We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Homestead

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
1625 Hinman Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201
The Homestead
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
A recent review
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    48
    40
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
43
31
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a little spot that is old-school wonderful. With a son that goes to Northwestern, it is our favorite spot to stay. However, since it is small and old, and there are not too many rooms, when you get there, you may feel they are a bit pricey for what you get (supply and demand). Nevertheless, we have already... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a pleasant treasure in Evanston to be housed in a very elegant property within walking distance to the lake beach. Very well situated in a very nice neighborhood. It is not your big chain variety. The staff are very kind and courteous. There is of course high speed internet and there are flat screen TV's if you need them.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alpine, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The most irritating thing... After being checked in for over an hour (after 3pm) and traveling all day during a major thunderstorm, looking forward to a nice hot shower, there were no towels in my room for a shower. I called the front desk twice to request them. They told me they are 'in the laundry' and that I will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Evanston is very nice area. This hotel is located near the restaurants, you can walk arount the area and enjoy the lake shore park and all the beautiful houses and mansions in the neighbourhood. The hotel itself has many things outdated. Our room was very small but we had a nice view to the lake Michigan. It was the upmost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Nice people at the desk. The rest is bad. Old, worn out furniture, terrible lift, bad breakfast. Very close to Northwestern University. Try to avoid this hotel. However, the restaurant in this hotel is very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

A comfortable place to stay with an old time feel. Staff were courteous and friendly. We enjoyed taking our continental breakfast out to the front porch. Rooms are clean and nicely sized. We had a queen bed and were able to move around easily and use the desk and armchairs. Walk-in closet housed a small refrigerator and had enough room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

its not a bad hotel but has some serious issues.. I had to move rooms half way through the trip, both rooms were big, BUT, the beds are awful, you can feel the springs, they are very small and thin covings, in my second bathroom i could not sit on the toilet without my right arm above my sholder sitting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We stopped off to see if they had accommodation and were told no. We called Hotels.com to see what they had available and were told The Homestead had a room !! We booked via hotels.com and went in about 15min later with our luggage. The room we had was very tired looking. Lots of cracked tiles in the bathroom and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

A small hotel with a nice feel to it. If you are arriving late, you have to wait for a caretaker but everything is very quaint. Really enjoyed our stay here, it makes such a change from the American Industrial type hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words about our property. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We especially appreciate you mentioning the difference between The Homestead and that of an Industrial American hotel. We love providing a place to kick back, relax, and pause, and are so grateful to know that you had such a wonderful experience. We... More 

Muskego, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I stayed her one night with my girlfriend and daughters. I bought my girls tickets to the Kings of Leon Concert at the United Center in March 2014. We stayed in one of the apartments which was very quaint and was able to accommodate all of us. Loved the charm of this Inn. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor, it sounds like you had a wonderful time in Chicagoland! We love knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our accommodations were spacious and charming! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in town. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay