We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ruebel Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
217 E. Main Street, Grafton, IL 62037
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ruebel Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ruebel Hotel
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    23
    7
    7
    9
See reviews for
10
74
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (137)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Loved the older style decor. The bed was not comfortable. Took forever to even begin to get comfortable. The view was good and close to the river and the wineries. So that was a plus side. The owner was very kind to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean rooms with character, friendly staff, good food. And cheaper rates than most lodging in the area. Highly recommended. Within easy walking distance of Loading Dock. Full cable TV and comfortable beds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 via mobile

My husband made reservations for Valentine's Day. We couldn't figure out where the entrance even was from the lower rear gravel parking lot (no signs). We entered through the bar/restaurant area. Owner was talking rudely on the phone to a customer, rude to us, he never asked my husband when the reservation was made what time we wanted dinner (included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, however, it is not a truthful one. We will start from when you first arrived. You stated that you wanted to cancel your reservation the day before your arrival at which time you were informed that since the 7 day cancellation policy had expired you would still be responsible for your reservation. While I... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We had a gift certificate for a free night's stay and decided to take a mini-vacation to Grafton during eagle-watching season. Our room wasn't fancy but was very clean and had all the emenities we could want, like free wifi, TV, mini fridge, and complimentary hair products, and we got an upgrade to a larger room. Walking through the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review with your kind compliments. They are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment in the very near future. More 

Marthasville, Missouri
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

My wife and stayed at the Ruebel Hotel on Valentines, Saturday night ( 2/14/15 ). We had room 16, called the Mississippi. It looked out to the river. The room was very cozy and the queen size bed was very comfortable. We had the steak and chicken for dinner. The food and drinks were very tasty. The Staff all work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review with all of your kind comments. We are a very small family owned and operated establishment and we try very hard to ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay with us. Your comments are greatly appreciated and it is nice to know that we accomplished you having a great stay with us. Once... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

My husband recently did a short weekend get away . We paid extra for coffee and a Jacuzzis in our room. The jacuzzis did work and we can't get the coffee machine to work. The restaurant the food was good by the servers socked. When we left the next morning no one was at the front desk. We we went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. As we are sorry for the inconveniences you experienced, we definitely do a much better job as one can see from our other reviews. Unfortunately, we were completely unaware that the items you mentioned were inoperable, as they were not reported to us. Our housekeeping staff should have done their final check a bit... More 

Jackson, Missouri
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

In town eagle watching for the weekend, last minute decision to stay - discounted rate for Jacuzzi room, jetted tub only lasted for about a minute! Dinner was great, owner friendly...in room coffee maker would not work the next morning, coffee pot on lobby was ok....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BALLWIN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We called 2X to book a room (no online booking available), and did not receive a call back, so we booked through Priceline and received a confirmation. When we arrived at the hotel we were told we didn't have a reservation and further that we shouldn't have booked online as they haven't been getting the reservations. We booked a deluxe,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

A group of friends & I stayed at the Ruebel one weekend in August. It's a classic facility. The rooms were very comfortable, the restaurant was good & the staff were very friendly. I would certainly recommend it to anyone traveling to Grafton.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago Suburbs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The quaint hotel has charming "old time" feel in the public areas, but the rooms are modern and clean. Very comfortable beds. The location is central with walking to area shops and restaurants and bars very convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning thank you for your comment about the hotel we are very grateful for feed back from our guest because we can learn to improve our rating having said that I would be grateful if you could call me sometimes at your convince and let me know how we can improve our service so we can get 5 star... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question