We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Mchenry

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
110 State Rte 31 South, McHenry, IL 60050
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Mchenry
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    10
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
10
7
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bad musty smell as you walk in lobby. Room cost $178.00 beds hard as were pillows. And don't even think of getting breakfast, the worst.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

The room smelled very bad. The TV remote was not working. the breakfast was not taken care of with dirty tables and waffle mix all over, no orange juice, no rolls out. Not a good experience.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these McHenry hotels

Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Room seemed very clean, mattress was excellent, the pillow was very flat. The motel is well situated in the town of McHenry. We had no issues with noise. The free breakfast is very basic but there is a coffee maker in the room which we appreciated. There were some maintenance issues with the ceiling in the hallway but it didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile

Very disappointed with a number of things. We went to this hotel while my niece was having her baby at the hospital down the road. When we first checked in the attendant at the desk was offensive. We asked for a non smoking room and we were told numerous times that we would have to smoke outside when we tried... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil P, Manager at Super 8 Mchenry, responded to this review

Thank you for your review without staying in this motel. Time of check in you was telling us that my husband will come later and he is a smoker but he will not stay all night. According to motel policy your guest can not stay after 9 pm. But your husband and son want to stay up to midnight or... More 

Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

My husband and I needed a place to stay while visiting friends, so we stayed at this Super 8 and it was a good value. Everyone was friendly and the room was clean. Our room was 211 and it was towards the back of the building. Opened our window and it was very quiet for sleeping. Most hotels have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Manager on duty was very very nice and helpful. He went out of his way to help me. My husband has Alzheimer's and I needed help as it was cold and rainy.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

I had family book this hotel for me since I was visiting from out of town and couldn't stay in their home due to space limitations. Upon first arrival greetings with the front desk seemed peculiar and on my second night in the hotel I discovered my key no longer worked. Family had paid for the room previously and now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil P, Manager at Super 8 Mchenry, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Time of check in your balance was open, you didn't pay cash in full for three nights since you do not have enough cash. Since your balance was open we issue your room key only for two nights instead of three nights time of check in. Again thank you for your review. More 

Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The room is small and two of the badly needed light fixtures did not work. Televisions are old and picture quality is poor. After 8:00 PM the front desk has a shield pulled down and if you need something you have to dial a number (one wonders why?). Pillows were the thinnest I have every seen and towels and washrags... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silvis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

While the front desk staff was incredibly friendly and helpful the dates decor, dingy room, and lack of breakfast options pulls this place down. The paper thin walls allowed me to hear everything, and I mean everything, happening in the adjacent rooms. My fiance and I were concerned about having regular volume conversation for fear that neighbors could listen in.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Hampton Inn - McHenry
#1 of 2 in McHenry
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
3.8 mi away
WaterFront Hotel & Marina
WaterFront Hotel & Marina
#1 of 1 in Johnsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Crystal Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Woodstock
Super 8 Woodstock
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
3.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay