We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Downers Grove hotels

Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1113 Butterfield Road, Downers Grove, IL 60515
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
64%
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Downers Grove
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Barb Y Boyertown, Pennsylvania, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (78)
  • Photos (25)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    11
    11
    7
See reviews for
18
13
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boyertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My only real complaint is only one set of towels in a double room. It was clean and economical. Good location off the highway also. No breakfast, just coffee and tea. Worked for my purposes. Woyld stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Hello Barb Y And thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our Chicago-Downers Grove Red Roof Inn location. As your other Trip Advisor reviews convey, you are an experienced traveler, and I was excited to see that you plan to return to our lovely hotel in the future. We are always making positive changes to the... More

Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was my first experience at a Red Roof Inn, and I have to say, I really enjoyed it. The location was great for our needs, and there's plenty of shopping in the area, the Premium outlets in Aurora are not far, and Fashion outlets in Rosemont are even closer. In addition, all essential services that you could need are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Hello JandK786 Thank you for the kind review of our property. I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience at our Red Roof Inn hotel here in Downers Grove, Illinois. And you are correct. The shopping that is available within a short distance makes staying at our hotel even more pleasurable. Our team works very hard to provide... More

Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is supposed to be a non smoking hotel. First room had bad odor of cigarettes. Second room had less of cigarette smell, but still there. Our sink faucet was loose and about to fall apart, also there was no sink stopper. Filed with Maintenance and still not fixed after 2 days. Another thing is the hotel shows every room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Hello redgett Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your most recent stay with us. I do apologize for any misinformation that the Hotels.com/Expedia.com website might have listed about our in-room amenities. I will visit their sites and confirm they are accurately worded. Only our Superior King room type have the coffee makers in the rooms.... More

WATERTOWN
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Location was perfect for visiting family in Wheaton and Chicago. Situated in an area with an abundance of restaurants and shopping. Room was basic, but clean and nicely priced. Staff are friendly and helpful .

Was this review helpful? Yes
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Hi Tim K Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your pleasant stay with us. The entire staff work hard to creative a warm and inviting atmosphere for each and every guest, and we are always monitoring the cleanliness and price point of our rooms. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!... More

CAHOKIA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I travel often and have never had an experience such as this weekend (March 14-16, 2014). I reserved 3 rooms for a girls' getaway to visit the areas of Chicago. Upon check in, the night attendant was very unprofessional and unconcerned. When we returned to our rooms after shopping on Saturday afternoon, our room keys had been deactivated! The same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Hello LASHONDA W Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our property. And thank you for taking the time to speak with me over the phone prior to posting this review. During that conversation, it was discovered that there was a room type listed on our website that incorrectly showed microwaves and mini fridges (Deluxe Double), which... More

Elizabeth, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We chose this hotel based on location, price and the reviews we saw at the time. The price was great for Chicago. However the bathroom and one of the beds (2 full beds) were not clean. My husband noticed and reported it to the front desk. They were quick to amend the situation, still a bit of a turn off.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Good afternoon, 2plusthecrew Thank you so very much for your feedback. We have had an amazing amount of snow this season, and as you've mentioned, at times it can be difficult to keep on top of the accumulation. I will be sure to share your comments with the team, as we are able to learn a great deal from guest... More

Addison, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Horrible. Ghetto. Toilet was messed up upon entering room. Della is rude (it is not my fault you are busy, I can wait until it is my turn but when it is my turn, attend to me properly.) Brian lied to me about there being absolutley no first floor units. He said I may have requested first floor, but they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Good afternoon, April05080911 Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your most recent stay here at the Downers Grove location. We did have several first floor rooms clean and vacant during the time of your stay, but I had instructed my staff not to rent those rooms due to the extremely cold climate conditions. My apologies for your experience. As... More

Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I like the renovations photos we saw online. We arrived and the first room we went to the bed was covered with someone else's hair. The night manager was nice enough to give us another room. Same problem, it was spittle disappointing. Third room was about bette, Thank God because we were tired. I probably will not stay again. Want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Good evening, 55artistic1 Thank you for submitting your review regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the concerns reported regarding hair in the guest rooms. This is most definitely not typical, and I am thankful to you for bringing it to my attention. I will be meeting with the entire staff to reiterate the company standards,... More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The room was laid-out ok however the noise wouldn't stop. Our neighbors next door was so loud it sounded like they were directly outside the room. The room was so cold and it took the heat forever to come on; remind you it's winter in Chicago. Every time the heater came on it made a loud noise which made it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Good afternoon, MissFrequentFlyer I would like to extend a sincere apology for the noise you experienced during your stay with us, as well as a heart-felt thank you for taking the time to let me know about your stay. I will be sure to share your comments with the Front Desk staff so that we can increase the frequency of... More

Indian Harbour, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a great motel! Usually we try to get through the Chicago area as fast as possible, but we'll be stopping here from now on. Beautiful, comfortable room. Easy to get to with restaurants and shopping nearby. Appreciate being able to drive up to the door of our room to carry luggage and our little dog in and out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Hello, Cherien It was so nice to read your review of our Red Roof Inn property. It's always exciting to hear about the guest experience, especially when it's your first time staying with us. I can't wait for you to see our property in the summer time when all of the flowers and trees are in bloom. And you are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

Address: 1113 Butterfield Road, Downers Grove, IL 60515
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Red Roof Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Red Roof Inn

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Downers Grove with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Red Roof Inn Chicago - Downers Grove is conveniently located off of I-88 at Butterfield Road, convenient to Lombard, Downers Grove and Oak Brook. This hotel is located within walking distance of Yorktown Mall, a movie theater and many great restaurants. Features include complimentary wireless internet, guest laundry, and flat-screen TVs. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
134

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer