We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3150 Finley Road, Downers Grove, IL 60515
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
A recent review
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    4
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
4
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Horrible terrible this hotel should be out of business. there was not one single glass cup plate bowl or even disposable plastic cups in the room nothing no coffee maker nothing. card on the counter said simply call us and we'll deliver any of these to your room. they would not deliver anything and when I went down and asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't stay there! Broken bath fixtures, Carpets not swept. Stayed in a non smoking room that was clearly a prior smoking room as yellow appliances would indicate. Grab and go breakfast was empty and no coffee at 7 am. (Not that i would have eaten anything from there)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived late, but had called to say we would be checking in late. The person at the front desk barely said two words to us. No welcome, no hello how are you, I see you came in from Michigan, etc...nothing. As we were standing there, another man came in behind the front desk and just stared at us. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights at this place and it is the most average hotel i've ever stayed at. But at a priceline offer at $40/night for a business trip, i thought it was one of those "you get what you pay for" type places. The front desk people were nice as we arrived. The place lacks a lot of things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

I have stayed at ESA across the US and found this one to be a big disappointment. Do dishes in the room, no coffee pot, and no hair dryer. I guess I can understand about the dishes since people steal, but the others? The sign in the room said call the front desk and they would bring them to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that our amenities were not what you expected. In response to your feedback, I am retraining our staff to ensure that we are clearly communicating our amenities as well as responding to guest needs in a timely manner. I am grateful... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Find something else. I checked in late and my room was so bad I left. 1- mold on the not working ac 2- massive dust on the air intake in bathroom 3- stains on bed spread 4- stains on closet curtain 5- cabinets falling apart 6- food crumbs in nightstand drawer 7- forgotten used towels behind bathroom door. This place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am so disappointed that you found our hotel to be in such poor condition both mechanically and in cleanliness. Please accept my apology. To uphold our company's high standards, I am retraining my team to ensure that the multiple issues you mentioned do... More 

Bellwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I give very honest reviews and if you stay here it's at your own risk. The review you may have seen regarding conditions by a guest is accurate. 1. Check your mattress carefully. It's not out of the norm to have blood, feces or urine stains. 2. Check the fridge and cabinets always dirty. 3. Every visit my bedding was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. It upsets me to hear the condition of your room was substandard and that you did not experience professional service from our staff. I am sorry for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am inspecting the mattresses prior to beds being made... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I'm a frequent visitor, as I travel for comedy. I love this location because of the friendly staff. Maryanne constantly makes me feel welcome, and bends over backwards to fix any issues that arise. This is great 4-star service for a 2-star price. I appreciate this location greatly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff and the great service they were able to provide. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Do NOT stay here. I booked this room for my husband and I for a business trip. Let me just start here... 1. They didn't even have our booking so we had to spend 20 min calling Expedia and having them fax over the info 2. The hallway leading to our room smelled overwhelmingly like indian food and weed. 3.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Downers Grove, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The room conditions you described are unacceptable and I sincerely apologize for your experience. To uphold our company’s high standards, I am retraining my team to ensure that the issues you found in your room do not happen again in the future. I will... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Excellent customer service and clean rooms. Definetly a good value! Only issue was non-functioning alarm clock and front desk scheduled wake-up call that I did not receive. Didn't partake in the breakfast so I can't rate it. I would stay again and bring my own alarm clock

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay