We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin

#4 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
405 Airport Road, Elgin, IL 60123
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Chicago\/Elgin
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Niles, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pricing for the hotel is reasonable in comparison to others. The hotel staff, Serina in particular, is quite welcoming and willing to share recommendations on local dining and entertainment. The breakfast is similar to other chains, however their mixed fruit is some of the best I have had from hotels and restaurants alike.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth D
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review! Serina is definitely an asset to our hotel and we are pleased to know she was a big help for you. We will certainly recognize her for her efforts. We can't wait to see you again, soon! Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
394 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Hampton Inn seems a little older and just a little worn. Check in was fast and Friendly. I picked my room from my phone. I was on the second floor. My room was clean but a little small. The furniture seemed a little worn. The bed was comfortable. I do not like that the desk faces the wall. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank JeffreyTravel
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you pointed out, every Hampton will have slight differences from location to location. I will certainly check into the negatives you referred to, however. We will be undergoing a hotel renovation in the near future that will very likely address some of the items you listed. We hope to see you again on a... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was very friendly, lower cost, off the beaten path hotel. Perfect for my business trip to Carpentersville. Also close enough to family and friends. Recommend getting an upper floor room on the end.

Helpful?
Thank Randall L
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We do pride ourselves on competitive rates, quiet rooms and friendly service. Very pleased to know that we achieved that with you on your recent stay. Hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

Howard, Wi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Located just off I90 on the north side of Elgin, this is an older Hampton Inn. My room was a small and a bit worn, but it was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Like all hotels of this brand, free hot and cold breakfast is provided. The there is one restaurant within walking distance, but plan... More 

Helpful?
Thank troglodad
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your good review! We appreciate the feedback. Hope to see you again on your next trip! Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went for a training class not happy and it started to snow. When I was greeted by smiling faces and staff so happy to see me. I had an uneventful check-in and beautiful rood. Took a swim, ate delicious meal and retired to a great bed that was fixed tight and snug. Awesome people, awesome stay.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kit C
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review! We are very pleased to know that you were able to take full advantage of our great amenities. We hope to see you again on another trip. Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Elgin IL. We had come to visit family over the Christmas holiday. The room was very clean and so was the lobby, pool area, breakfast area. We were very happy with the service of the staff, they were very helpful and friendly. I will be staying here again next year when we come... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank keigansmama
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review! Our staff is pleased to know that you had a great stay and we certainly look forward to hosting you again in the future! Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

As my sister and I continued on our cross-country trip, we encountered the tail end of a tornado just outside of Chicago about 12 miles from where we were. Through the driving rain, thunder and lightening, and brutal winds we spotted the familiar Hampton Inn sign and made the decision to forgo traveling any farther that night and to stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank msdsec
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! Glad to know we could be a bit of a haven for you during a bad storm. I will certainly have the issues you mentioned checked into. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in on a future trip! Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

This hotel is really great overall. The only thing I did not like was the tv reception. I think the hotel is using satellite tv and not cable tv. They should switch to cable tv for more consistent quality of reception.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Very sorry for the inconveniences experienced during your recent stay. We hope you will stay with us again and we can deliver a better experience for you. Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

Union City, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

My family was in town for my sister's funeral. Having a nice friendly clean place to stay was great. Good sleeping conditions and good breakfast. Hampton was close to the church and restaurant. All the staff was very helpful as to answer any questions we had. breakfast area was nice for family to gather and talk. Was good to have... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wanda M
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. So sorry to hear of your loss. Hopefully, we were able to make the days a little more bearable during a difficult time for you and your family. Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

Reykjanes, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

Big, clean room. Polite and helpful staff. Breakfast included in room price. Refrigerator in the room. I stayed for a whole week and will go there again if I'm in the area. My only complaint is that the area expects that you have a car. The hotel has a shuttle, though, and contacts with local taxis.

Helpful?
Thank Kolbrún V
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review! It's nice to know that you enjoyed our amenities and our friendly staff! See you again soon. Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
Comfort Suites Elgin
#3 of 8 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay