We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Elgin hotels

Lexington Inn & Suites

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1585 Dundee Avenue, Elgin, IL 60120 (Formerly The Elgin Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lexington Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Lexington Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
22%
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Elgin
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    5
    8
    22
See reviews for
10
4
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skokie
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good for a man to just get a night's sleep economically, but I regret bringing my wife here. The name sounds like a Hotel, but it's a motel. Also, when a lodge seems neglected, it sort of feels unsafe. Alternative access door (3rd door from main) was unlocked (we needed no access card to pull the door open). Poor lighting.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexingtonmanagement, General Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

hello Niaz, we have done many new renovations since your stay here with us. We have recently changed the locks on the entrance doors. We changed the light fixtures in the halls. We are a very safe hotel. we apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. We are glad to hear your feedback. Have a beautiful day Joshua... More

Marquette, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I am a upper class stay at home mom of 3. My family loves to travel so I always look for the best deal. We figure the less we spend on lodging the move fun we can have. Upon Arrival we should have turned around. We had booked 3 nights and when we checked in discovered the pool was out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexingtonmanagement, Front Office Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

hello Love2explore120, I would like to personally say I do not cut and paste my responses and I am deeply sorry for the way the employee treated you during your stay here. I will get to the bottom of this incident with the refund for you. If you would like to get in contact with me or any other employee... More

ishpeming
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had book 3 nights and couldn't even stay thru the first night! We will not be going back and I strongly urge everyone else to stay else where I've stayed in a lot of hotels before but this was by far the worst! I've never had such bad customer service in my life the staff is the rudest I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexingtonmanagement, Front Office Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Kerry S, We are sorry for your inconveince here. We try to keep are costumers happy. each and everyone of them. thank you and have a nice day Joshua Johnson front desk clerk More

Amarillo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

with a microwave, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The downfall and the reason for my Review was due to the pool being closed for construction and of very sad excuse for continental breakfast. The continental breakfast had bagels but no cream cheese two different types of cold cereal and mediocre coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lexingtonmanagement, General Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello sir we are sorry to hear about your convenience with our continental breakfast. Thank you for telling us about the breakfast. Since that day we have kept an eye on our breakfast ( our delivery guy was stuck in the snow storm and was running late.) Thanks again for the comment! have a wonderful day Joshua Johnson general manager More

Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here. Its worth the money but a few things to keep in mind. Pros: 1. Cheap 2. The heater is stinking awesome. Stayed toasty the entire time in the winter during my stay 3. Right off the highway Cons 1. No room service 2. Internet is really slow and rarely worked. You will need a hotspot here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lexingtonmanagement, Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello Aaron M, Thank you for the review, we are sorry to hear that the wireless internet was slow. we have made our internet faster so you can accomplish your work faster and easier. we are a family friendly hotel and we are 100% safe so you have nothing to worry about. we thank you for your stay and hope... More

Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My son was traveling cross country to visit family for the first time in 2 years. Their online site said they offered military discount. When he went to check in they refused to give him discount. Absolutely reprehensible the way this hotel treated a military member. Hotel is supposed to be non-smokoing and entire hotel stunk of cigarette smoke. Horrible... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexingtonmanagement, Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello John P, We are sorry to hear about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for his inconvenience. We do offer military discount for those in the military. You have to have a military card with you in order to get the discount. On behalf of us at Lexington inn and suites I would like to apologize... More

Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I needed to make a hotel reservation last minute because of a family emergency. I didn't want to spend a lot and I needed something close to where we were going to be. I had stayed here in the past when it was under different ownership and it was a dive. The new owners have upgraded and improved this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexingtonmanagement, Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello sh0rtnsassy, Thanks for the review, we are happy to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. We are glad that you like the renovations. We hope to see you again, have a great day! Joshua Johnson general manager More

Portage, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My sig. other and I were in town for a wedding. The reception was hosted at the McGraw Wildlife Foundation, so this would have been a perfect location, only 1/2 mile away. The photos online are very misleading. Yes, they do have a 'trendy' new "front desk" area with fancy lighting fixtures and LED rope lights etc, but that is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elgin, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife checked in early afternoon with the kids. I came after work early in the evening. I'm was approach by a man in the parking lot trying to sell drugs. There were a lot of questionable people roaming around the hotel. We were pulling the side of the bed away from the wall to get ready to sleep and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Our family has stayed here more than once. Definitely not perfect but for $50 a night, worth it. The pool has 50% of the time been open and definitely not heated. Breakfast is so-so but kids were happy with cereal and muffins. Rooms look nice but not always clean. Staff is happy to move you though if you aren't satisfied.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Lexington Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
The Elgin Hotel Elgin
The Elgin Hotel
Elgin Days Inn
Address: 1585 Dundee Avenue, Elgin, IL 60120 (Formerly The Elgin Inn)
Location: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lexington Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently hotel is under major renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lexington Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lexington Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.