We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3031 Finley Road, Downers Grove, IL 60515
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
17
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel based on both price and convenience. It is located very close to the parts of the Chicago suburbs where we were visiting and was convenient to get to and from places. The hotel was packed when we arrived and I was concerned that between the horde that was there for a wedding and the youth hockey... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
135 hotel reviews
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Overall it was ok, it is just that the building is older design and although it has been renovated and furniture, carpet is more modern, it still feels old fashioned. Sunken lobby with brick painted over. Rooms have balconies but they face front parking lot, so I could hear all cars, guys yelling in the morning. Plastic chairs and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Dear ORD-TGU, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate you nice comment regarding the furniture and carpet. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding breakfast experience and the noise during your stay. We will look into these concerns. I assure you that... More 

Racine, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I love the hotel everyone friendly and super clean... I did not appreciate the fact my husband and I were trying to take a nap before driving 4 hours straight back and the maids were slamming doors so hard every time they will walk in and out of a room I work in a hotel before and that was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Statesville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

On a recent business trip, I stayed here for 4 nights. The price was reasonable and close to everything. Rooms were spacious and the staff was ecellent. The lady that prepares the breakfast in the morning was so kind and I noted how attentive she was to the guest. I had a big smile on my face as I observed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank You! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do have a superb staff and are happy to hear that you saw us in action! Thank you for staying and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Illinois
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

NICE hotel and EXCELLENT STAFF. Now my go to hotel for CHICAGO. No pool BUT HAS JACUZZI SUITES. Good amounts of grass out back. Can walk right out the side door to the grass.. REALLY QUIET STREET OUT BACK. Only saw 2 cars back there all weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you! We do welcome pets and are so happy that you chose to stay with us. We do have a very convenient location and we look forward to having you again! More 

Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014 via mobile

While we typically like staying at Holiday Inn Express, this particular stay was very disappointing. We stayed here once before and that visit was fine but not this time! The double bed had a bad mattress so we rolled to the middle. There wasn't any toilet paper in the bathroom. The water pressure declined significantly during high usage times. And... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Dear Priscilla F, Thank you for your feed back and for generously rating our property with four stars for it's cleanliness, location and most importantly for the service provided during your stay. Though our hotel was prompt enough in trying to resolve the issue, I would still like to offer my sincerest apologies if you were not able to fully... More 

Avon, Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

My friends and family stayed here for my graduation a few months ago. This place was the bed service I have ever got at holiday inn. I wanted to leave a review so others will come here because I have had some different experiences at other hotels lately. They let me check in early and got a room quicker for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Stayed here for a business trip for 5 nights recently. Congrats to the staff here - service is excellent. However, the property itself needs improved maintenance and upkeep. 3 inch long cobwebs in my room on the 2nd floor above the wall sconce. (Might be elsewhere, but wall sconce made this quite noticeable.) There were 2 double beds in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Dear trek150, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at our hotel. I appreciate you have regarded the excellent service our staff had rendered. However, please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations particularly with the condition of the rooms. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Great as always. We were looking for an inexpensive place to crash w/breakfast and this was a good find. It's way better than the Sheraton (the sink was actually inside the bathroom, imagine that??!!); and the room was spacious. Didn't hear any noise (I've stayed in others where the walls are paper thin). The bed and pillows were super comfy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Conroe, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

In town overnight to see friends. Location was perfect. Didn't need anything fancy and it wasn't. Folks were friendly at check in. I'd happily stay here again. Very happy that Portillo's was across the street!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you! We do have a great location with many really wonderful restaurants within steps of our front door! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question