We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ruebel Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
217 E. Main Street, Grafton, IL 62037
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ruebel Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ruebel Hotel
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    25
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
11
76
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped in for breakfast and after waiting 15 minutes to get a server (such a big busy place with all 30 people in there) we got a server finally ordered 2 omlets. Waited another 50 minutes the table that ordered just before (with 8 people at it) us had gotten there food paid and getting ready to leave. We asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, however, there seems to be some missing facts. You were not seated in the restaurant for breakfast as you just walked in and joined a table who had already been served and were finished with their breakfast. It was only discovered when coffee refills were being done at which time you stated that no... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not your typical hotel. A 100+ year old building with a ton of character. Rooms are clean and owner/staff is very friendly. Great place to stay with a group - bar downstairs, outdoor deck and patio provide spots to congregate. Don't expect all the luxuries of modern day hotels - sink was in the sleeping room and bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Charming hotel with riverfront historic feel, was re-built a few years ago after flooding so rooms are in very good shape. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, breakfast meal was fast and tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

A boutique hotel atmosphere with an historical feel and many nice amenities. Without a reservation we stayed on a Monday night. Received an unsolicited discount and very friendly service. It was exceptionally clean and well-outfitted for a comfortable stay. The town is very cool - interesting eats, drinks, and shops, not to mention an amazing view of the river. Still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Loved the older style decor. The bed was not comfortable. Took forever to even begin to get comfortable. The view was good and close to the river and the wineries. So that was a plus side. The owner was very kind to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Clean rooms with character, friendly staff, good food. And cheaper rates than most lodging in the area. Highly recommended. Within easy walking distance of Loading Dock. Full cable TV and comfortable beds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 via mobile

My husband made reservations for Valentine's Day. We couldn't figure out where the entrance even was from the lower rear gravel parking lot (no signs). We entered through the bar/restaurant area. Owner was talking rudely on the phone to a customer, rude to us, he never asked my husband when the reservation was made what time we wanted dinner (included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, however, it is not a truthful one. We will start from when you first arrived. You stated that you wanted to cancel your reservation the day before your arrival at which time you were informed that since the 7 day cancellation policy had expired you would still be responsible for your reservation. While I... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We had a gift certificate for a free night's stay and decided to take a mini-vacation to Grafton during eagle-watching season. Our room wasn't fancy but was very clean and had all the emenities we could want, like free wifi, TV, mini fridge, and complimentary hair products, and we got an upgrade to a larger room. Walking through the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review with your kind compliments. They are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment in the very near future. More 

Marthasville, Missouri
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

My wife and stayed at the Ruebel Hotel on Valentines, Saturday night ( 2/14/15 ). We had room 16, called the Mississippi. It looked out to the river. The room was very cozy and the queen size bed was very comfortable. We had the steak and chicken for dinner. The food and drinks were very tasty. The Staff all work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review with all of your kind comments. We are a very small family owned and operated establishment and we try very hard to ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay with us. Your comments are greatly appreciated and it is nice to know that we accomplished you having a great stay with us. Once... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

My husband recently did a short weekend get away . We paid extra for coffee and a Jacuzzis in our room. The jacuzzis did work and we can't get the coffee machine to work. The restaurant the food was good by the servers socked. When we left the next morning no one was at the front desk. We we went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. As we are sorry for the inconveniences you experienced, we definitely do a much better job as one can see from our other reviews. Unfortunately, we were completely unaware that the items you mentioned were inoperable, as they were not reported to us. Our housekeeping staff should have done their final check a bit... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities