We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Metropolis

Hotel website
Hotel deals
I24 And Us 45 Exit 37, 2179 EAST 5TH STREET, Metropolis, IL 62960
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Metropolis
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Muktown Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Share an Experience

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
38
27
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed here in the past and it is okay. Over the years it is looking worn and in need of an update. The rooms are clean, but looking shabby. The beds are old and not comfortable. A one night stay is do-able..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Muktown, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. We most certainly appreciate you returning to our hotel again for your accommodation needs. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret that the beds in your rooms were not up to... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a week in advance still told i had to settle for smoking room witch smelled of damp stale cigarette.the smell was overwhelming as soon as we stepped off elevator. The room was equipped nice with good bed. Upon check out we along with another guest has to demand a receipt after asking a reluctant clerk for one repeatedly. Complementary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Donnie W, Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with us in Metropolis. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. I sincerely regret that you did not get the room type as you requested, and for the receipt issue at the desk, and also for the poor experience at breakfast. This is not... More 

Oregon, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

If you think about stopping keep going! Worst night sleep that I can every remember. Nut job upstairs was pacing back and forth until 3:30 AM, then started up again at 6 AM. Complained to the front desk and they said it was "hallway noise." Free breakfast wasn't worth the calories digested. Room clean, staff friendly, I would never come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear retired60165, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. While we are most glad that you found our staff to be friendly, and our rooms to be clean, please accept our sincere apology for the noise issues, and breakfast issue you experienced during your stay and we regret our... More 

La Crescent, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Clean, comfortable bed. Working TV. Nice warm shower. BF is available in the morning. We left early so missed it. Fresh coffee made for the road. Friendly, competent staff. They have a small pool and hot tub but we did not make use of them. Small work out room too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear meinmn4190, Thank you for your candid review of your recent experience with us in Metropolis, IL. We are most happy that you found our beds comfortable and clean, and our staff to be friendly and competent. We apologize that you missed our hot breakfast, but were glad that you at least had fresh coffee for the road. We appreciate... More 

Kansas City MO
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Metropolis came up as the stop for a trip that had us traveling on Christmas Day, and this HIE was the right choice. Just off the main highway, and as we later saw, the cream of the crop as far as a local place to stay! Staff was friendly, room was clean and very comfortable, breakfast was surprisingly good. Even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
191 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Everyone on staff was professional, but Phoebe at the front desk went above and beyond to help this weary traveler, making him feel welcome comfortable & right at home. Room was wonderful ~ 5 fat, fluffy pillows was just the beginning of a wonderful night sleep. Spacious & spotless with flat screen TV, fridge/micro, free wifi. Hubby only had coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackson, Tn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

I studied all the tripadvisor reviews to pick a motel for our trip to Metropolis. You have to turn at the light and get on the frontage road to get to this Holiday Inn Express. During the day it was easy to find but it was very dark at night and would be hard to find. We arrived early. Phoebe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warrensburg MO
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

I stopped here on the way home from an event farther south. The staff seamlessly handled my change of reservation from a Sunday to a Saturday night when I called about 2 hours before my arrival. Staff upgraded me to a room very convenient to an exit so I didn't have to haul things down a hall or upstairs after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This hotel is very nice and the management was excellent.Room was large and very clean for a dated hotel Location is right off exit but you have to go up to light and get on frontage road to get to it.My GPS was off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harker Heights, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We've stayed at the Metropolis Holiday Inn Express several times before and this was, by far, the most disappointing. The room was OK, but for a supposed "pet friendly" hotel, the extra fees assessed made us think otherwise. A traveling companion was charged $80.00 for a two-day stay because she had two standard poodles. We were charged $40.00 for our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear BigJohn37, Thank you so much for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us in Metropolis, IL. We take our guest comments very seriously, and use it as a tool to constantly to improve our services and facilities. I am sorry that you had to pay for your pets, unfortunately, it is our policy to charge for pets per... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question