We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn

805 Iron Horse Place, Monticello, IL 61856
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    11
    3
    12
See reviews for
23
6
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Mahomet, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had a really horrible experience. I decided to have my daughter's 9th Birthday here because I thought it would be fun for the children to be able to swim. However, the party was a disaster. The staff booked the parties to close together and the party after my daughter's kept pushing us out of the room in order for... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us, however, every effort was made to accommodate your needs for your party. When you called to see if you could come in an hour early... More

Santa Clara, CA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My objective was a weekend Illini reunion with former classmates/roommates in Champaign, who had already found lodging in Urbana on a sold-out football weekend. Frankly, it would have worked better had all my cohorts stayed here instead of Urbana. The rooms are a far better value than what you'll get in Champaign/Urbana. The rooms are clean. The bed is comfortable.... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More

Urbana, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the past 5 years, I have hosted a twice-yearly weekend scrapbooking retreat for 40-70 women at the Best Western Gateway Inn in Monticello, Illinois. The hotel management and staff are friendly, responsive, easy to work with and go out of their way to make our weekend stay comfortable and enjoyable. The reasonable pricing, location and quality of their facility... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More

Rantoul, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel staff went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful experience. The retreat started at 3pm on a Friday and wrapped up at 3:00 on a Sunday. The conference room was comfortable temperature wise. We were able to lock the room at night to keep our scrap booking material and machines safe for the evening.... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More

Rockford, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to catch a few weeks before heading out on the road again. A bit pricey for just a few hours of sleep, but located across the street from truck parking. I will now ramble aimlessly until I have used the minimum 200 characters required to complete this review. Thank you and Good Night.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Amanda Norman, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed here 3 nights while visiting nearby family member. have stayed here numerous times over many years and trust this place to give a good value for money spent--this time the room rate was extremely good. breakfast offered a satisfactory variety of items incl. a new miniature waffle iron. the large indoor pool was nice and used it twice. also... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We... More

Urbana, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this Best Western several times over the last few years for three day scrapbook retreats with our Creative Memories rep hosting the event for 40-50 people. The rooms are always clean and in everything in good working order. The Breakfast area is always well stocked and has good working appliances. If you are looking for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at this Best Western, conveniently located in Monticello just off of I-72, several times over the past 5 years. Newly updated, the pool and breakfast room look amazing. I enjoy my choices for the continental breakfast every time with something for everyone. The rooms are clean and offer great views in the back. The staff is hardworking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We... More

Rochester, IL
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best Western Monticello is a clean, quiet, place to stay in Central Illinois. Each room has a mini fridge and the housekeeping is timely. There is a large, olympic size pool that is well maintained. Updated breakfast includes a wide variety of cereals, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, waffles, juices, and coffee. I was very pleased and would return again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We... More

Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel all weekend (Oct 24 - Oct 26) and it's great for being in a small town. The staff was very accommodating and professional. They have a nice pool and well stocked ice/vending area The complimentary breakfast includes "make your own' waffles, cold cereal, juices, coffee, hard boiled eggs, sweets, English muffins, bread/toast, yogurt etc. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn

Address: 805 Iron Horse Place, Monticello, IL 61856
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monticello Gateway Hotel Monticello
Monticello Best Western

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay