We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Louis / Granite City KOA

3157 West Chain of Rocks Road, Granite City, IL 62040
St Louis / Granite City KOA
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    11
    9
    6
    13
See reviews for
23
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
SanDiego
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this campground several times. I tent camp and I just love that they have those wonderful coverings over the table areas. I wish every KOA had these. Even though I have been here several times I still miss the turn off. Their sign is very poorly placed. Yes it is in kind of an industrial area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monticello, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes, it is in an industrial park but it's nestled in behind and a short drive to STL. Only heard the train once. Very accommodating to our changing plans- due to rain they gave us a better location right by the playground, bouncy pillow and pool. Great laundry facilities and exceptional showers! We booked our next visit before we left.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and for staying with us during your recent visit to the St Louis area! We are so glad to hear you had a great time and we were glad to accommodate your campsite change due to rain. We hope you have a wonderful summer and we'll see... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's a very nice campground. Pool, laundry, play area for kids. All very clean. Pull through available. We did NOT have any problems with noise at any time of the day or night. People running the campground were very nice and helpful. Short drive into st louis. I would definitely stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here on a Monday night. Made a reservation about 7 hours before we arrived and they were ready for us when we arrived. Check in was quick & easy. We were escorted to our site that was level despite being a gravel spot. This KOA is in an "industrial" area, but that didn't effect our stay at all.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This campground was kind of hidden off the old Route 66, hidden behind industrial lots. It was extremely noisy at night. With the race cars running near by until late at night and the train horns blaring next to us all through the night we didn't get much sleep. The kids loved the bouncy pillow and there was plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate you sharing your opinion with us and do apologize that you were not able to get a peaceful nights sleeping during your recent stay with us. We do our best to control everything we can but unfortunately there are some things that are beyond our control. So... More 

Travelers are raving about these Granite City hotels

NH
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I was volunteering at Cahokia Mounds for a week so I didn't want to stay in a hotel, so I rented the one room Kabin for a week and it worked out great. It is not a scenic location, but it is close to everything I wanted to see. It is hot and humid in June and I was thankful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us! Quite a few campers are surprised at the convenience our cabins offer at an affordable price and they are perfect for weekly stays or business trips to St. Louis if you love the outdoors. Safe travels and we hope to see you again! More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
199 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

This koa is about 20 minutes from St. Louis which was a big plus. It is on an industrial road which you don't notice once in the campground. The sites are close together but not bad and 'typical' for an rv park. There are no see ums that bite at night but just wear pants and there are trains at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Many campers stay with us due to our location and convenience to downtown St. Louis and we are so glad you found us as well. Sorry to hear you met the local bug population, we'll continue to do our best to avoid those in the future. Once in awhile... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
219 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

It is near an industrial park, but unless you are a tent camper, I don't think you would notice. Once on KOA grounds, it is nicely landscaped and clean. If we hadn't passed the industrial section going in, I wouldn't have known it was there. Nice FREE jump pillow, good pool, playground,and very clean bathrooms. Shower is a little odd...sprays... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amanda H, Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us! We are very proud of our little oasis. Apologies for the shower issue we put in those beautiful new shower set ups and we have been playing with the shower pressure in them as we receive feedback from customers. I will decrease the pressure again and see if we can't... More 

Currituck, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

KOA is in a Industrial area and is small. Bring your bug spray because there are annoying biting bugs, even in the pool area. No fires are allowed. Showers and bathrooms are clean but children's play area looks dirty. Nice shaded area and St Louis is just across the bridge to see the arch. Train close by but if your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

First, the staff was very nice and helpful. Wal-mart and Aldi are 10-15 off of Chain-of-Rocks road--but choices are limited unless you back to the highway where you got off. As for the camp ground it self, the sites are to close together and the play ground pillow was filthy. The laundry facilities were closed after 7, which annoyed me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda H, Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

I'm terribly sorry about the conditions of the showers I remember that morning. My grandfather was in the bathrooms for several hours to unclog the shower drains. We do our best to keep the bathrooms clean at all times. Sometimes mother nature works against us a tiny bit. I'm sorry you had to be at our place during one of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities