We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Louis / Granite City KOA

3157 West Chain of Rocks Road, Granite City, IL 62040
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granite City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
St Louis \/ Granite City KOA
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    10
    9
    10
    15
See reviews for
26
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Grove City, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loud,loud,loud.it is 11 pm as I write this and I can still hear the loud engines of racing motor vehicles that I have been listening to since 7:30. When we checked in, the First Lady was ok..then walks in this rude, bossy and in hospitable employee who was obviously in charge. Very unfriendly. The other negative reviews are accurate..this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had high expectations of KOA coming in to this campground, and I left hoping my next KOA experience to be better. We got in late, having driven from South Dakota and we got brief instructions for late night reservations. We set up and we're just about ready to go to sleep when we hear none other than a racetrack,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Granite City hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Trains. Truck traffic. No fire. If this is your idea of camping, then you have found utopia. This is one step above camping in a gas station. Bathrooms clean. One friendly clerk. One grump. The only redeeming value is its proximity to St Louis. It's an industrial park with trees. We stayed one night and that was enough. My daughter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

We stayed in one of the cabins. It was infested with bedbugs. What a pain! We saw them crawling on our bedding in the morning and killed several, which were full of blood. There was blood spots on our sheets. I had bites all over that itched like crazy. We had another week of our road trip and had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We've stayed at campgrounds and RV parks all over the US. This KOA is a disappointment. My 15-yr-old son said this about it as we were leaving the park this morning: "This KOA is soon-to-be a former KOA like the crappy campground we stayed at in South Dakota." He was referring to the Custer Crazy Horse Campground in Custer, SD,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Stayed for 1 night; would not recommend. The girl at checkin was rude, and would not honor the usual AAA discount. The ladies room dirty. Also, light sleepers beware, there is a train very close by running all night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SanDiego
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

I have stayed at this campground several times. I tent camp and I just love that they have those wonderful coverings over the table areas. I wish every KOA had these. Even though I have been here several times I still miss the turn off. Their sign is very poorly placed. Yes it is in kind of an industrial area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monticello, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Yes, it is in an industrial park but it's nestled in behind and a short drive to STL. Only heard the train once. Very accommodating to our changing plans- due to rain they gave us a better location right by the playground, bouncy pillow and pool. Great laundry facilities and exceptional showers! We booked our next visit before we left.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and for staying with us during your recent visit to the St Louis area! We are so glad to hear you had a great time and we were glad to accommodate your campsite change due to rain. We hope you have a wonderful summer and we'll see... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's a very nice campground. Pool, laundry, play area for kids. All very clean. Pull through available. We did NOT have any problems with noise at any time of the day or night. People running the campground were very nice and helpful. Short drive into st louis. I would definitely stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here on a Monday night. Made a reservation about 7 hours before we arrived and they were ready for us when we arrived. Check in was quick & easy. We were escorted to our site that was level despite being a gravel spot. This KOA is in an "industrial" area, but that didn't effect our stay at all.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granite City
9.7 mi away
Casino Queen Hotel and RV Park
Casino Queen Hotel and RV Park
#1 of 3 in East Saint Louis
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
24.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Louis Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Louis Inn
#1 of 1 in Tesson Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pontoon Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pontoon Beach
#1 of 7 in Pontoon Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Pontoon Beach Illinois
Days Inn Pontoon Beach Illinois
#4 of 7 in Pontoon Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
2.5 mi away
Camelot Magnuson Hotel
Camelot Magnuson Hotel
#5 of 7 in Pontoon Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities