We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Freeport hotels

Elizabeth Inn Freeport

1300 East. South Street, Freeport, IL 61032 (Formerly Freeport Plaza Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Elizabeth Inn Freeport
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elizabeth Inn Freeport to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Freeport
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    0
    1
    15
See reviews for
7
3
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Rockford, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

It is late August 2014 and I needed a room for a week before my apartment would be ready. I was looking to spend minimal money for adequate accommodations. Freeport was my target area and This was the first opportunity I saw heading West on rt. 20. Don't be fooled by the signs of a motel in transition...This is the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WAUWATOSA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was booked here by Super 8 customer care after a horrendous situation at the Super 8 in Merriville IN (see review). I arrived here about 6pm with a friendly greeting from the desk clerk. She welcomed both me and my dog and made us feel comfortable right from the start, she explained about the morning breakfast and said if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Found this hotel as a last resort after calling a few different hotels in the area about my baby, Sheku a 11 year old shitzu dog. Other hotels wanted $25 extra for her! Back in my day it was only a $5 deposit for my shitzu. I breed them but could leave my baby behind at the farm for 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The room was clean, beds were comfortable, speedy Internet connection and safe. Was a little weary about a bus stop being on the property but no one was loitering.receptionist recommended a delicious family owned and operated pizza place and had a coupon for it. AND FOR 59.99, you cant beat it. My husband and I will defiantly be coming back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rockford, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Please keep in mined it is under new management! Everyone deserve a chance. We were very please with the service. We had a party of 75 people. We had the banquet hall and it was very nice and big and clean. Jeff & Donna was very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and big.They helped anyone in my party... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

Walked into the lobby of this "hotel" and immediately smelled mold... Took 15 minutes for a person to talk to me... She couldnt spell my name, it's JOSEPH... Paid $65 and went to the room... OMG SOOOOOOO GROSS, you could see mold everywhere, shower, carpet, bed smelled of mold... Couldnt stay here, was afraid maybe there would be bed bugs,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Thanks to tripadvisor.com I read these reviews and changed our reservation to another hotel in the area about 2 weeks before arriving in town. Unfortunately I neglected to warn our family members that also made reservations here. We visited them the night they checked in and were horrified at what we saw. They had 4 rooms and each had its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
swatsonp, Manager at Elizabeth Inn Freeport, responded to this review

Good day everyone. Firstly, i would like to apologize for the lack of satisfaction of your stay. I would like to inform you that the hotel was closed for about 4 months completing renovations and are currently under new management. I can tell you, personally, that we have made some very significant changes and if you email me at Freeportplazahotel@gmail.com... More

Cadott, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

DIRTY!! We were in a room so moldy that I woke up and could hardly breath. Stayed one night because there was no time to change hotels before our activities that were planned. I had to throw away clothing because even after washing them they still smelled like mold. There were mouse droppings in the bed in the morning. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
swatsonp, Manager at Elizabeth Inn Freeport, responded to this review

Good day everyone. Firstly, i would like to apologize for the lack of satisfaction of your stay. I would like to inform you that the hotel was closed for about 4 months completing renovations and are currently under new management. I can tell you, personally, that we have made some very significant changes and if you email me at Freeportplazahotel@gmail.com... More

Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

The worse hotel I almost stayed at. No sign on the outside, suppose to be on order. Stuff all over the motel in check-in area etc. Pillows were soiled and without pillow covers the sheets smelled like smoke and sweat, in a no smoking room. Bathroom floor was dirty and toilet had scum in it. The sheets were ripped and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northern Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

First let me say that I have stayed at Traveldge Inns before. I do not need to stay at a five star hotel to be happy but I was scared staying at this one. It was dirty, creepy and one of the worst places I have ever seen in my life. I was afraid to sit on the bed &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Elizabeth Inn Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Inn Freeport

Address: 1300 East. South Street, Freeport, IL 61032 (Formerly Freeport Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > Illinois > Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elizabeth Inn Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Freeport
Freeport Travel Lodge
Freeport Travelodge

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay