We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3150 Finley Road, Downers Grove, IL 60515
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015
jeffery312 Chicago, Illinois
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
3
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Sylva, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed at ESA across the US and found this one to be a big disappointment. Do dishes in the room, no coffee pot, and no hair dryer. I guess I can understand about the dishes since people steal, but the others? The sign in the room said call the front desk and they would bring them to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Find something else. I checked in late and my room was so bad I left. 1- mold on the not working ac 2- massive dust on the air intake in bathroom 3- stains on bed spread 4- stains on closet curtain 5- cabinets falling apart 6- food crumbs in nightstand drawer 7- forgotten used towels behind bathroom door. This place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am so disappointed that you found our hotel to be in such poor condition both mechanically and in cleanliness. Please accept my apology. To uphold our company's high standards, I am retraining my team to ensure that the multiple issues you mentioned do... More 

Bellwood, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I give very honest reviews and if you stay here it's at your own risk. The review you may have seen regarding conditions by a guest is accurate. 1. Check your mattress carefully. It's not out of the norm to have blood, feces or urine stains. 2. Check the fridge and cabinets always dirty. 3. Every visit my bedding was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. It upsets me to hear the condition of your room was substandard and that you did not experience professional service from our staff. I am sorry for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am inspecting the mattresses prior to beds being made... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I'm a frequent visitor, as I travel for comedy. I love this location because of the friendly staff. Maryanne constantly makes me feel welcome, and bends over backwards to fix any issues that arise. This is great 4-star service for a 2-star price. I appreciate this location greatly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff and the great service they were able to provide. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Do NOT stay here. I booked this room for my husband and I for a business trip. Let me just start here... 1. They didn't even have our booking so we had to spend 20 min calling Expedia and having them fax over the info 2. The hallway leading to our room smelled overwhelmingly like indian food and weed. 3.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The room conditions you described are unacceptable and I sincerely apologize for your experience. To uphold our company’s high standards, I am retraining my team to ensure that the issues you found in your room do not happen again in the future. I will... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Excellent customer service and clean rooms. Definetly a good value! Only issue was non-functioning alarm clock and front desk scheduled wake-up call that I did not receive. Didn't partake in the breakfast so I can't rate it. I would stay again and bring my own alarm clock

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellwood, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

The front desk staff was extremely nice and attentive to the guest, however the hotel needed some updating. The kitchen area is really too small to cook for a family due to only two burners and they were so close to the wall it was not good for cooking. The kitchen area needs to be updated like some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to know that we were able to provide you with such good guest service. Still, please accept our apologies that some of the items in your room were in need of repair or replacement. Your feedback on these items will be useful to us as we continually... More 

Wheaton, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I was foreclosed/evicted from my home at the beginning of September. I was able to stay at my mother's place, but that was very time limited. While at my mom's, I began my search for an extended term residence. I found a couple that were too expensive. I also found several hotels, but they were all booked. Not the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove, responded to this review

The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such great things about staff. I am proud of our team for providing you with great guest service. We are so pleased to have provided you with an affordable and comfortable place to stay in your time of need. Once more, thank you for posting... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

When we arrived the Internet was down and the satellite was not working. It was raining and the staff said it would come back up; hours later it did. The room had an oddly unpleasant smell and the sheets, comforter and pillow cases smelled like someone had been sleeping on them. There were only 2 visible people working and service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove, responded to this review

Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. Please know that we are sincerely sorry that the internet and cable were down during your stay with us. I also apologize for the housekeeping and maintenance issues you had in your room, and that you did not feel that the staff responded to your concerns in the proper... More 

Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Joana at the front desk was very helpful! I stay there for 2 nights, lots of places to eat close by. Movies, and yorktwon mall all within walking distance. However, I found this area not too be very walking friendly as they were not sidewalks. Clean hotel and room. Very quiet area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are pleased to read that you found our staff to be so helpful and that our location was convenient for you. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities