We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Metropolis

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
I24 And Us 45 Exit 37, 2179 EAST 5TH STREET, Metropolis, IL 62960
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    44
    24
    11
    9
See reviews for
48
28
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Kearney, MO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in late. Front desk guy seemed bothered by us. Very short, no directions on where to go, when breakfast is(only till 930am). Hotel pool VERY tiny. Hotel fitness center - a closet with 2 pieces of equipment..terrible. The room was musty. I wore shoes the entire time. I'm usually more laid back. The bathroom was so tiny you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Hayley76, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. I regret that you had a bad experience with the check-in staff. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts... More 

Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is not updated. We have stayed in many HIE and this is by far the oldest of them all. It feels a little dingy. Out too was really hot when we got in and turned the AC down, but it never really cooled off. The king suite we stayed in had a broken sofa bed so the kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Literally just off the interstate, we arrived about 2am on 8/8. Front desk clerk,was very friendly. The room was cozy and very clean. The pillows...man the pillows were just tops. Just sunk right into them. That ALONE gets 5 stars! Housekeeping staff were very friendly as well. Place was 100% book yet quiet and serene. Great free breakfast that ends... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great rate, room, staff, breakfast, and service. Did not notice in office area, but hallways on floors wreak of mildew smell. The room I occupied did not have evidence of mildew nor smell of mildew. I saw review comments on the mildew after I booked, but forearmed with that information elected to stay there anyway. This is not a bad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear 06jca, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations at a competitive value. We certainly regret we fell short in exceeding your expectations for your stay. Though we... More 

Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We attempted to stay here but the room had very noticeable mold around the windows. However, the staff was very nice and apologetic,but everything was out of their hands. They said they will be going through major renovations soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Nan H, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. We do value the opinion of our guests as this gives us the avenue to improve the quality and service that we impart. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations especially with the condition of the room accommodations you were given.... More 

Duluth, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

We’ve stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Metropolis about a dozen times and previously wrote glowing reviews. This property went downhill dramatically on this stay. There was no breakfast available before closing time and we arrived well before that to find nothing but two bananas. I can buy breakfast at a restaurant when traveling, but dislike not getting a service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Fred H, Thank you so much for posting your comments regarding your latest experience with us here in Metropolis. We are most grateful to welcome you back again. I am sincerely sorry for the breakfast issue you experienced, I completely understand your frustration. I also regret that you had a bad experience with the Front desk person on that... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

The building itself is pretty basic and a little old (?), but the staff was friendly; it had a free breakfast that wasn't just bread, cereal, and fruit. Indoor swimming pool and hot tub, close to highway, soft beds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Very clean well managed hotel. Lobby was nice and a guest business center provided although only 1 computer. Our room was very clean and well equipped. Very comfortable beds! Breakfast was good with several choices. Loved that it was pet friendly with a low charge for smaller animals! Internet was slow was the only complaint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Liked the location of the hotel, not far off our route. Comfy beds, and liked the indoor pool and spa, except there was too much chlorine in both, burned my eyes and made me sneeze. Very informative staff, and accommodating. When we took showers to wash off the chlorine, found that the exhaust fan did not work. So, needless to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metropolis
3.0 mi away
Harrah's Metropolis Casino
Harrah's Metropolis Casino
#1 of 6 in Metropolis
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Metropolis
Super 8 Metropolis
#2 of 6 in Metropolis
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn Metropolis
Baymont Inn Metropolis
#4 of 6 in Metropolis
3.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Paducah West
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Paducah
Comfort Inn Paducah
#7 of 28 in Paducah
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paducah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay