We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
2950 S. River Road, Des Plaines, IL 60018
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    79
    110
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
67
37
19
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (242)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
USA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent 1 night at this hotel due to flight delays. Called last minute and got a good room on the 5th floor. The free shuttle pickup spot was a bit difficult to find. One of the elevators was not working so we had to walk a bit to the 2nd elevator. We did not use any other facilities at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel July 21 before we flew out of O'Hare the day after. Tried to book the room for a park and fly using our Marriott points but that was not possible. Called the hotel in advance about that but they said that they can't arrange parking in advance using points for the room but have to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shandra S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review

Dear Bill B., I am sorry that we were not able to accommodate your request at the time of your call. As with all of our reservations, if a park and fly reservation is not booked we cannot guarantee long term parking in our lot. Our goal is that all of our guest will have a place to park their... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 5 nights while on business. The hotel was packed. The room was comfortable, with a large screen TV, refrigerator, and reliable wifi. Bed was hard and not very comfortable. I was on the 5th floor and room was quiet, even tho you could hear the highway next to the hotel. Air conditioner noise drowns out the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shandra S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review

Dear Mary V, I want to sincerely apologize about the experience you had during your stay. As the Operations Manager, I understand the frustration that was caused by a down elevator and then two, paid parking, and an uncomfortable bed. Parking charges are being implemented across the area in an effort to accommodate the guests of the hotel. Often times... More 

Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We used the "park and fly" option, which is a fantastic deal. We were able to store the car at the hotel during our 3 week vacation, which eliminated the parking fees at the airport. The man driving the shuttle bus was very quick, friendly, and helpful. He gets 5 stars. He was the same person who dropped us off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shandra S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, I am glad that our park and fly option worked for you. We strive to offer the services that guests staying near the international airport will be able and need to utilize. Before composing this email I did personally look for the FITBIT in question. I did not see the lost item in our lost and found. I... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sorry but not for me. First is $20 per night for parking and the gates don't work well. This hotel has not been updated. Very uncomfortable bed. Strange smell in the hallways and a loud air conditioning unit. Front desk staff was not at all helpful and at one point just plain rude. I normally stay at the HGI next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shandra S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review

Dear Tom, I do apologize that you felt as though the service you received was poor. It is not my goal for our guest to leave us less than satisfied. I also would like to apologize that our new parking gate system still has some flaws. We are working very diligently to have the system working flawlessly soon. As with... More 

Merrillan, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for my niece's wedding. After receiving my bank statement, I noticed an extra charge of 250 dollars. When I called to inquire, I was told by the manager that we smoked in our room. Well that was news to me! Yes, my husband and I are both smokers. When I asked what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shandra S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review

Dear Annette T., I do apologize that our policy on providing a smoke free environment for all of our guest caused you to incur our smoking fee. I It is not our intention to leave our guest feeling any way other than satisfied. This fee is to allow that opportunity to all of our guests, by allowing them the opportunity... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a great location to stay at before flying out of O'Hare. Hotel is in close proximity to several great restaurants (even a Giordano's) and shopping centers. Can easily walk or drive down River Road. Room was clean and hotel was well-kept. Only drawback was the new $18 parking fee which was a little steep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erie, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unlike my prior visits, I learned that this court yard is charging $18 a day for parking. They have installed gates for entry and exit so they can control who parks at the hotel and for how long. The other option is called park and fly for which you pay $244 for one overnight and are allowed up to 14... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NJ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really can't comment on much except for the basics as this was just a one night stay (less than 12 hours really). Needed a place to crash before an early O'Hare flight. Greeted by friendly staff members at check-in and check-out. Note - we had a good Priceline deal as well. Room was in excellent condition and beds were comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at Courtyard Hotels many times for business and vacation but would not recommend this hotel for either. We had a group of six heading to Wisconsin and flew in late Friday evening checking in after 10pm. The shuttle bus driver was courteous and helpful but I cannot say that for the rest of the staff when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Plaines
The Westin O'Hare
#2 of 16 in Rosemont
4.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay