We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Evanston hotels

BEST WESTERN University Plaza

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Sherman Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN University Plaza to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN University Plaza
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Evanston
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Nickibrowneyes Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Overview
  • Reviews (282)
  • Photos (25)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (32)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    95
    82
    43
    23
See reviews for
114
46
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My girlfriends and I were in town for a musical performance given by a family member. We stayed for three nights. The staff were friendly at check-in. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and had good cable/remote. The bathroom had a loose toilet, though, which made one feel as if they were going through the wall every time they sat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Generally, we have had good experiences with the staff and facility at this hotel. The past two times we have stayed there, however, the pool's heater has been broken. Several weeks elapsed between those stays, so there seemed to have been plenty of time to fix that.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Unionville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

With the exception of the train going by every 2 seconds, its a great place to stay with a helpful staff! you DO get used to the train tho and it shouldn't bother your sleep. The breakfast is great! A lot more choices than your regular hotel/motels. I will definitely stay here again if I head back to Evanston!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tuscola, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Evanston is pricey, but with senior rates available, the Best Western was a great value for this area. The hotel has been there a long time, but it is generally kept in very nice, clean condition. Best Western has a very good complimentary breakfast which adds a great deal to the value of the stay. Can't say that using the... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niles, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The clerk told me the card reader would not take my credit card. i was tired after a long day and did not think of asking him to try manually typing in the number. He did not offer to do so, leaving me a bit stressed trying to come up with a back up card. had he turned me out... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waverly, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have family living in the area, so wanted to be within walking distance of them. Not only were we close to almost everything we wanted to do, but the hotel itself proved to be comfortable and clean. Our only complaint was the cost of parking which, unfortunately, is unavoidable in larger suburbs (such as Evanston) where parking is at... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BestWestern1501, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We always enjoy when families come to visit as we get to become part of the extended family. We hope that we continue to be your choice of accommodations when visiting Evanston and look forward to seeing you again soon. More

United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very dirty for the price. I was booked for 3 days but after the first night cancelled my reservations and made one, for the same price, at an EXTREMELY nicer hotel right up the block. The room we had was very noisy, our door would not close, the shower had a leak and sprayed all over the bathroom, the curtains... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestWestern1501, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Plaza, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations while at our property. We are undergoing a major renovation and if you have the time, I would love to talk to you more about your experience so I may follow up to make sure your concerns are addressed by our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Please contact me... More

Omaha, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our stay was fantastic! The staff were very helpful at check in as there was construction going on outside at the time. Our room was very cozy, nothing special just simple and fine with me. The beds were very comfy and our view was fantastic! The free breakfast was the best. So many different choices! Even my kids ate something!... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestWestern1501, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Plaza, responded to this review

We love Fantastic! Thank you for your comments and we very much appreciate hearing you had a fantastic visit while in Evanston. We also appreciate the patience and understanding of all of our guests through not only our renovation, but the city working outside as well. Have a wonderful summer and we look forward to your return. More

Spring Grove, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I booked a king executive room with a microwave and refrigerator through Visa points. When I arrrived, I was told that room was not available. So they offered a King room and would try to get a microwave and refrigerator. They only got a refrigerator. They said it would be difficult to give me a credit because I booked through... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestWestern1501, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. During the renovation process, rooms are unfortunately not always available, but am happy that we did get you a refrigerator during your stay. As we discussed while you were here, we will be glad to assist you with your future stays in Evanston. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Ann Arbor, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very good 3-star hotel, and given its location, an excellent value. Amenities and services are all good and reliable. We stayed here during college visit to Northwestern. Will stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestWestern1501, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are always happy when we hear that we have a great value as we try to provide each guest with great service and a clean room. We look forward to seeing you on future visits to Northwestern and Evanston! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN University Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN University Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Plaza

Address: 1501 Sherman Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN University Plaza 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Plaza Hotel Evanston
Best Western Hotel Evanston
Evanston Best Western

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
159

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer