We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Louis / Granite City KOA

3157 West Chain of Rocks Road, Granite City, IL 62040
St Louis / Granite City KOA
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    11
    9
    8
    13
See reviews for
24
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've stayed at campgrounds and RV parks all over the US. This KOA is a disappointment. My 15-yr-old son said this about it as we were leaving the park this morning: "This KOA is soon-to-be a former KOA like the crappy campground we stayed at in South Dakota." He was referring to the Custer Crazy Horse Campground in Custer, SD,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 1 night; would not recommend. The girl at checkin was rude, and would not honor the usual AAA discount. The ladies room dirty. Also, light sleepers beware, there is a train very close by running all night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Granite City hotels

SanDiego
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this campground several times. I tent camp and I just love that they have those wonderful coverings over the table areas. I wish every KOA had these. Even though I have been here several times I still miss the turn off. Their sign is very poorly placed. Yes it is in kind of an industrial area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monticello, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Yes, it is in an industrial park but it's nestled in behind and a short drive to STL. Only heard the train once. Very accommodating to our changing plans- due to rain they gave us a better location right by the playground, bouncy pillow and pool. Great laundry facilities and exceptional showers! We booked our next visit before we left.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and for staying with us during your recent visit to the St Louis area! We are so glad to hear you had a great time and we were glad to accommodate your campsite change due to rain. We hope you have a wonderful summer and we'll see... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's a very nice campground. Pool, laundry, play area for kids. All very clean. Pull through available. We did NOT have any problems with noise at any time of the day or night. People running the campground were very nice and helpful. Short drive into st louis. I would definitely stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here on a Monday night. Made a reservation about 7 hours before we arrived and they were ready for us when we arrived. Check in was quick & easy. We were escorted to our site that was level despite being a gravel spot. This KOA is in an "industrial" area, but that didn't effect our stay at all.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This campground was kind of hidden off the old Route 66, hidden behind industrial lots. It was extremely noisy at night. With the race cars running near by until late at night and the train horns blaring next to us all through the night we didn't get much sleep. The kids loved the bouncy pillow and there was plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate you sharing your opinion with us and do apologize that you were not able to get a peaceful nights sleeping during your recent stay with us. We do our best to control everything we can but unfortunately there are some things that are beyond our control. So... More 

NH
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I was volunteering at Cahokia Mounds for a week so I didn't want to stay in a hotel, so I rented the one room Kabin for a week and it worked out great. It is not a scenic location, but it is close to everything I wanted to see. It is hot and humid in June and I was thankful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us! Quite a few campers are surprised at the convenience our cabins offer at an affordable price and they are perfect for weekly stays or business trips to St. Louis if you love the outdoors. Safe travels and we hope to see you again! More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

This koa is about 20 minutes from St. Louis which was a big plus. It is on an industrial road which you don't notice once in the campground. The sites are close together but not bad and 'typical' for an rv park. There are no see ums that bite at night but just wear pants and there are trains at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Many campers stay with us due to our location and convenience to downtown St. Louis and we are so glad you found us as well. Sorry to hear you met the local bug population, we'll continue to do our best to avoid those in the future. Once in awhile... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
223 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

It is near an industrial park, but unless you are a tent camper, I don't think you would notice. Once on KOA grounds, it is nicely landscaped and clean. If we hadn't passed the industrial section going in, I wouldn't have known it was there. Nice FREE jump pillow, good pool, playground,and very clean bathrooms. Shower is a little odd...sprays... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amanda H, Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us! We are very proud of our little oasis. Apologies for the shower issue we put in those beautiful new shower set ups and we have been playing with the shower pressure in them as we receive feedback from customers. I will decrease the pressure again and see if we can't... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granite City
9.7 mi away
Casino Queen Hotel and RV Park
Casino Queen Hotel and RV Park
#1 of 3 in East Saint Louis
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville
2.5 mi away
Camelot Magnuson Hotel
Camelot Magnuson Hotel
#5 of 6 in Pontoon Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pontoon Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pontoon Beach
#1 of 6 in Pontoon Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edwardsville
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Pontoon Beach Illinois
Days Inn Pontoon Beach Illinois
#4 of 6 in Pontoon Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities