We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin

#4 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
405 Airport Road, Elgin, IL 60123
Special Offer
Book Ahead and Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Chicago\/Elgin
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    89
    77
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
82
41
11
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (230)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Leland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice breakfast and had an outstanding server who went around offering to refresh our coffee every morning. We had a room on the back of the second floor and it was extremely quiet. This Hampton offers easy access to any route or interstate and it was the perfect location to give us easy access to our various relatives' homes.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review! We certainly loved having you as our guest and we look forward to your return! I'll have that air conditioning unit checked in that particular room. See you soon! Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

Armington, Illinois
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms need a little updating; specifically the beds. They were really uncomfortable. The staff was fairly helpful though. There also was no option to keep the fan on the air conditioner going constantly.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I'm very sorry to read about the beds. That is not the norm at our location, so I'll definitely have that room checked. Additionally, we are undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation in the coming months in which mattresses will be replaced at that time. I certainly hope we are able to host you... More 

Hainesville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although the staff was friendly, this hotel is an absolute embarassment to the Hampton brand, let alone the Hilton brand! I stay in Hamptons very often and this was by far the worst Hampton room I have ever been in. Entering the room was a musty, moldy smell. The carpet and even the linens all felt damp. So much so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies on any and all inconveniences regarding room quality on your recent stay with us. I will personally check into the specific issues you mentioned and have them rectified right away. Soon, we will be undergoing an extensive hotel renovation that will likely resolve many of the items you referred to. Again, our deepest apologies. Kind... More 

cooma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here enroute to O'Hare airport . The hotel is very clean and tidy the staff are very helpful. It has everthing you need pool, laundry free wifi and close to the 90 exit. The gas station is across the road and a shopping mall is just up the road location is good. The rooms are modern and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I'm glad to see you enjoyed our service and amenities. It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we certainly hope to see you again real soon! Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in route cross county and had just stayed a week in a new Hampton Inn suite for less money. Location, and a great staff, including local dining recommendations,helped in our trek. Overall a very good stay. Thank you.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback on your recent visit with us! Very nice to know that you enjoyed our staff friendliness and comfort of the hotel. We love having you with us and can't wait for your return trip! Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this is likely the oldest hotel in the area, but it is well kept. the staff is very good at meeting your needs. good value for the money. however the breakfast needs a makeover. the eggs were horrible.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are showing our age a bit, but not to fear...we have a beautiful new renovation on tap soon. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our staff friendliness and your overall stay. Hope to see you again in the near future! Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

Kalamazoo
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

My daughter and I stayed here for a softball tournament since it was close to the fields. Staff was helpful and friendly. Room was clean and neat. It was also quiet even though we were right next to the elevator and ice machine! Breakfast was very good too. Note: pool at this time (July 2015) is being renovated, so that... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive and kind feedback! We certainly enjoyed having you here. We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay and hope you did well in the softball tournament! Hope to see you again next year. Kind Regards, Hampton Inn Management More 

Kentwood, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

My daughter and I came to Elgin for a softball tournament and the team stayed at this hotel. The first impression of the hotel and the team members behind the counter was great. The place was very clean, the staff very helpful and friendly. The housekeeping staff did a fantastic job with the room and was also very friendly and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We really do pride ourselves on great service, cleanliness, and amenities. We are pleased to see that was the case on your stay with us. Hope to see you again real soon! Kind Regards, Hampton Inn Management More 

minneapolis
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Hampton Inns are always nice but this one may have fall a hair short. It may be that it’s just older. The pool was closed at this time. Great breakfast but limited seating. Service was quite good, especially in the breakfast area. It’s a very quiet area, so sleep was no problem. Easy access from the freeway, plenty of parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback! While we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay and the area, it is with great pride that we alert you of our upcoming room renovation project. We are confident it will address the drawbacks you referred to. Stay tuned for exciting developments with that. We hope to see you again... More 

Elgin, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Room carpet was very stained and dirty, feet would stick to the carpet barefoot, the room smelled terrible, mold in the shower, the chair, well you couldnt pay me to sit on it. I cancelled my stay and went elsewhere. very dissappointed as a Hhonors member.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for any and all inconveniences during your stay. While I assure you that the items you referred to at our location are rare, it is disheartening to see that you were not satisfied. I will certainly look into the things you mentioned for corrective actions. It is feedback such... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
Comfort Suites Elgin
#3 of 8 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay