We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Elgin hotels

Lexington Inn & Suites

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1585 Dundee Avenue, Elgin, IL 60120 (Formerly The Elgin Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lexington Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Lexington Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
20%
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Elgin
  • Reviews (48)
  • Photos (19)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    5
    9
    25
See reviews for
11
4
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I get stung up been there since November till recently here in July and they blamed me for the bed bugs Then kicked me out I filed a report to police department the place is filthy and would not recommend it my worst enemy

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Will NEVER stay there again. Two different times my sheets were filthy and the 2nd time it had sex stains. Grossed me out how disgusting and lazy a housekeeper would have to be to just ignore it and just make the bed with old nasty sheets after a couple had checked out. Makes me sick to even think about it!!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexingtonmanagement, General Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I apologize for the problem you had during your stay with us. I would like to say we have newly employed housekeepers on staff now. If you can contact me at lexingtonelgin@gmail.com or by phone at 8476952100, so I can help you with this problem. Thank you have a wonderful day Joshua Johnson General Manager More

Atalissa, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel was decently priced and all of the photos (including the ones that they show in the lobby) looked amazing - similar to a Holday Inn (which was only $40 more, I would suggest taking the money and staying there). When we got to the room, it smelled like stale smoke (we reserved a non smoking room). The fridge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joshua J, General Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

i would like to personally apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us. The housekeepers do not use the bin as a dirty towel bin, they keep the clean towels in it and have a separate cart to put the dirty towels in. I was not aware that they only gave you one towel. They are allowed... More

Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Call first, swimming pool closed (would have been nice to know), no first floor rooms because they were being painted (yet Saturday they were cleaning first floor rooms). And the topping on the cake, employees who don't know how to book a room correctly, imagine our surprise when we came back to our room on our last night and our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joshua J, General Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

On behalf of Lexington inn & suites i would like to sincerely apologize for your troubles during your stay. We have retrained all our employees to the absolute perfection. We have new employees on staff. Our pool is open it was just closed to be repaired. If you would like to discuss this i would love to hear from you.... More

Skokie
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Good for a man to just get a night's sleep economically, but I regret bringing my wife here. The name sounds like a Hotel, but it's a motel. Also, when a lodge seems neglected, it sort of feels unsafe. Alternative access door (3rd door from main) was unlocked (we needed no access card to pull the door open). Poor lighting.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexingtonmanagement, General Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

hello Niaz, we have done many new renovations since your stay here with us. We have recently changed the locks on the entrance doors. We changed the light fixtures in the halls. We are a very safe hotel. we apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. We are glad to hear your feedback. Have a beautiful day Joshua... More

Marquette, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I am a upper class stay at home mom of 3. My family loves to travel so I always look for the best deal. We figure the less we spend on lodging the move fun we can have. Upon Arrival we should have turned around. We had booked 3 nights and when we checked in discovered the pool was out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lexingtonmanagement, Front Office Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

hello Love2explore120, I would like to personally say I do not cut and paste my responses and I am deeply sorry for the way the employee treated you during your stay here. I will get to the bottom of this incident with the refund for you. If you would like to get in contact with me or any other employee... More

ishpeming
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had book 3 nights and couldn't even stay thru the first night! We will not be going back and I strongly urge everyone else to stay else where I've stayed in a lot of hotels before but this was by far the worst! I've never had such bad customer service in my life the staff is the rudest I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lexingtonmanagement, Front Office Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Kerry S, We are sorry for your inconveince here. We try to keep are costumers happy. each and everyone of them. thank you and have a nice day Joshua Johnson front desk clerk More

Amarillo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

with a microwave, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The downfall and the reason for my Review was due to the pool being closed for construction and of very sad excuse for continental breakfast. The continental breakfast had bagels but no cream cheese two different types of cold cereal and mediocre coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lexingtonmanagement, General Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello sir we are sorry to hear about your convenience with our continental breakfast. Thank you for telling us about the breakfast. Since that day we have kept an eye on our breakfast ( our delivery guy was stuck in the snow storm and was running late.) Thanks again for the comment! have a wonderful day Joshua Johnson general manager More

Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here. Its worth the money but a few things to keep in mind. Pros: 1. Cheap 2. The heater is stinking awesome. Stayed toasty the entire time in the winter during my stay 3. Right off the highway Cons 1. No room service 2. Internet is really slow and rarely worked. You will need a hotspot here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lexingtonmanagement, Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello Aaron M, Thank you for the review, we are sorry to hear that the wireless internet was slow. we have made our internet faster so you can accomplish your work faster and easier. we are a family friendly hotel and we are 100% safe so you have nothing to worry about. we thank you for your stay and hope... More

Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My son was traveling cross country to visit family for the first time in 2 years. Their online site said they offered military discount. When he went to check in they refused to give him discount. Absolutely reprehensible the way this hotel treated a military member. Hotel is supposed to be non-smokoing and entire hotel stunk of cigarette smoke. Horrible... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexingtonmanagement, Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello John P, We are sorry to hear about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for his inconvenience. We do offer military discount for those in the military. You have to have a military card with you in order to get the discount. On behalf of us at Lexington inn and suites I would like to apologize... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lexington Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lexington Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Inn & Suites

Address: 1585 Dundee Avenue, Elgin, IL 60120 (Formerly The Elgin Inn)
Location: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lexington Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lexington Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elgin Hotel Elgin
Elgin Days Inn

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Elgin with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Currently hotel is under major renovation. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
96

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Lexington Inn & Suites and other travelers.
1 question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lexington Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer