We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Geneva hotels

The Herrington Inn & Spa

15 South River Lane, Geneva, IL 60134
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Herrington Inn & Spa to your Saves list
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
89%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Lori M tinley park, il
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    31
    8
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
126
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
tinley park, il
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here overnight on a Saturday and loved it. It is walking distance to many shops and restaurants and overlooks the lake. It's so charming and quaint. The staff was extremely friendly and our room was beyond expectations. It was clean with a comfy king size bed, a fireplace, whirlpool tub, and awesome turn down service. There is complimentary... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Herrington recently and found the accomodatons to be quite charming and cozy, complete with in room fireplaces and hot tub baths...to the rustic interiors and fine dining at Atwoods restaurant...Geneva is a cool little town...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team. Thank you once again, and we look forward to... More

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is amazing! We went for an overnight get away for my Mom's 65th birthday. There were 4 of us girls. We ate lunch at the restaurant in the hotel which was fabulous! Very high quality food. We also had excellent services-the drivers took us all over Geneva to shop. The men who drove us were so kind! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team. Very pleased that all the elements of your stay... More

Chicago, IL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Five of us went to celebrate a 50th birthday this past weekend. From the moment we were picked up at the Metra station to the next day when we left, the service was all around exceptional. We did a day full of spa treatments on Saturday, all of us having had wonderful services. The rooms have beautiful views and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team. Thank you for celebrating with us and please pass... More

Lake Barrington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We just returned from an overnight stay at the Herrington. Everything was perfect!! 1. Cozy room with fireplace. 2. beautiful view of the river 3. pick up service after a fabulous meal at Wildwood. 4. turn down bed service with cookies, milk,and robes & slippers laid out. 5. Continental breakfast. 6. Spa massage just steps away. We really enjoyed strolling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team. We shall endeavor to give you another 6 great... More

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was a much anticipated get a way and the hotel room was dilapidated. Although the view was stunning and the restaurant good, the over all experience was very disappointing. The hot water did not get hot, tub jets did not work and I was awakened by work men in the room next door bright and early. No sleeping in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your stay with us. Having spoken to the front desk regarding the situation the upgraded room you requested and subsequently moved to... More

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Bought a groupon to stay here, yet felt that the discounted $140 was still a bit high. The Inn was kind of tucked away on a side street and upon entering was surprised at the elegant and inviting interior. The rooms were very nice, if you like lace, pattern, old furniture - I thought it was pretty. There was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon. Kindest... More

Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Pricey but worth it if you like to be in high comfort with convenient parking and a walking distance to all the downtown shops and restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay. We did not eat in the restaurant but did eat in the bar and enjoyed their breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team. Thank you once again, and we look forward to... More

Oak Lawn, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I found that these rooms are not fan friendly.There are not any hooks to hang your robes when you want to retire for the evening.Nice concept for cookies and milk,but unable to eat them.They are very hard.We had a issue when we left the Herrington Inn.We inadvertly left two chargers for our phones,but that evening we called and only one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your stay with us . I would like the opportunity to learn more information on your comments. Please contact me directly at... More

Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We live just 45 minutes away from Geneva, but after a previous great experience at the Herrington a couple of years ago, we decided to "getaway" for Valentine's Day and return to this terrific inn in the far western suburbs of Chicago. And once again, we were not disappointed. After much deliberation, I decided to book a town parlor suite,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team and of course Chris. For your next visit check... More

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Also Known As:
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
The Herrington Inn And Spa
The Herrington Hotel
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva
Address: 15 South River Lane, Geneva, IL 60134
Location: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Herrington Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.