We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
805 Iron Horse Place, Monticello, IL 61856
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    11
    3
    12
See reviews for
25
6
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here multiple times over last 10 yrs , intend on doing so again when visiting relative in area. Present rates are a good value for clean and comfortable room. This time had view of woods in back making morning coffee even better. Did not use swimming pool this time but its large size means you can actually swim... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Charleston, Il.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My review is actually for the TripAdvisor staff. The staff member had no idea about the contents and amenities of the rooms. I packed items needlessly because the TripAdvisor stated the items were not available in the rooms without paying extra for them. Making people pack and carry more or heavier items just adds more stress to any travel experience.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Serena, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were traveling to Memphis, Tennessee and we were stopped by the heavy amount of snow that late Saturday night. I turned around and started to drive back to the Chicago area, but the snow was coming down even harder. I remember there was a Best Western motel in Monticello, Illinois. After an hour driving back we checked into the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Mahomet, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Been here several times for our retreats. Accommodations are relaxing and comfortable and always clean. Morning breakfast items are fresh and replenished as needed. Our group is given the banquet room to use, which gives us plenty of room to spread out our supplies and work and visit. Our cropping supplies are kept secure during the night. Any requests of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Urbana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I just held my 9th scrapbooking retreat for 40 women at the Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn. Everyone was pleased with the quality, amenities and staff of the hotel, and I look forward to returning later in the year.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Karyn, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I have stayed at the Monticello Best Western many times and have always had a very comfortable stay. Good Continental breakfast, clean rooms, nice bathrooms and helpful staff. It is easy to get to as it is just off I-72 at the Monticello route 105 exit. I will stay here again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Urbana, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I have attended retreats at the Best Western for 3-4 years and have always had a good experience. Room are comfortable and the breakfast is more than sufficient with all the usual breakfast foods. I like the scenery around the hotel. It has a couple of small lakes and a nice deck however in February you have to enjoy from... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mary R, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope... More 

MONTICELLO, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

This is a wonderful hotel!! People are very warm and inviting!! It may not be brand new state of the art, but it is awesome!!! The hotel pool is huge!!! we had such an excellent stay!!! We had my daugters birthday party there...and we used the pool! The staff was friendly and helpful, she even turned up the heat in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jodi T, Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Mahomet, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

I had a really horrible experience. I decided to have my daughter's 9th Birthday here because I thought it would be fun for the children to be able to swim. However, the party was a disaster. The staff booked the parties to close together and the party after my daughter's kept pushing us out of the room in order for... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us, however, every effort was made to accommodate your needs for your party. When you called to see if you could come in an hour early... More 

Travelers are raving about these Monticello hotels

Santa Clara, CA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

My objective was a weekend Illini reunion with former classmates/roommates in Champaign, who had already found lodging in Urbana on a sold-out football weekend. Frankly, it would have worked better had all my cohorts stayed here instead of Urbana. The rooms are a far better value than what you'll get in Champaign/Urbana. The rooms are clean. The bed is comfortable.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manisha p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question