We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairgrounds Inn Du Quoin

1520 S Washington Street, DuQuoin, IL 62832
Hotel amenities
Fairgrounds Inn Du Quoin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in DuQuoin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015
ihwi Athens, Wisconsin
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
15
2
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

BEWARE: We recently stayed here for 2 nights. When we arrived the sink drain mechanism was down and you couldn't raise it up so nothing drained. The next morning I left a tip for the maid with a note and we reported it to the desk clerk then left for the day about 7:30a.m. We did not return till around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Athens, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

We stayed there March 8, 2015 and the room was clean and the person who checked us in was very friendly and pleasant. We just wanted a good night's sleep so we did not worry about the wi-fi or anything else. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of water pressure for a nice shower. Not any good places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
O'Fallon, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

You ask about the internet and passcode, I don't know how to get it to work. Our team stayed there. Some of us were overcharged. When you call there the front desk person can never help you. You have to talk to Chastity who is never there. Reading their book at the front desk is much more important that helping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chasity M, Manager at Fairgrounds Inn Du Quoin, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had difficulty with the internet. Our wireless system does not have a password. In speaking to you I did provide a $7.00 discount from the rate on the Registration card that you signed at check-in. My personal cell number is on my business cards that are placed at the front desk, and I was at... More 

Rockford, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

I was told by people who stay in Du Quion often that this is the best hotel in town. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable enough. I paid the same price for a much nicer hotel in Chattanooga the next night, but there is more competition there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

With in the first 30 mins of our stay we have to kill mice! Took it up to the desk the manager took it threw it away & laughed historically & said we are NOT getting our $$ back! Don't care if its a yearly event at the fair grounds I will pay the higher $$ for a different hotel!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chasity M, General Manager at Fairgrounds Inn Du Quoin, responded to this review

I am the General Manager, this is the first I am hearing of this. We have no other manager, so when you say the manager I think you are mistaken. I am very sorry to hear your stay was not to your standards. If you would like to discuss this further PLEASE call me. Chasity Mcroberts 618-542-5000 More 

PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Listen, this is not a five star hotel....but for a mid-western town with a pop of 6600 people, it's not a Lowes hotel or W, nor does it offer room or bottle service...lol....but, it has the essentials, it was clean and comfortable. Honestly, if you know anything about DuQuoin there's not much to the town. But, this hotel serves it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was a mediocre 2 star hotel. The walls were extremely thin and conversations in others rooms could easily be heard. They allow pets and had a dog barking a few rooms away. Also, the previous comments about the Wifi are valid. We had no wifi the entire weekend. When I called to ask about it, I was told that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Athens, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

-High water pressure (sink & shower) -Nice beds -Lots of space -Friendly -Wifi -Fluffy waffles (Mmmm) -Used to be a Best Western but has been renovated to the Fairfield Inn. Overall it's a nice place. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chasity M, General Manager at Fairgrounds Inn Du Quoin, responded to this review

Thanks so much for choosing to stat with us!! I hope you will keep us in mind for your future visit to DuQuoin Il. OH.... P.S. I LOVE THOSE WAFFLES TOO More 

Bradley, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Fairgrounds Inn was a very nice place to stay. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. We stayed there 10/26/2013 and the pool was open and clean. The staff was very friendly and the continental breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this motel to anyone staying in this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Chasity M, General Manager at Fairgrounds Inn Du Quoin, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent stay. I'm glad you took the time to enjoy the pool. More 

Downers Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I am very particular of where I stay and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with my visit here. The staff was very friendly and helpful, they were great! The rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable. It was a nice stay! Price was reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. I recommend staying here if you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chasity M, General Manager at Fairgrounds Inn Du Quoin, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. I am glad that you stayed with us, on your recent visit to DuQuoin. Don't hesitate to call us with any of your other travel needs. We will be glad to hear from you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question