We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

2.0 of 5 1113 Butterfield Road, Downers Grove, IL 60515
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    12
    12
    8
See reviews for
19
18
13
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
See the most recent reviews
Boise, ID
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The price reflects the experience. I chose this hotel as the photos looked like they had done some recent updating. My risk did not pay off. The room was noisy with the highway outside, the beds are old and very used and abused. The modern look and feel are forced. I suppose I got what I paid for and at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

I am sincerely sorry for the unpleasant quality of your stay, especially as it relates to your ability to get a good night's rest. As a valuable guest, you certainly have every right to expect a clean room that is well maintained, and offers you a relaxing stay. I am disappointed that we were unable to deliver this to you.... More

Tecumseh, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Rarely have we encountered such a bad experience that it would cause us to seriously avoid an entire chain, but on our last trip, we had one. Without going into detail, let's just say that someone left a little (okay, a LARGE), uh, gift for us in the commode. We assume it was the last maid to have cleaned the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this horrific experience to my attention! On behalf of the staff involved, I accept personal responsibility that we did not provide you a stay that left you feeling confident, or delighted with either the room quality or level of service you were provided. I certainly understand how this instance may forever impact your decision to stay... More

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I went here for my birthday and walked away very disappointed. The lady at the front desk, Dellar, could not have been more unpleasant or more unfriendly. She made zero eye contact, didn't smile, or make us feel welcome in the hotel at all. It was almost like we were bothering her by simply showing. Is that hard to smile,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that neither the staff nor management has been responsive to your concerns. You certainly have every right to be upset given your experience. As the current acting manager, it would be my pleasure to assist you. Please feel free to contact the hotel at your convenience so that we may appropriately address the issues you... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

First of all, the weekend I was looking to stay in the Chicago area must have been popular, because hotel prices were through the roof everywhere! I was lucky to find this hotel at $55/night. I definitely did not have high expectations, but I still feel that this experience fell short in a few areas, even given the low rate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your honest opinion about your stay, including both the challenges and the positives. I am sorry to hear about your experiences with your guestroom and the overall service, and you are certainly correct about the provision of standard amenities such as the towels in the room. I appreciate your choosing this location,... More

Northern Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I booked my room online (Red Roof's own website) and when I checked in they didn't have a room with two double beds, despite the confirmation I had. They "upgraded" me to a room with one king size bed. That was great accept there were three people in my party. One of had to sleep on the floor. The service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

It appears that there were several issues happening all at once, and I am sorry that you had to experience them all. While I certainly can understand your reasoning as to why you may choose another lodging option in the future, I hope you will take into consideration that all of these events are out of the ordinary for Red... More

Lombard Il
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We found ourselves without electricity at home due to a severe storm in Lombard IL, (5 miles away) and needed to find some relief. RRI, Downers Grove, provided just what we needed. The hotel was clean, comfortable and cool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay! While the the reason you had to stay with us was not pleasant, we are pleased that your experience with us was! More

Milan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Contratry to some of the reviews, I found the Red Roof in Downer's Grove to be well-maintained, clean, friendly, and safe. The motel is pet-friendly and there are adequate grassy areas to potty dogs. The air conditioning was perfectly functional, even though the outside temperature was in excess of 90 degrees. I was on the very end room, right by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your opinion of the property. I am sorry to hear about your wi-fi experience and hope that this issue has been resolved. Thank you again for choosing us! More

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I arrived from South Georgia in August 2011 working a contract job. The price was great and they allowed my labrador Buddy. No extra charge. This is not the Tajamale however all the basics are covered down to the available washer and dryer. Jason and Deller are great!!!. You get the best clean place with no problems with mold, mildew,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful review! Your comments are truly appreciated by the staff, especially when their hard work is recognized by our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. More

Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Having travelled around the world on business and pleasure the past 35 years, I have to say my and my colleague's stay in this hotel was one of the most unpleasant ever. The room was filthy,stank of stale cigarette smoke, with wifi, air conditioner and sink broken and not functioning. The noise from the interstate was loud and the uncleanliness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

David, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Downers Grove Red Roof Inn. I am very sorry to hear that we fell short of exceeding your expectations in this instance. I can assure you that this was an isolated incident, and we are taking the appropriate steps with the entire housekeeping staff to ensure... More

Lakeville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
58 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I've stayed at Red Roofs before and been happy with the rooms, However this one had a series of problems....the biggest one was room 145 smelled like stale vomit.....If we weren't there at 12:30 at night in a rain storm I'd have asked for another room but they were quite full so we turned on fan for some fresh air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Dear MinnScooter, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Downers Grove Red Roof Inn. I am very sorry to hear that we fell short of exceeding your expectations in this instance. I have shared your feedback with our team, and we have taken the appropriate steps to correct the issues you shared regarding your... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

Address: 1113 Butterfield Road, Downers Grove, IL 60515
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Red Roof Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Red Roof Inn

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay