We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Freeport hotels

Elizabeth Inn Freeport

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 East. South Street, Freeport, IL 61032 (Formerly Freeport Plaza Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Elizabeth Inn Freeport to your Saves list
Elizabeth Inn Freeport
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
23%
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Freeport
  • Reviews (21)
  • Photos (8)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    0
    1
    15
See reviews for
7
3
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WAUWATOSA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was booked here by Super 8 customer care after a horrendous situation at the Super 8 in Merriville IN (see review). I arrived here about 6pm with a friendly greeting from the desk clerk. She welcomed both me and my dog and made us feel comfortable right from the start, she explained about the morning breakfast and said if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Found this hotel as a last resort after calling a few different hotels in the area about my baby, Sheku a 11 year old shitzu dog. Other hotels wanted $25 extra for her! Back in my day it was only a $5 deposit for my shitzu. I breed them but could leave my baby behind at the farm for 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The room was clean, beds were comfortable, speedy Internet connection and safe. Was a little weary about a bus stop being on the property but no one was loitering.receptionist recommended a delicious family owned and operated pizza place and had a coupon for it. AND FOR 59.99, you cant beat it. My husband and I will defiantly be coming back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rockford, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Please keep in mined it is under new management! Everyone deserve a chance. We were very please with the service. We had a party of 75 people. We had the banquet hall and it was very nice and big and clean. Jeff & Donna was very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and big.They helped anyone in my party... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

Walked into the lobby of this "hotel" and immediately smelled mold... Took 15 minutes for a person to talk to me... She couldnt spell my name, it's JOSEPH... Paid $65 and went to the room... OMG SOOOOOOO GROSS, you could see mold everywhere, shower, carpet, bed smelled of mold... Couldnt stay here, was afraid maybe there would be bed bugs,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Thanks to tripadvisor.com I read these reviews and changed our reservation to another hotel in the area about 2 weeks before arriving in town. Unfortunately I neglected to warn our family members that also made reservations here. We visited them the night they checked in and were horrified at what we saw. They had 4 rooms and each had its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
swatsonp, Manager at Elizabeth Inn Freeport, responded to this review

Good day everyone. Firstly, i would like to apologize for the lack of satisfaction of your stay. I would like to inform you that the hotel was closed for about 4 months completing renovations and are currently under new management. I can tell you, personally, that we have made some very significant changes and if you email me at Freeportplazahotel@gmail.com... More

Cadott, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

DIRTY!! We were in a room so moldy that I woke up and could hardly breath. Stayed one night because there was no time to change hotels before our activities that were planned. I had to throw away clothing because even after washing them they still smelled like mold. There were mouse droppings in the bed in the morning. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
swatsonp, Manager at Elizabeth Inn Freeport, responded to this review

Good day everyone. Firstly, i would like to apologize for the lack of satisfaction of your stay. I would like to inform you that the hotel was closed for about 4 months completing renovations and are currently under new management. I can tell you, personally, that we have made some very significant changes and if you email me at Freeportplazahotel@gmail.com... More

Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

The worse hotel I almost stayed at. No sign on the outside, suppose to be on order. Stuff all over the motel in check-in area etc. Pillows were soiled and without pillow covers the sheets smelled like smoke and sweat, in a no smoking room. Bathroom floor was dirty and toilet had scum in it. The sheets were ripped and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northern Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

First let me say that I have stayed at Traveldge Inns before. I do not need to stay at a five star hotel to be happy but I was scared staying at this one. It was dirty, creepy and one of the worst places I have ever seen in my life. I was afraid to sit on the bed &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rwubben
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

I am originally from Freeport and can remember when this hotel was a decent place to stay (it was a Holiday Inn then). My wife's father died and we returned for the funeral. I booked the hotel online, because I am cheap and was not expecting to spend a lot of time in the room. Like all of the other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Elizabeth Inn Freeport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Elizabeth Inn Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Inn Freeport

Address: 1300 East. South Street, Freeport, IL 61032 (Formerly Freeport Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > Illinois > Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Elizabeth Inn Freeport 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Elizabeth Inn Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Freeport
Freeport Travel Lodge
Freeport Travelodge

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
90

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer