, but our room was either just starting to be done or something else. The air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

On our way home from NC. It was the only hotel choice before St. Louis - we had been trying to book hotels all the way through Indiana, but every place was full. We had three children screaming/crying in the car (ages 1, 3, 4). We were desperate! When we got to the room, there were hairs in our shower/tub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities