We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Galena hotels

DeSoto House Hotel

Save Saved
You added DeSoto House Hotel to your Saves list
230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (281)
  • Photos (77)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (88)
  • Location
  • More
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    83
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
46
149
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loved the history here! The hotel is decorated to look old-fashioned but is clean and has enough modern touches to make for a nice stay. Our room did slope a bit to the corner but that just felt like part of the charm. We overlooked Main Street but were not bothered at all by noise from the street, even on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horicon, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place. Oozing with history, three restaurants in the building, free parking and right in the middle of everything. The parking garage is a tight squeeze, but unless you're rolling in an old Lincoln Continental, there should be enough room for you. Rooms are nice, good showers and comfortable beds. Pretty quiet. We had the breakfast buffet before we left.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brookfield, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the price, the room could have been more modern and have greater amenities, e.g. frig, double sink bathroom, etc.. Maid service could have been more attentive. Restaurant food was good, but service was extremely slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mundelein
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately about ten minutes out from the hotel we had a serious vehicle accident that totaled our car and sent us to the emergency room. Upon arrival and realization of our situation, the staff could not have been more helpful or caring. Diane at the front desk did all she could to help us manage through a difficult time. Mike,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Algonquin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Second time we've stayed at the Desoto. Beautiful building, unbeatable location, free covered parking which in Galena is a huge plus all by itself. We got there a few hours before check-in, and they let us park the motorcycle in the garage right away, and even held our helmets and jackets in the office while we looked around until check-in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I celebrated our 50th. wedding anniversary weekend in Galena at the DeSoto House. 38 family and friends had a great time starting with the excellent historic guest rooms, a pizza party on Friday...our formal dinner party on Saturday(all four selections from our special menu were outstanding)...piano music added to the fantastic ambiance of a perfect evening. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Besides being a renovated, super historical hotel (which is cool in itself), staying here lets you walk out the door onto Main Street's shops, cafes & other attractions. We walked in on a weekday and got a great room at a great rate, plus covered garage parking in a guests only garage. I'd stay again anytime.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Avon, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You couldn't ask for a better location. You could walk 5 blocks either way and that's the strip. It's right in the middle of it all. So drink as much as you like because you can walk to your hotel. The parking ramp is a little intimidating. lol The people are very polite and helpful. The Sunday brunch is to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a fine place to stay in Galena. We were given a reasonable rate (during the week), spacious and comfortable room, quiet, great location right on the main drag, plenty of history, friendly and welcoming staff. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Monmouth, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the past 12 years, we have made annual trips to Galena, sometimes more than one, and about half of those times we stayed at DeSoto House. It was always a good experience and we liked the history, however our last trip there was really disappointing. On our last day of a 3 day weekend, we found that we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DominiqueCross, General Manager at DeSoto House Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to see that you will never stay here again. I believe that the mishap with the complimentary certificate was sincerely an honest mistake. You mentioned that we responded immediately when you emailed about the original problem, and that is very typical for us. Guest satisfaction is very important to us, and I am confident that this will be resolved.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage DeSoto House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Galena with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena #3 Family Hotel in Galena #3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Number of rooms
55

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from DeSoto House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer