We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

#4 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
6161 W. Grand Ave., Gurnee, IL 60031
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Scott M
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    50
    51
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
52
18
2
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Very nice hotel and friendly staff was a pleasure staying. Check in was a breeze and the restraunt not bad at all. Lots of food near by and a theatre across the street. I'll stay here again for sure. Thanks ihg another great hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Scott M, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Gurnee. Great to hear you had a pleasure staying with us and enjoyed the restaurant, friendly staff, and location of the hotel. We look forward to your next visit with us. More 

Pe ell, WA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

great friendly staff, clean rooms. Loud family reunion who did not seem too worried about keeping the entire neighborhood awake all night playing wheel of jeopardy, but the hotel itself is amazing. Order in giordanos pizza to make your trip extra special. Worth the money and the possible wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Peell_WARyanw68, Thank you for submitting a review based on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Gurnee. We appreciated your business. That is great to hear that despite the loud family reunion near by you viewed us as beautiful place. We are happy you enjoyed our great friendly staff and clean rooms. We loved hosting you and... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The customer service was horrible. Restaurant workers in the hotel were rude. Didn't want to serve us as we were a large group. Had guest come and the hotel staff treated all of us with such disrespect from the comments to the rude gestures. Managers made excuses for their employees horrible behavior. Hotel had black mold that was in many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Jmarrow, Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. On behalf of the hotel please accept our apologies in not meeting the expectations of you, your spouse and your six children. Perhaps offline you could advise us on the picture as we are not familiar with the location. More 

Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were truly disappointed with the the accommodations of this hotel. Areas of concern that I communicated to the front desk: 1) Telephone in our room did not function 2) Shower knob was difficult and next to impossible to utilize 3) pillows were very uncomfortable 4) Internet signs you out at midnight instead of noon like most hotel chains. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear A2coolcity, Thank you for submitting a review based on your recent stay with us. Appreciate the feedback as it lets us know how we are doing. We are disappointed to see all these issues whether it be the wifi-code expiring time or the phone not working properly happen during you stay as we wanted you to have a satisfied... More 

sherri_lee919@yahoo.com
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful hotel...best stay at a hotel I've had. Clean, spacious rooms. Hotel service was nice...shuttle service to six flags was awesome- and the driver was a riot and deserves some kind of recognition! Pool was clean and nice to swim in. We got 4 free breakfast vouchers for having to wait to check in at the hotel (but they let... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Sherri_Lee919, Thank you for submitting a review based on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Gurnee. That is great to hear it was your best hotel stay ever. Very nice to hear. Also we are happy you enjoyed the shuttle and the driver. Wish we knew what driver it was so we could recognize him/her. We... More 

Kokomo, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

I booked this room as a package with Six Flags Great America tickets. Upon booking, I was asked if I wanted to add breakfast for $5 a person. I agreed. This was a great deal for the room, tickets, breakfast, and a shuttle to the park to avoid the $25 parking fee at the park! Upon arrival, there was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Stuart15734, Thank you for submitting a review based on your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear you weren't pleased with the front desk awareness of the breakfast and tickets and also some of the breakfast items as far as taste. We value your comments and will make sure they go to the department heads so they know... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile

I took my parents here for a family dinner, deciding to try a new place out in Gurnee, and we had a wonderful time. The atmosphere is relaxed and sophisticated, the Cosmo martini was right on point, and the service was excellent. The food was a mixture of American and authentic cuisine, it was a flavorful fusion. Great job on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Annalisa S, Thank you for commenting on your recent stop at Spice Restaurant. We are glad that your parents and you tried us out for the first time and enjoyed it. We will be sure to pass on these great comments to the staff so there excellent service is recognized. Again, thank you and hope to see you on... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015 via mobile

Excellent location and kids eat free!! Large clean room good lighting. Next to six flags and big shopping mall. Good food and a nice bar area. Very quiet area. Near several restaurants. Pool if you like to swim or let the kids go swimming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear YeahBuddy3499, Thank you for submitting a review based on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Gurnee. We are glad you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel to local attractions and restaurants. We are located in a great area near shopping, restaurants, and easy access to highways that lead to downtown Chicago and airports in Chicago and... More 

Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We stayed here due to the close proximity to Gurnee Mills and Pleasant Prairie Outlet Mall. Got a nice price on priceline. The hotel is literally across the street from Gurnee Mills and 10 minutes from Pleasant Prairie. We did not go, but Great America is another 5-10 minutes away. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Mschuh03, Thank you for submitting your review based on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were not thrilled with our bathroom. That is feedback we will take note on and see if there is room for improvements. We are happy that you enjoyed the rest of the room and the location of our... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

My wife and I stayed here recently while attending a nearby conference. Our room was on the 4th floor and was clean and quiet. What impressed me most were the many interactions we had with hotel staff. The hotel seemed very close to full, but the staff maintained a helpful and cheerful attitude always. This included everyone from the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear edk469, Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Gurnee. That is great to hear you and your wife got to enjoy your stay with us while during your conference. Glad that you got to experience our helpful staff with the many interactions you had. Can't wait fro your next stay with us! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay