We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin

#4 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
2.5 of 5
Hotel deals
Hotel website
405 Airport Road, Elgin, IL 60123
Special Offer
Book Ahead and Save 15%
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
BCNDWorld minneapolis
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    86
    74
    45
    13
    4
See reviews for
78
39
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (222)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
minneapolis
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hampton Inns are always nice but this one may have fall a hair short. It may be that it’s just older. The pool was closed at this time. Great breakfast but limited seating. Service was quite good, especially in the breakfast area. It’s a very quiet area, so sleep was no problem. Easy access from the freeway, plenty of parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elgin, United States
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room carpet was very stained and dirty, feet would stick to the carpet barefoot, the room smelled terrible, mold in the shower, the chair, well you couldnt pay me to sit on it. I cancelled my stay and went elsewhere. very dissappointed as a Hhonors member.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a picky person and ALWAYS find something at a hotel that I could (and do) complain about. This is one of the best if not the best hotel I have stayed at in terms of facilities, staff, and value. The facility was excellent and clean. We used the exercise room and everything in there looked brand new including... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are humbled by your words and certainly hope to host you again soon! Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly and responsive staff. Clean accommodation. I complained to the staff about lingering smell of smoke in my no smoking room. The staff responded promptly an ran an ozone applicator to clear the smell. Hey, I am from Minnesota where public are are smoke free - no mix of smoking/non-smoking in same establishment.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We will actually be undergoing renovation soon in which we will be converting any remaining smoking rooms into non-smoking rooms. Thank you for the valuable feedback as we always look for opportunities for improvement. Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel appears to be fairly new. The room was a good size with contemporary decoration. The bathroom mirror was quite nice; however, the bathroom lighting was not very good. Overall, the hotel was a fair price for the quality of the accommodations.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It is certainly appreciated and on behalf of the staff, we hope to have you back soon! Kind Regards, Jason Dusenberry General Manager More 

Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the worse Hampton we stay. Old and outdated. Carpet is very old and sticky. Breakfast has few varieties. The best is the price, much cheaper than others in the area. Location is ok, not noisy, easy to find

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

We were sorry to read about some of the items you mentioned regarding your recent stay. We do have an extensive renovation planned for the near future that should address many, if not all of those things. We know that once it is complete, it will be a real transformation of our product and will be a real crowd pleaser.... More 

Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There were some things that I found good about this hotel. The location was very convenient to I-90, so access on and off the highway was very quick. Despite its proximity to the highway, the room was very quiet. Breakfast was ok, and the breakfast staff lady was very friendly and assisted us more than anybody else on the staff.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. While pleased to know that you enjoyed breakfast and the convenience of our location, it was disheartening to learn of the other negatives. Please be assured, we do take any and all feedback seriously and will certainly look into the things you mentioned. We hope you give us consideration for a future... More 

Lake Villa, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unlike other Hampton's I have stayed at, there is no clear cut "No smoking" policy. The hallways absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke and the room we stayed in smelled like something died in it. When I addressed the issue with the front desk staff they said "they would look into it". A very disappointing experience.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay. We do have a few smoking rooms at the end of one of our corridors in our hotel. We will be undergoing renovation soon and, at that time, we will be eliminating the smoking rooms at our location. Kind Regards, Hampton Inn Management More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good. Nice breakfast. Good people watching. Clean bathroom. The bad. No pool BC it was under construction. Lots of people in pajamas at breakfast. Old ladies in see through night gowns. My eyes! The ugly. Third floor smells like smoke. Must have been old smoking floor or something. Avoid. The second floor is MUCH better. Terribly uncomfortable bed. Had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. As you wrote about both good and bad, we always praise the good and follow up on the bad. Either way, it gives us a solid idea of what we are doing well and what we need to improve upon. We hope to see you again as our guest! Kind Regards, Hampton... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They didn't have the room that I had booked online and couldn't explain to me why this was despite me having a reference number. I was offered a smoking king bed room, or a double, which I accepted, and then tried to charge me a rate higher than what I had booked online! Sadly this is not a non smoking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonInnElgin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Our coming renovation will address many of the items reviewed, however we are more than happy to look into the items you reviewed. It is valuable feedback like yours that helps us grow as a hotel. We hope to have you as our guest again soon. Kind Regards, Hampton... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
Comfort Suites Elgin
#3 of 8 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay