We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2520 173rd Street, Lansing, IL 60438
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lansing
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013
Mary S Largo, Florida, United States
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    12
    5
    11
See reviews for
14
4
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing
See the most recent reviews
Largo, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our trip was a 6 day vacation. We stayed at a variety of hotels, but this was by far our favorite. It felt like we were coming home! We are planning our next vacation now ~ a 3 week trip to California. We will be staying at as many Extended Stay Hotels as we can. Thank you for being the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went to this E.S.A. Lansing Chicago as per the reviews on other sites. The hotel along with the staff is excellent but the only problem is that the people who came here to stay had made the hotel so messy and hell lot of smoke smell around the lobby as well as in individual floor lobby also it's has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating to your needs. Still, I deeply apologize for the cleaning conditions. It is truly regrettable and we will use this experience to improve our cleaning procedures as well as... More 

Northbrook, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would wish to stay in the area. The rooms are always clean and presentable. The staff is friendly and understands urgency. I have never had any problems here and I always enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review

It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was very disappointed with the quality of this hotel. We stayed for over a week and never received new linen. Although they are supposed to change it every 5 days I believe. The beds were hard and the room had some maintenance issues. My husband told the front desk 3x about the maintenance issues and nothing was done. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that the hotel didn't meet your standards. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at lan@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're... More 

Lansing, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Housekeeping was poor, room smelled, it was understaffed and the front desk was often unable to answer questions. At one point the woman behind the desk told the man " I don't know where the other extended stay is, I think it's 3 hrs away. maybe she can help you" pointing to me and then she disappeared. It was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize for the service you received at the front desk. In response to your feedback I have shared your review with my Staff and will use it as a training tool to continue to improve the service we provide to our guests. If you would... More 

Lansing, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I recently stayed at this location for an overnight trip. The check in person Brandon was friendly and made the check in process quick and painless. I slept comfortably and no complaints other than the limited amount of soap, lotion and a hot breakfast in the a.m. Other than that the other staff members Michelle and Dan were pleasant :)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review

We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We continually work to improve our hotels, so I really appreciate your feed back on the comfort of our beds and the quick and frienldy check in process. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Recently, I stayed at this location for about 5 days. I received a very good (and low) rate online. For the value, this is a very good option. Of course, it is no Marriott or Hilton, however, for what you pay, it's a good value. Before booking the hotel, I noticed the other terrible reviews. If you're going to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that our staff went above and beyond to accommodate you as well as do their best to meet your needs. I’m also happy that you found our hotel to be a great value. Still, I am sorry for and... More 

Plain, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place was a nightmare from the first minute we stepped through the door! We had arrived around 9:30 after driving from a family wedding in Wisconsin. The desk clerk was finishing up checking in another guest, which should have taken about five minutes. Instead we were left standing for another 15 minutes while he chatted with her and his... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review

Kathy - I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The check-in experience you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for it. As well, since we strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, I am disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with your accommodations. I am sharing... More 

South Point, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The corporation uses the phrase "Your home away from home" to entice guests, and at other locations, this might be true. In Lansing, Illinois, however, nothing could be further from the truth. The bed is rock hard and the pillows either pancakes or overstuffed marshmallows with the neck support of a rolled-up sock. As with other hotels in the Chicago... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review

Don - I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that the pillows and the comfort of the bed were not to your satisfaction. As well, I am sorry that you did not enjoy our television channel selection and that our WiFi connection was not working at an optimal... More 

Saint Louis, Mo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We normally stay at Red Roof Inn right across from this hotel, but for once this place was cheaper.We really enjoyed the full kitchen so we were able to cook in the room saving us money. Only thing is the poor guy at the front desk was often overwhelmed being the only one in the hotel, but he was still... More 

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review

Jerard - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm thrilled to know that you enjoyed your in-room kitchen. As well, we appreciate you letting us know about the check-in process you experienced. We are sorry for this issue, and assure you this will be addressed with the staff. Once more,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question